Message from the High Commissioner

Welcome to the website of the High Commission of Canada in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania and the Office of the High Commission in Lusaka, Zambia.  The mission is responsible for relations with Tanzania, Zambia, Seychelles, Comoros, and the East African Community. I hope that you will find it to be a useful starting point for finding information about Canada’s engagement in the region.

  • Canada has been a friend and partner to the four countries of accreditation since their independence, building on common interests and values such as embracing ethnic diversity and supporting regional peace, security, and prosperity.  Canada continues to make significant contributions to their respective development efforts while also working to deepen economic ties and to advance shared priorities in areas such as democratic governance, human rights, and regional security.  We often collaborate closely in multilateral fora such as the UN, the Commonwealth, and La Francophonie. 
  • Tanzania is one of the largest recipients of Canadian development assistance worldwide.  This assistance is closely aligned with Government of Tanzania priorities in the areas of maternal newborn and child health, quality of education, and inclusive growth.
  • While there are no bilateral development programs in Zambia, Seychelles, and Comoros, these countries benefit from Canadian support to key multilateral organizations such as the United Nations, the World Bank, the African Development Bank, the African Union, and others.  In Zambia, Canada is also supporting many partnerships between Canadian and Zambian NGOs and institutions.
  • In Tanzania and Zambia, Canadian companies are among the largest foreign investors, particularly in the mining and gas sectors.  Trade levels in all four countries are relatively modest, but are growing in areas such as transportation (notably aerospace), renewable energy, infrastructure, and education.
  • Canada is an increasingly popular destination for travellers from Eastern Africa, including students, tourists, and permanent residents.  In July 2015, the High Commission was expanded to include a new Visa Office managing applications from nationals and residents of seven  countries in the region:  Burundi, Comoros, Rwanda, Seychelles, Tanzania, Uganda, and Zambia.  For more information, to obtain application forms, and to consult processing times, please visit: www.cic.gc.ca.
  • There are many Canadians living in our countries of accreditation and many more visiting as tourists each year.  The mission is pleased to provide consular support to Canadians in need.  We would strongly encourage all Canadian residents and visitors to register with the High Commission to allow us to reach you in case of emergencies.  Registration can be done quickly and easily by following this link (https://travel.gc.ca/travelling/registration).  We would also invite you to download our Travel Smart App to provide easy access to up-to-date travel information and advisories.

Canada is proud of its strong and enduring relationships with Tanzania, Zambia, Seychelles and Comoros and is excited by the many opportunities to deepen our collaboration going forward.  Our website is designed to help you to find the information and resources you need.  Should you have suggestions on how it can be improved, we encourage you to let us know by writing to:  dslam@international.gc.ca

Ian Myles
High Commissioner


Biography

Ian Myles (BSc [International Development], University of Toronto, 1991; MSc [Natural Resource and Environmental Economics], University of Guelph, 2000) joined the Canadian International Development Agency in 2000 after seven years working with various non-governmental organizations in Canada and Latin America. During his time at Headquarters, he has worked as an environment specialist in Africa Branch (2000 to 2008), director of strategic analysis and operations for Southern and Eastern Africa (2011 to 2014) and senior director for the Panafrica and Regional Program (2014 to 2015). His overseas positions include deputy director of the development program (2008 to 2010) and then senior director and head of cooperation (2010 to 2011) at Canada’s high commission to Ghana. Since August 2015, Mr. Myles has been senior director and head of cooperation at the high commission to Tanzania. He is married and has two sons..

Message du Haut-commissaire

Bienvenue sur le site du haut-commissariat du Canada à Dar es Salaam, en Tanzanie, et du bureau du haut‑commissariat à Lusaka, en Zambie. La mission est responsable des relations que le Canada entretient avec la Tanzanie, la Zambie, les Seychelles, les Comores, de même qu’avec la Communauté d’Afrique de l’Est. J’espère que ce site sera pour vous un point de départ utile pour trouver de l’information au sujet des activités que le Canada mène dans la région.

