Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Thailand.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. For Canadians
  4. >
  5. Living/Travelling Abroad

Passport Services

General Information

Canadian passport services are only available from the Embassy of Canada, Bangkok. However, the Consulate in Chiang Mai, the Office of the Embassy in Cambodia, the Office of the Canadian Embassy in Lao PDR, and the Embassy of Canada in Burma (Myanmar) can provide notarial services related to passport matters if required. Note that the Embassy of Canada, Bangkok is providing passport and citizenship services to all Canadians residing or travelling to Burma (Myanmar).

Passport applications may be submitted in person to the Consular Section in Bangkok during the hours of 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon, Monday through Friday, except on holiday.

You may also mail in your complete application at:

Passport Services, Consular Section
Embassy of Canada
P.O. Box 2090
Bangkok, Thailand, 10501

Application Forms

Downloadable passport forms are available on the Passport Canada website.

Please read the following sections carefully, as well as the instructions printed on the application form, and make certain that you have met all the requirements to ensure efficient service.

It takes 20 working days to process a passport application once the necessary forms, supporting documents and fees are received. You should plan accordingly to avoid disappointment.

Validity

Canadian passports are issued for either five or ten years and contain 36 pages.  All children’s passports will be issued with a maximum of 5-year validity.  Applications to renew are usually accepted anytime within 12 months of the expiry date or if all visa pages are full.

Note: Many countries in Asia require a passport to be valid for at least 6 months following entry to that country or following anticipated departure from that country. If you are planning to travel during the last six to eight months of your passport's period of validity you should ensure the period of validity is sufficient to permit you entry to the country of destination.

Simplified Renewal Process

A person 16 years of age or older who is applying for a Canadian passport and eligible for simplified renewal must:

  1. Complete the application form and follow the instructions: www.ppt.gc.ca/info/ren.aspx?lang=eng&region=international
  2. The required fee.

Adult General Passport Application for Canadians 16 years of age or over

A person 16 years of age or older who is applying for a Canadian passport but not eligible for Simplified Renewal:

  1. Complete the application form and follow the instructions: http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/passport/forms/pdf/PPTC040.pdf.
  2. The required fee.

Child General Passport Application for Canadian under 16 years of age

If an application is being made for a Canadian passport for a child under the age of 16, you must:

  1. Complete application form and follow the instructions: http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/passport/forms/pdf/PPTC042.pdf
  2. The required fee.

Important notes: If you need to apply for a visa for Thailand, Cambodia, Laos, Burma (Myanmar) for your child to remain in your country of residence, you need to submit a written declaration. (Sample: I, xxx xxx, am required to obtain a passport for my daughter/son, xxxx xxxx, so that she/he may receive a visa from Immigration authorities.)

Lost, Stolen, Inaccessible, Damaged or Found Passports

If your passport has been lost or stolen, you need to report it immediately to the passport issuing office nearest you. If the loss/theft occurred in Thailand, Cambodia, Laos or Burma (Myanmar), please notify the nearest Canadian or Australian office or send an e-mail to sos@international.gc.ca and an Operations Officer at the Emergency Watch and Response Centre in Ottawa will assist you. Officers are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

For each lost/stolen passport, you must report the matter to the nearest police station and obtain a detailed police report. You will be required to submit the original police report in support of your application. After reporting the lost/stolen passport to our office or to the Operations Officers, and to the police, you can begin preparing an application form for issuance of a new passport if you need to travel.

How to Apply for a Replacement Passport

A person who is applying for a replacement of a Canadian passport that was lost, stolen, inaccessible, damaged or found must:

  1. Complete application form and follow the instructions: www.ppt.gc.ca/planification/203.aspx?lang=eng
  2. The required fee.

Note: If you are not in possession of an original proof of citizenship (a birth certificate for applicants born in Canada or citizenship certificate for applicants born outside of Canada), a family member or friend can submit on your behalf the document at the nearest Passport Office in Canada or Canadian Office abroad (with your file number).

Passport Photograph Specifications

Please see instructions for more information on passport picture.

Footer

Date Modified:
2017-10-13

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Thaïlande.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Pour les Canadiens
  4. >
  5. Vivre et voyager à l'étranger

Services de passeport

Informations générales

Les services de passeport canadien ne sont disponibles qu'à l’ambassade du Canada à Bangkok. Cependant, le consulat de Chiang Mai, le Bureau de l’Ambassade du Canada au Cambodge, le Bureau de l’Ambassade du Canada au Laos, et l’ambassade du Canada en Birmanie (Myanmar) peuvent fournir des services notariaux relativement à des questions de passeport si nécessaire. Veuillez noter que l’ambassade du Canada, Bangkok offre les services de passeport et de citoyenneté pour tous les Canadiens résidants ou voyageant en Birmanie (Myanmar).

Les demandes de passeport peuvent être présentées en personne à la Section consulaire à Bangkok de 9h00 à 12h00, du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés).

