Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Thailand.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Surrogacy

All Canadians considering entering into a surrogacy arrangement in Thailand should be aware that the legal situation regarding these arrangements in Thailand is currently unclear.

While there is no legislation in Thailand which specifically regulates surrogacy, the Thai authorities are actively considering draft legislation that may prohibit commercial surrogacy and are taking immediate steps to ensure that children of such arrangements are not permitted to exit the country in anticipation of the legislation.

We strongly recommend that Canadians visiting Thailand for the purposes of commercial surrogacy arrangements seek independent legal advice before entering into any agreement. In particular, legal advice should be sought on the implications of any new exit requirements. A list of local lawyers who speak English and/or French is available.

For those Canadians who have already entered into such an arrangement, we also advise you to seek advice from a local lawyer about how you may be affected by this legislation and in particular any exit requirements. 

A list of local lawyers that speak English and/or French is available. You may also wish to contact our consular section to inform us of your particular situation. This will enable us to contact you in the event of any developments or should consular assistance be required. 

Footer

Date Modified:
2014-08-20

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Thaïlande.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Maternité de substitution

Les Canadiens qui envisagent un arrangement de maternité de substitution en Thaïlande doivent savoir que le statut juridique de ces accords est présentement incertain. Bien qu’il n’existe aucune réglementation locale spécifique à la maternité de substitution, il est à noter que les autorités thaïlandaises considèrent activement mettre en place une loi qui interdirait la maternité de substitution commerciale.

En anticipation de cette nouvelle législation, le gouvernement thaïlandais a pris des mesures immédiates pour s’assurer que les enfants issus de maternité de substitution ne soient pas autorisés à quitter le pays.

Nous encourageons vivement les Canadiens qui souhaitent se rendre en Thaïlande à des fins de maternité de substitution commerciale à obtenir un avis juridique indépendant, avant d’entamer de tels arrangements. Il est notamment important de demander un avis juridique sur les implications des nouvelles exigences en matière de sortie du pays. Une liste de cabinets d’avocats locaux pouvant offrir des services en anglais et/ou français est disponible.

Nous conseillons aux Canadiens qui ont déjà entamé un processus de maternité de substitution à également faire appel à un avocat local pour clarifier l’impact de cette nouvelle loi sur leur situation et en particulier sur les conditions de sortie du pays.  Une liste de cabinets d’avocats locaux offrant des services en anglais et/ou français est disponible.

Vous pouvez aussi contacter notre section consulaire pour nous informer de votre situation particulière. Ceci nous permettra de vous informer de nouveaux développements ou si vous avez besoin d’une aide consulaire.

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2014-08-20