Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

sweden.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

Grandmothers and Canadian Diversity

The Canadian Embassy in Stockholm hosted a photo exhibition highlighting Canadian women and diversity.
 
The Canadian Embassy in Stockholm hosted a photo exhibition highlighting Canadian women and diversity.

 

Grandmother, baba, nona, yiayia, babcia: how would you describe your grandmother to the world? The Canadian Embassy in Stockholm hosted a photo exhibition entitled Legacies, highlighting Canadian women and diversity and providing a backdrop to events focusing on gender, integration and culture throughout the month.

The exhibition, created by Canadian Gina Valle, consists of 24 portraits of women from different countries who came to Canada as immigrants or refugees during the past half-century. The photos of the women, all grandmothers, are accompanied by short texts written by their granddaughters and expressing appreciation for their grandmother's influence in their own lives and their contribution to their communities. The texts are in English, French and the native language of the country of origin of each of the women pictured.

The opening was attended by 85 guests at the Embassy.
The opening was attended by 85 guests at the Embassy.
   

Legacies opened at the Embassy as a backdrop to a seminar focusing on Canada's integration experience, which was attended by over 85 invited guests, including Sweden's Minister for Integration, Erik Ullenhag. This seminar was held in conjunction with the publication of a book entitled The Canadian Model: How Immigration Leads to Work, and topics covered during the panel discussion included integration and multiculturalism.

The exhibition was then displayed at Stockholm’s Historiska Museet (National Historical Museum) where seminars and displays to mark International Women’s Day were held.

The exhibition then moved back to the Embassy, where it provided the backdrop for a lecture and reading by Montreal-based author Serge Lamothe, and again for a lunch in honour of visiting Vietnamese-Canadian author Kim Thúy, who came to Canada as a refugee from Vietnam and whose book Ru won a Governor-General's Literary Award in 2010.

Valle, whose exhibition was inspired by the work she did on her book, Our Grandmothers, Ourselves, was proud to represent immigrant women as symbols of Canadian strength.

>> Read and share more stories about Canada’s activities around the world - follow Eyes Abroad.

Footer

Date Modified:
2011-08-04

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

suède.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

Les grands-mères et la diversité canadienne

L’ambassade du Canada à Stockholm a organisé en mars une exposition de photos pour souligner la contribution des femmes et la diversité au Canada.
 
L’ambassade du Canada à Stockholm a organisé une exposition de photos pour souligner la contribution des femmes et la diversité au Canada.

 

Grandmère, baba, nona, yiayia, babcia : comment décririez-vous votre grand-mère ? L’ambassade du Canada à Stockholm a organisé une exposition de photos nommée « Héritages » pour souligner la contribution des femmes et la diversité au Canada ainsi que pour servir de toile de fond aux activités mettant l’accent tout au long du mois sur l’égalité des genres, l’intégration et la culture.

L’exposition, créée par la Canadienne Gina Valle, consiste en 24 portraits de femmes venues au Canada au cours du dernier demi-siècle comme immigrantes ou réfugiées de différents pays. Les portraits des femmes, toutes des grands-mères, sont accompagnés de courts textes rédigés par leurs petites-filles respectives qui expriment leur reconnaissance pour l’influence de leurs grands‑mères dans leurs propres vies et pour leurs contributions à la communauté. Les textes sont produits en version anglaise et française ainsi que dans la langue du pays d’origine de chacune des femmes représentées en photo.

Le lancement à l’ambassade a été suivi par 85 personnes.
Le lancement à l’ambassade a été suivi par 85 personnes.
   

L’exposition « Héritage » a été lancée à l’ambassade comme toile de fond pour un séminaire, mettant au premier plan l’expérience canadienne en matière d’intégration, en présence de 85 invités, dont le ministre suédois de l’Intégration, M. Erik Ullenhag. Le séminaire a été tenu de concert avec la publication du livre « The Canadian Model: How Immigration Leads to Work », et l’intégration et le multiculturalisme figuraient sur la liste des sujets traités dans le cadre de la discussion de groupe.

Ensuite, l’exposition a été déplacée au Historiska Museet de Stockholm (Musée national d’histoire), où se sont déroulés des séminaires et des présentations à l’occasion de la Journée internationale de la femme.

L’exposition a par la suite réintégré l’ambassade à l’occasion d’une présentation et d’une lecture publique de l’auteur montréalais Serge Lamothe en présence d’une quarantaine d’invités, et pour un déjeuner en l’honneur de l’auteure canado-vietnamienne Kim Thúy, qui est arrivée au Canada en tant que réfugiée et qui a vu son livre « Ru » remporter le Prix littéraire du Gouverneur général de 2010.

Valle, dont l’exposition a été inspirée par le travail qu’elle a fait sur son livre, « Our Grandmothers, Ourselves », était fier de représenter les femmes immigrées en tant que symboles de la diversité canadienne.

>> Pour en savoir plus sur les activités du Canada à l’étranger ou raconter les vôtres, Coup d’œil sur le monde

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2011-08-04