Canada - Union of the Comoros Relations

Canada and the Union of the Comoros established diplomatic relations in 1977. In Comoros, Canada is represented by a High Commission in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania. In Canada, Comoros is represented in Canada by its Permanent Mission to the United Nations in New York, United States. Comoros also maintains an honorary consul, based in Campbellville, Ontario.

Most contacts between Canada and Comoros are carried out through La Francophonie and other multilateral bodies. Canada and Comoros are both committed to address climate change and Canada has pledged to support vulnerable countries most affected by climate change, such as Comoros and other Small Island Developing States.

Comoros may benefit from Canadian support to key multilateral organizations such as the United Nations, the World Bank, the African Development Bank, the African Union, and others. Comorians are eligible for the Canadian Francophonie Scholarship Program, which allows students in developing countries within La Francophonie to study in Canada. In addition, Comorian nationals are eligible for the African Leaders of Tomorrow Scholarship Program.

In 2016, two-way merchandise trade between Canada and Comoros was estimated at $1.73 million, consisting of $1.68 million in exports from Canada and $47,400 in imports from Comoros.

Other Relevant Information

June 2017


* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page .

Relations Canada - Union des Comores

Le Canada a établi des relations diplomatiques avec l’Union des Comores en 1977. Aux Comores, le Canada est représenté par son haut-commissariat à Dar es Salaam (Tanzanie). Les Comores sont représentées au Canada par leur mission permanente auprès des Nations Unies à New York (États-Unis). Les Comores ont également un consul honoraire à Campbellville (Ontario).

La plus grande partie des contacts entre le Canada et les Comores se font dans le cadre de la Francophonie et d'autres instances multilatérales. Le Canada et les Comores ont exprimé leur détermination à lutter contre les changements climatiques. Le Canada a promis d’apporter son soutien aux pays vulnérables les plus touchés par les changements climatiques tels que les Comores et d’autres petits États insulaires en développement.

Les Comores peuvent profiter du soutien du Canada à des organisations multilatérales telles que les Nations Unies, la Banque mondiale, la Banque africaine de développement et l’Union africaine. Les Comoriens sont admissibles au Programme canadien de bourses de la Francophonie qui permet aux étudiants des pays en développement appartenant à la Francophonie d’étudier au Canada. De plus, les ressortissants comoriens sont admissibles au Programme de bourses pour les leaders africains de demain.

En 2016, les échanges de marchandises entre le Canada et les Comores étaient estimés à 1,73 million de dollars, dont 1,68 million de dollars en exportations à partir du Canada et 47 400 dollars en importations provenant des Comores.

Autres renseignements pertinents

Juin 2017


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pour accéder à ce fichier, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page d'aide.