Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

trinidadandtobago.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

Tapping into the Trinbagonian diaspora

Members of Kobo Town came into the crowd and entertained High Commissioner Karen L. McDonald (right) and her husband Bruce White during Canada Day celebrations.
 
Members of Kobo Town came into the crowd and entertained High Commissioner Karen L. McDonald (right) and her husband Bruce White during celebrations.

When it comes to ties between Canada and Trinidad and Tobago, there is certainly a lot to celebrate. Canada is home to a significant Trinbagonian community, with roughly 100,000 individuals living mostly in the Greater Toronto Area. Over in Trinidad and Tobago, over 6000 Canadian citizens make the islands their home.

Every once in a while, these two communities have the opportunity to come together. The High Commission of Canada in Port-of-Spain hosted a celebration in which they tapped into the Trinbagonian diaspora – and brought world-class entertainment home to Trinidad and Tobago.

Drew Gonzalves (left), originally from Trinidad and Tobago, leads Kobo Town during the Canada Day concert in Port of Spain.
Drew Gonzalves (left), originally from Trinidad and Tobago, leads Kobo Town during the concert in Port of Spain.
   

Taking advantage of the extensive people-to-people ties between Canada and Trinidad and Tobago, the event featured a performance by Canadian-Caribbean combo Kobo Town, who helped to showcase Canadian musical talent and tout the successful integration of peoples of Caribbean origin into the fabric of Canadian society. It was an opportunity to highlight Canada’s unique multicultural heritage and celebrate a flourishing relationship with Trinidad and Tobago.

The event, held at the Hilton Trinidad, was attended by just under 300 guests, who were treated to a wonderful performance by this band whose repertoire made for an enjoyable, foot-tapping performance.  Many in the audience were even motivated to leave their seats and dance in the aisles to the sweet strains of the most upbeat musical numbers.

Founded by Trinidadian/Canadian songwriter Drew Gonsalves, and composed of musicians born in Trinidad, Guyana and Canada, Kobo Town is named after the historic neighbourhood in Port-of-Spain where calypso was born, amid the boastful and humourous chants of roaming stick-fighters.  

Locally-Engaged Staff of the High Commission in Port of Spain enjoy the Canada Day concert, a true reflection of the diversity of which both Trinidad and Tobago and Canada can boast.
Locally-Engaged Staff of the High Commission in Port of Spain enjoy the concert, a true reflection of the diversity of which both Trinidad and Tobago and Canada can boast.
   

Exploring the rich lyrical tradition and compelling rhythms of calypso's formative years, Kobo Town also strives to demonstrate the contemporary relevance of their art by addressing the pressing concerns of our time. Domestic violence, the war in Iraq, the paradoxes of globalization, the ongoing state of Caribbean dependency, and the bittersweet experience of immigration are all treated within their wide and varied repertoire.

Nominated for an Indie award, a Canadian Folk Music Award, and an International Folk Alliance award, Kobo Town’s debut album Independence has received rave reviews from the international music press, and the band’s performance at the High Commission was equally well received.      

High Commissioner Karen L. McDonald (second from right) and her husband Bruce White, enjoy the offerings of Drew Gonzalves on the cuatro and Jan Morgan on the trumpet (originally from Guyana).
High Commissioner Karen L. McDonald (second from right) and her husband Bruce White, enjoy the offerings of Drew Gonzalves on the cuatro and Jan Morgan on the trumpet (originally from Guyana).
   

"Merging calypso, roots reggae, acoustic performance, dub studio techniques and Trinidadian/Jamaican cultures, Kobo Town is a unique, stylistic, transnational composite of rhythm, poetry and activist journalism," says Brent Hagerman of Exclaim! magazine.

While in Trinidad and Tobago, Kobo Town also performed at a benefit concert, demonstrating that tapping into the diaspora is not only possible, but also very beneficial in fostering connections between individuals and communities.

>> Read and share more stories about Canada’s activities around the world - follow Eyes Abroad

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2011-08-31

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Trinite-et-Tobago.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

Tirer parti de la diaspora de Trinité-et-Tobago

Les membres de Kobo Town sont descendus jouer parmi le public, où écoutaient la haute-commissaire Karen L. McDonald (à droite) et son mari Bruce White, lors des célébrations de la fête du Canada.
 
Les membres de Kobo Town sont descendus jouer parmi le public, où écoutaient la haute-commissaire Karen L. McDonald (à droite) et son mari Bruce White.