Vous pouvez également envoyer votre demande complétée à :

Services de passeport, Section consulaire
Ambassade du Canada
P.O. Box 2090
Bangkok, Thaïlande, 10501

Formulaires de demande

Des formulaires de demande de passeport téléchargeables sont disponibles sur le site Web de Passeport Canada.

Veuillez lire attentivement les sections suivantes, ainsi que les instructions imprimées sur le formulaire de demande, et assurez-vous de satisfaire à toutes les conditions requises pour garantir un service efficace.

Il faut 20 jours ouvrables pour traiter une demande de passeport après réception des formulaires nécessaires, des pièces justificatives et des droits. Veuillez en tenir compte dans votre planification afin d'éviter les désagréments.

Validité

Les passeports canadiens sont délivrés pour une période de cinq ou dix ans et contiennent 36 pages.  Tous les passeports pour enfant seront valides pour une durée maximale de 5 ans.  Les demandes de renouvellement sont généralement acceptées en tout temps dans les 12 mois précédant la date d'expiration ou si toutes les pages de visa ont été épuisées.

Note : De nombreux pays en Asie exige un passeport valide pour au moins 6 mois après l'entrée au pays ou après le départ prévu dudit pays. Si vous prévoyez voyager au cours des derniers six à huit mois de validité de votre passeport, vous devriez vous assurer que la période de validité soit suffisante pour vous permettre d'entrer dans le pays de destination.

Demande de passeport pour adulte canadien admissible pour le processus de renouvellement simplifié

Une personne de 16 ans ou plus qui présente une demande pour un passeport canadien doit:

  1. Compléter un formulaire de demande et suivre les directives : www.ppt.gc.ca/info/ren.aspx?lang=fra&region=international
  2. Payer les droits.

Demande de passeport générale pour adulte pour les Canadiens de 16 ans et plus

Une personne de 16 ans ou plus qui présente une demande pour un passeport canadien doit :

  1. Compléter un formulaire de demande et suivre les instructions : http://www.cic.gc.ca/francais/passeport/formulaires/pdf/PPTC041.pdf
  2. Payer les droits.

Demande de passeport générale pour enfant pour les Canadiens de moins de 16 ans

Si vous présentez une demande pour un passeport canadien pour un enfant de moins de 16 ans, vous devez :

  1. Compléter le formulaire de demande et suivre les instructions : http://www.cic.gc.ca/francais/passeport/formulaires/pdf/PPTC043.pdf
  2. Payer les droits.

Notes importantes : Si vous devez faire une demande de visa de Thaïlande, du Cambodge, du Laos, de la Birmanie (Myanmar) afin que votre enfant puisse demeurer dans votre pays de résidence, en plus de tous les documents requis mentionnés ci-haut, vous devrez soumettre une déclaration écrite. (Exemple : Je, xxx xxx, suis tenu(e) d'obtenir un passeport pour mon fils/ma fille, xxxx xxxx, afin qu'il / elle puisse recevoir un visa du bureau de l’immigration.)

Passeport perdu, volé, inaccessible, endommagé ou trouvé

Si votre passeport a été perdu ou volé, vous devez le signaler immédiatement au bureau de délivrance de passeports le plus près de chez vous. Si la perte ou le vol s'est produit en Thaïlande, au Cambodge, au Laos ou en Birmanie (Myanmar), veuillez en avertir le bureau canadien ou australien le plus près ou envoyer un courriel à sos@international.gc.ca et un agent des opérations du Centre de surveillance et d’intervention d’urgence à Ottawa vous viendra en aide. Des agents sont disponibles 24 heures par jour, 7 jours par semaine.

Pour chaque passeport perdu ou volé, vous devez signaler la perte ou le vol au poste de police le plus près et obtenir un rapport de police détaillé. On vous demandera de présenter l'original du rapport de police en appui à votre demande. Après avoir signalé la perte ou le vol du passeport à notre bureau ou aux agents des opérations, ainsi qu'à la police, vous pourrez commencer à préparer un formulaire de demande de délivrance d'un nouveau passeport si vous devez voyager.

Comment faire une demande pour un passeport de remplacement

Une personne présentant une demande pour remplacer un passeport canadien perdu, volé, inaccessible, endommagé ou trouvé doit :

  1. Compléter un formulaire de demande et suivre les instructions : www.ppt.gc.ca/planification/203.aspx?lang=fra
  2. Payer les droits.

Note : Si le demandeur ne possède pas de preuve de citoyenneté (certificat de naissance pour les demandeurs nés au Canada ou certificat de citoyenneté pour les demandeurs nés à l'extérieur du Canada), un membre de votre famille ou un ami peut présenter votre preuve de citoyenneté originale dans un bureau de service de Passeport Canada au Canada ou dans un bureau canadien à l’étranger (avec votre numéro de dossier).

Spécifications relatives aux photos de passeport

Voir les instructions suivantes pour de plus amples informations sur les photos de passeport.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2017-10-13