Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

sudan-southsudan.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Bilateral Relations
  4. >
  5. Sudan

Canada-Eritrea Relations

Fact Sheet - (PDF Version, 80 KB) *

Diplomatic relations and official representation

Canada established diplomatic relations with Eritrea in 1993, following its independence.  

Canada’s ambassador to Eritrea resides in Khartoum, Sudan. Canada also has an Honorary Consul in Asmara. Eritrea has an embassy located in Washington DC responsible for Canada with a consulate in Toronto.

Bilateral relations

Canada remains concerned about Eritrea’s human rights situation, particularly with regard to the respect for democracy and the rule of law, the imprisonment or ill-treatment of political opposition and journalists, and the protection of civil liberties.

In December 2009, the UN Security Council, acting under Chapter VII of the Charter of the United Nations, adopted Resolution 1907 determining that Eritrea’s actions undermine peace and reconciliation in Somalia and that the dispute between Djibouti and Eritrea constitutes a threat to international peace and security. Resolution 1907 demands that Eritrea immediately comply with Resolution 1862 and that all states, and in particular Eritrea, cease any support of armed opposition groups in Somalia.

Resolution 1907 (2009) also imposes sanctions against Eritrea and persons designated by a committee of the Security Council. These sanctions are legally binding upon all UN Member States pursuant to Article 25 of the Charter of the United Nations. Therefore Canada must implement them domestically. The Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolution on Eritrea (the Regulations) made under the legislative authority of the United Nations Act incorporate these sanctions into Canadian domestic law.

Persons in Canada who have dealings with Eritrea are encouraged to carefully consider the prohibition on the provision of financial assistance related to military activities contained in the Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolution on Eritrea. This may be of particular relevance to Eritrean expatriates paying national taxes to Eritrea, as payments made in support of military and similar activities, whether called dues, contributions, donations or any other term, may be prohibited under Canadian sanctions.

Furthermore, on December 5, 2011, the UN Security Council adopted Resolution 2023 (2011), calling upon Eritrea to “cease using threats of violence, fraud and other illicit means to collect taxes outside of Eritrea” and deciding that Member States should take measures to hold accountable the individuals perpetrating these acts. In Canada, the Criminal Code creates offences for uttering threats, fraud and other related conduct; any victims or witnesses of possible offences should report them to their local police.

Canada supports the peaceful resolution of the Eritrea-Ethiopian border dispute in accordance with the requirements of successive United Nations Security Council resolutions. Canada values a lasting peace between Eritrea and Ethiopia and recognises the 2000 Algiers Peace Agreement as the sole framework for peace between the two countries. The Algiers agreement provided for the presence of a UN peacekeeping mission in the border region (UNMEE) and the creation of the Ethiopia Eritrea Border Commission (EEBC) to demarcate the border.

Development assistance

Canada does not currently provide bilateral assistance to Eritrea. Canada does, however, provide regional funding to multilateral partners, which may provide some benefit to Eritrea. Canada has not provided any humanitarian funding for Eritrea since 2005, when the World Food Programme was forced to redirect Canadian funding to regional programming following Government of Eritrea interference in its monitoring process. Canada continues to monitor the humanitarian situation in Eritrea.

Trade

Two-way merchandise trade leapt from $2.9 million in 2010 to $375.3 million in 2012.  Canadian gold and silver imports accounted almost entirely for this increase, making Eritrea Canada’s largest source of gold in Sub-Saharan Africa. According to Natural Resources Canada, there were three Canadian mining companies operating in Eritrea in 2011, with mining assets amounting to over $401.4 million. Vancouver-based Nevsun Resources is one of the largest foreign investors in Eritrea through its Bisha mine, which became operational in 2010. The Eritrean government has a 40% stake in the project and the mine is expected to raise the Eritrean GDP by several percentage points.

While the sanctions imposed by UNSC Resolution 1907 (2009) are specifically targeted at senior government and military officials as well as the trade in arms, military and related services, the impact on the Eritrean economy may be wide-ranging given the degree to which the military and government are implicated in economic affairs. Mining projects operated by Canadian firms were not affected by the sanctions. Shortly after the passing of UNSC resolution 2023 (2011) Nevsun Resources released a statement stating that it does not foresee any direct impact on the Bisha mine operations from the provision on mining companies.