Lorsqu'il s’agit des liens entre le Canada et Trinité-et-Tobago, il y a certainement de quoi à célébrer. Le Canada compte une importante collectivité de Trinité-et-Tobago, avec environ 100 000 individus qui habitent surtout dans la Région du Grand Toronto. À Trinité-et-Tobago, on compte plus de 6 000 citoyens canadiens qui y ont élu domicile.

De temps en temps, ces deux collectivités ont l’occasion de se réunir. Lors d‘une fête récente, le Haut-commissariat du Canada à Port d’Espagne a puisé dans la diaspora de Trinité-et-Tobago et a ramené à Trinité-et-Tobago des talents musicaux de calibre international.

Drew Gonzalves (à gauche), originaire de Trinité-et-Tobago, joue avec son groupe Kobo Town au concert de la fête du Canada à Port d’Espagne.
Drew Gonzalves (à gauche), originaire de Trinité-et-Tobago, joue avec son groupe Kobo Town au concert à Port d’Espagne.
   

Profitant des liens solides entre le Canada et Trinité-et-Tobago, le Haut-commissariat a offert un concert de l’ensemble canadien-caribéen Kobo Town, qui a aidé à faire connaître le talent musical canadien et à vanter l'intégration réussie de personnes d'origine caribéenne dans le tissu de la société canadienne. Il s’agissait d’une occasion pour souligner le patrimoine multiculturel unique du Canada et pour fêter l’épanouissement de la relation avec Trinité-et-Tobago.

Environ 300 invités ont assisté à l’activité, tenue à l’hôtel Hilton de Trinité, et le public a pu profiter du merveilleux concert de ce groupe dont le répertoire était non seulement agréable, mais incitait aussi à taper du pied.  D’ailleurs, plusieurs ont quitté leur place pour danser dans les allées lors des numéros les plus rythmés et entraînants.

Fondé par le compositeur trinidadien/canadien Drew Gonsalves, et composé de musiciens nés à Trinité, en Guyana, et au Canada, Kobo Town prend son nom du quartier historique de Port d’Espagne, où le calypso est né des chants vantards et comiques des combattants de bâtons  qui se promenaient dans les rues. 

Les employés recrutés sur place du Haut-commissariat à Port d’Espagne écoutent le concert à l’occasion de la fête du Canada, véritable reflet de la diversité autant de Trinité-et-Tobago que du Canada.
Les employés recrutés sur place du Haut-commissariat à Port d’Espagne écoutent le concert, véritable reflet de la diversité autant de Trinité-et-Tobago que du Canada.
   

En explorant la riche tradition lyrique et les rythmes qui ont fondé le calypso, Kobo Town s’efforce de démontrer la pertinence toujours contemporaine de cette musique en traitant les grandes préoccupations de nos jours. La violence domestique, la guerre en Irak, les paradoxes de la mondialisation, la dépendance des Caraïbes, et l’expérience amère de l’immigration sont parmi les thèmes abordés dans la large gamme de leur répertoire.

Finaliste aux prix Indie, aux Prix de musique folk canadienne, et aux prix Folk Alliance International, le premier album de Kobo Town, « Independance », a fait l’objet de grands éloges à l’échelle internationale, et le concert du groupe au Haut-commissariat a fait de même.     

La haute-commissaire Karen L. McDonald (deuxième à droite) et son mari Bruce White, se régalent en écoutant Drew Gonzalvez au cuatro et Jan Morgan à la trompette (originaire de la Guyana).
La haute-commissaire Karen L. McDonald (deuxième à droite) et son mari Bruce White, se régalent en écoutant Drew Gonzalvez au cuatro et Jan Morgan à la trompette (originaire de la Guyana).
   

« Un mélange de calypso, de reggae-roots, d’instrumentation acoustique, de techniques de studio « dub » et de cultures trinidadiennes et jamaïquaines, Kobo Town représente un genre de musique unique, stylistique, militant et transnational plein de rythme, d’activisme et de poésie », a écrit Brent Hagerman du magazine Exclaim!   

Pendant son séjour à Trinité-et-Tobago, Kobo Town a également participé à un concert-bénéfice, faisant preuve de la possibilité, ainsi que des avantages, de puiser dans la diaspora pour créer des liens entre des individus et des collectivités.

>> Pour en savoir plus sur les activités du Canada à l’étranger ou raconter les vôtres, Coup d’œil sur le monde vous attend!

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2011-08-31