Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

sweden.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

Sharing Canadian Literature in Sweden

The translation of works of literature into different languages is one of many ways we can share knowledge and creativity across borders and promote cross-cultural understanding. Many Swedish novels have received critical and popular acclaim in Canada, and this relationship goes both ways.

Author Kim Thúy Visits Stockholm
Author Kim Thúy visits Stockholm
   
Author Serge Lamothe Visits Stockholm to celebrate Canadian Francophone literature
Author Serge Lamothe visits Stockholm to celebrate Canadian Francophone literature
   

Yet as much as translating a book into a new language can have a marvellous impact on the circulation of world literature, nothing compares to a visit by the authors themselves. The Canadian Embassy in Stockholm recently had the pleasure of hosting two different Canadian authors on their visits to Sweden.

Vietnamese-Canadian author Kim Thúy visited Sweden to visit the embassy and several Swedish media outlets in cooperation with Sekwa, her Swedish publisher. Ms. Thúy won the Governor-General’s award in 2010 for her book Ru, which recounts experiences and impressions of her journey with her family as a young refugee from Vietnam to settle in Granby, Quebec. Ms. Thúy delighted guests at the Canadian-owned Couture Art Gallery with a reading from Ru celebrating the launch of its Swedish translation.

Considering the great diversity in Canadian literature, it comes as no surprise that the other author to visit the Embassy showcased a different kind of style. To celebrate Canadian Francophone literature in Stockholm, the Embassy invited Montreal-based author Serge Lamothe to visit Sweden to present his work. Mr. Lamothe, a novelist, poet, dramatist and producer of opera, who also works with the Cirque du Soleil, presented and discussed his work in front of enthusiastic audiences, with focus on his book Les Baldwin. Lamonthe also read his work at Stockholm University and at Lund University.

The Canadian Embassy in Sweden is proving to be a hot spot for showcasing achievements of all kinds, making it the perfect place to share and celebrate the work of accomplished Canadian authors like Thuy and Lamonthe.

>> Read and share more stories about Canada’s activities around the world - follow Eyes Abroad

Footer

Date Modified:
2011-11-30

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

suède.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

Partager la littérature canadienne en Suède

La traduction d’ouvrages littéraires dans diverses langues est l’une des nombreuses façons pour nous de partager des connaissances et notre esprit créateur dans d’autres pays et de promouvoir la compréhension interculturelle. De nombreux ouvrages suédois ont été le choix de la critique et du grand public au Canada, et cette relation va dans les deux sens.

Si la traduction d’un livre dans une autre langue peut avoir des effets des plus merveilleux sur la distribution de la littérature mondiale, rien ne se compare à une visite des auteurs de ces ouvrages. L’Ambassade du Canada à Stockholm a eu le plaisir récemment d’accueillir deux auteurs canadiens pendant leur séjour en Suède.

L’auteure Kim Thúy visite Stockholm
L’auteure Kim Thúy visite Stockholm
   
L’auteur Serge Lamothe visite Stockholm pour célébrer la littérature francophone du Canada
L’auteur Serge Lamothe visite Stockholm pour célébrer la littérature francophone du Canada
   

L’auteure canadienne d’origine vietnamienne, Kim Thúy, s’est rendue en Suède pour visiter l’ambassade et participer à plusieurs forums médiatiques suédois, en collaboration avec Sekwa, son éditeur au pays. Madame Thúy a remporté le prix du Gouverneur général en 2010 pour son livre intitulé Ru, récit des expériences et des impressions de l’auteure au cours de son périple avec sa famille comme jeune réfugiée vietnamienne qui s’est établie à Granby, au Québec. Madame Thúy a ravi ses invités à la Galerie d’art Couture appartenant à des intérêts canadiens en lisant un passage de Ru, afin de souligner le lancement de sa traduction en suédois.

Vu la grande diversité de la littérature canadienne, il n’est pas surprenant que l’autre auteur à visiter l’ambassade avait un style littéraire bien différent. Pour souligner la littérature francophone du Canada à Stockholm, l’ambassade a invité l’auteur montréalais Serge Lamothe à se rendre en Suède pour présenter son œuvre. Monsieur Lamothe, écrivain, poète, dramaturge et organisateur d’opéras, qui collabore aussi avec le Cirque du Soleil, a présenté et décrit son ouvrage devant un public enthousiaste, tout en mettant l’accent sur son livre Les Baldwin. Monsieur Lamothe a également lu des extraits de son livre à l’Université de Stockholm et à l’Université de Lund.

L’Ambassade du Canada en Suède s’avère un endroit fort réputé pour montrer des réalisations de toutes sortes, ce qui en fait l’endroit par excellence pour partager et souligner les œuvres d’auteurs canadiens accomplis tels que Mme Thúy et M. Lamothe.

>> Pour en savoir plus sur les activités du Canada à l’étranger ou raconter les vôtres, Coup d’œil sur le monde vous attend!

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2011-09-12