  • Misant sur les valeurs et les intérêts qu’il a en commun avec eux, notamment à l’égard de la diversité ethnique et de l’appui aux efforts de paix, de sécurité et de prospérité dans la région, le Canada est un ami et partenaire des quatre pays d’accréditation depuis la déclaration de leur indépendance. Le Canada continue d’apporter d’importantes contributions dans le cadre des efforts respectifs que ces pays déploient en matière de développement, tout en veillant à resserrer les liens économiques et à faire progresser les priorités dans des domaines comme la gouvernance démocratique, les droits de la personne et la sécurité régionale. Nous collaborons à maintes reprises dans le cadre de forums multilatéraux comme les Nations Unies, le Commonwealth et la Francophonie. 
  • La Tanzanie est l’un des principaux bénéficiaires de l’aide canadienne au développement à l’échelle mondiale. Cette aide s’harmonise étroitement avec les priorités du gouvernement de la Tanzanie en matière de santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants ainsi que de qualité de l’éducation et de croissance inclusive.
  • Aucun programme de développement bilatéral n’existe en Zambie, aux Seychelles et aux Comores, mais ces pays peuvent tout de même compter sur l’aide du Canada par le truchement de son appui à des organisations multilatérales comme les Nations Unies, la Banque mondiale, la Banque africaine de développement et l’Union africaine. En Zambie, le Canada appuie en outre de nombreux partenariats entre des organisations non gouvernementales (ONG) et des institutions canadiennes et zambiennes.
  • En Tanzanie et en Zambie, les entreprises canadiennes comptent parmi les plus importants investisseurs étrangers, particulièrement dans les secteurs minier et gazier. Les activités commerciales avec ces quatre pays sont relativement modestes, mais sont en croissance dans des secteurs comme le transport (notamment l’aérospatiale), l’énergie renouvelable, les infrastructures et l’éducation.
  • Le Canada est une destination de plus en plus populaire pour les voyageurs originaires de l’Afrique de l’Est, que ce soit en tant que touriste, étudiant ou résident permanent. En juillet 2015, le haut-commissariat a été élargi de manière à accueillir un nouveau bureau des visas pour la gestion des demandes présentées par les ressortissants et résidents de sept pays de la région : Burundi, Comores, Rwanda, Seychelles, Tanzanie, Ouganda et Zambie. Pour en savoir plus, pour obtenir un formulaire de demande et pour connaître les délais de traitement, veuillez consulter le site suivant : www.cic.gc.ca.
  • De nombreux Canadiens vivent dans l’un de nos pays d’accréditation et de nombreux autres y viennent en visite chaque année. La mission est heureuse d’offrir des services consulaires aux Canadiens. Nous encourageons vivement tous les résidents et visiteurs canadiens à s’inscrire auprès du haut‑commissariat afin qu’il nous soit possible de communiquer avec eux en cas d’urgence. L’inscription se fait rapidement et facilement en ligne : https://voyage.gc.ca/voyager/inscription. Il est également possible de télécharger notre application Bon voyage pour accéder facilement à l’information et aux conseils à jour en matière de voyage.

Le Canada tire une grande fierté des solides relations durables qu’il entretient avec la Tanzanie, la Zambie, les Seychelles et les Comores, et nous sommes enthousiastes à l’égard des nombreuses occasions qui se présenteront afin de solidifier notre collaboration. Notre site Web vise à vous aider à trouver les renseignements et les ressources dont vous avez besoin. Nous vous invitons à communiquer avec nous par écrit pour nous faire part de vos suggestions en vue d’améliorer ce site. Pour ce faire, faites-nous parvenir un courriel à l’adresse suivante : dslam@international.gc.ca.

Ian Myles
Haut-commissaire


Biographie

SE M. Ian Myles

Haut-commissaire du Canada en Tanzanie

Ian Myles a été nommé haut-commissaire en juillet 2016. Mr. Myles est entré à l’Agence canadienne de développement international en 2000 après avoir travaillé sept années au sein de diverses organisations non gouvernementales au Canada et en Amérique latine. À l’administration centrale, il a occupé les postes de spécialiste de l’environnement au Secteur de l’Afrique, de 2000 à 2008, de directeur, Analyse stratégique et Opérations pour l’Afrique australe et de l’Est, de 2011 à 2014, et de directeur principal du Programme panafricain et régional, en 2014-2015. M. Myles a aussi été affecté à l’étranger, notamment au haut-commissariat du Canada au Ghana, d’abord à titre de directeur adjoint du Programme de développement, de 2008 à 2010, puis de directeur principal et chef de la Coopération, en 2010-2011, ainsi qu’au haut-commissariat du Canada en Tanzanie, où il a occupé le poste de directeur principal et chef de la Coopération d’août 2015 à juillet 2016. Il est marié et a deux fils.