Marriage Formalities in Switzerland

This information is given on a non-official basis and is subject to change by the Swiss authorities. It is important to note that before a civil marriage can be performed, you must meet a number of legal requirements and submit an application to your local civil register office.

Please be advised that Canadian diplomatic and consular officers are not permitted under the law of Canada to solemnize marriages nor can they allow the solemnization of marriages in the diplomatic/consular premises.

Civil Marriage - Same-Sex Partnership

For Civil Marriage or Same-Sex Partnership a number of original documents must be produced. To obtain a complete list, you should contact the Civil Registry (Zivilstandesamt in German, Office de lEtat civil in French, Ufficio dello stato civile in Italian) of the canton in which you want to get married or – if you are in Canada - the Swiss diplomatic representation responsible for your area.

For Canadian citizens who do not hold a valid Swiss residence permit, you will be asked for a certificate of non-impediment to marriage. As Canadian law neither requires nor provides for the issuance of such a certificate, Swiss authorities frequently accept, as a substitute document, an affidavit or solemn declaration sworn before an official of the Embassy of Canada which confirms your civil status as “not married” and your place of residence. If you require such a document, you must make an appointment and appear in person at the Embassy of Canada during consular office hours with your valid Canadian passport.

Applicable fees can be paid with a credit card (Visa or MasterCard).

For Canadian citizens holding a valid Swiss residence permit this document must be obtained from the local Civil Registry Office.

Religious Marriage        

You may also get married in a church, but only after the civil ceremony. For information, contact the church office of your place of residence.

Acknowledgement of Paternity - Naturalization

The same attestation as for civil marriage is required for acknowledgment of paternity and – if you are single - for naturalization. However, in both cases Canadian citizens holders or not of a valid Swiss residence permit must appear at the Embassy of Canada with a valid Canadian passport.

Formalités de mariage en Suisse

L'information ci-dessous est donnée sur une base informelle et peut-être sujette à changement par les autorités suisses. Il est important de noter qu’avant de pouvoir célébrer un mariage civil, vous devez remplir certaines conditions et déposer une requête de mariage auprès de l’état civil.

Veuillez noter que les agents diplomatiques et consulaires canadiens ne sont pas autorisés par la loi canadienne à solenniser un mariage. Les agents ne peuvent pas non plus permettre qu’un mariage soit célébré dans les locaux diplomatiques et consulaires de l'Ambassade.

Mariage civil - Partenariat enregistré

Pour un mariage civil ou un partenariat enregistré, il faut présenter plusieurs documents. Pour obtenir une liste complète, veuillez contacter l’Office de l’État civil (Zivilstandesamt en allemand, Ufficio dello stato civile en italien) du canton dans lequel vous prévoyez vous marier ou – si vous êtes au Canada –la représentation diplomatique suisse responsable pour votre région.

Pour les ressortissants canadiens qui ne sont pas titulaire d’un permis de séjour suisse valide, on vous demandera de remettre un certificat de non-empêchement au mariage. Compte-tenu que la loi canadienne ne prévoit pas et n’émet pas un tel certificat, les autorités suisses acceptent souvent un affidavit ou déclaration solennelle assermenté devant un agent autorisé de l’ambassade du Canada, lequel document substitut confirme votre état civil en tant que « non-marié(e)» et votre lieu de résidence. Pour obtenir ce document, vous devez prendre un rendez-vous et vous présenter en personne à nos bureaux pendant les heures d’ouverture avec votre passeport canadien valide.

Les frais applicables doivent être réglés par carte de crédit (Visa ou Marstercard).

Pour les ressortissants canadiens titulaires d’un permis de séjour suisse valide, ce document doit être obtenu auprès de l’Office de l’État civil local.

Mariage religieux

Vous pouvez aussi vous marier à l’église, mais seulement après la cérémonie civile. Adressez-vous à l’aumônerie de votre lieu de domicile.

Reconnaissance de paternité - Naturalisation

La même attestation que pour un mariage civil est exigée pour une reconnaissance de paternité ainsi que – si vous êtes célibataire – pour une demande de naturalisation. Toutefois, dans ces deux cas, les ressortissants canadiens, qu’ils soient titulaires ou non d’un permis de séjour suisse valide, doivent se présenter à l’ambassade du Canada avec leur passeport canadien valide.