May 2014


* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Footer

Date Modified:
2014-05-29

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

soudan-soudandusud.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Relations bilatérales
  4. >
  5. Soudan

Relations Canada-Érythrée

Fiche documentaire - (Version PDF, 78 ko) *

Les relations entre le Canada et l’Érythrée sont limitées. L’ambassadeur du Canada en Érythrée réside à Khartoum, au Soudan. L’Érythrée possède une ambassade à Washington DC responsable pour le Canada ainsi qu’un consulat à Toronto.

En décembre 2009, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, agissant en vertu du chapitre VII de la Charte des Nations Unies, a adopté la résolution 1907, déterminant que les actions de l’Érythrée nuisent à la paix et à la réconciliation en Somalie et que le différend entre le Djibouti et l’Érythrée constitue une menace à la paix et à la sécurité internationales. La résolution 1907 enjoint à l’Érythrée de se conformer immédiatement à la résolution 1862 et enjoint à tous les États, et en particulier l’Érythrée, de cesser de fournir un appui aux groupes d’opposition armés en Somalie.

La résolution 1907 impose également des sanctions contre l’Érythrée et les personnes désignées par un comité du Conseil de sécurité. Selon l’article 25 de la Charte des Nations Unies, ces sanctions lient tous les États membres de l’ONU et, par conséquent, le Canada doit les appliquer. Le Règlement d’application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur l’Érythrée (le Règlement), pris en vertu de la Loi sur les Nations Unies, incorpore ces sanctions dans le droit canadien.

Les personnes au Canada devant faire affaires avec l’Érythrée sont encouragées à examiner de près l’interdiction sur la fourniture d’aide financière liée aux activités militaires comprise dans le Règlement d’application de la résolution des Nations Unies sur l’Érythrée. Ceci pourrait être particulièrement pertinents pour les expatriés de l’Érythrée qui paient des impôts nationaux à l’Érythrée, puisque les paiements visant à soutenir les activités militaires ou semblables, qu’on les qualifie de redevances, de contributions, de donations ou sous une autre terminologie, pourraient être interdits en vertu des sanctions du Canada.

De plus, le 5 décembre 2011, le Conseil de sécurité de l’ONU a adopté la résolution 2023 (2011), exigeant de l’Érythrée qu’elle « cesse d’avoir recours à l’extorsion, à la violence, à des procédés frauduleux et à d’autres moyens illicites de les des impôts en dehors de l’Érythrée » et décidant que les États membres devraient prendre des mesures pour forcer les individus commettant ces actes soient tenus d’en rendre compte. Au Canada, le Code criminel prévoit des infractions pour les menaces, la fraude et d’autres activités semblables; toute victime et tout témoin d’une possible infraction devrait en informer le service de police local.

Le Canada est toujours préoccupé de la situation des droits de la personne en Érythrée, surtout en ce qui concerne le respect des principes démocratiques et de la primauté du droit, l’emprisonnement ou le mauvais traitement des opposants politiques et des journalistes et la protection des libertés civiles.

Le Canada aspire à une paix durable entre l’Érythrée et l’Éthiopie et est intervenu en qualité de médiateur dans le différend frontalier entre ces deux pays. Le Canada soutient l’Accord de paix d’Alger conclu en 2000, qu’il considère comme étant l’unique plan pour la paix entre les deux pays. Cet accord prévoyait la présence d’une mission de maintien de la paix de l’ONU dans la région frontalière (MINUEE) et la création de la Commission du tracé de la frontière entre l'Éthiopie et l'Érythrée chargée de la délimitation de celle-ci.

Le Canada n’offre actuellement aucune aide bilatérale à l’Érythrée. Le Canada fournit toutefois des fonds régionaux à des partenaires multilatéraux susceptibles d’aider de manière quelconque l’Érythrée. Le Canada n’a pas fourni de financement pour de l’aide humanitaire à l’Érythrée depuis 2005, lorsque le Programme alimentaire mondial s’est vu contraint de rediriger le financement canadien vers d’autres programmes régionaux à la suite de l’ingérence du gouvernement de l’Érythrée dans le processus de contrôle. Le Canada continue de suivre la situation humanitaire qui prévaut en Érythrée.

Le commerce bilatéral avec l’Érythrée a toujours été limité. Toutefois, le commerce bilatéral de marchandises a bondi de 2,92 millions de dollars en 2010 à 325,8 millions de dollars en 2011. Les nouvelles importations canadiennes d’or en provenance de l’Érythrée expliquent cette augmentation, faisant de ce pays la principale source d’or du Canada en Afrique sub-saharienne.

Juillet 2012


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-12-04