Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

trinidadandtobago.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

Canada is the Country of Focus at Trinidad and Tobago Film Festival 2012


 
Simon (Émilien Néron) in Monsieur Lazhar. Courtesy of Music Box Films

What made the 2012 edition of the Trinidad and Tobago Film Festival (TTFF) unique?  Canada was the country of focus!


Trinidad & Tobago Film Festival logo
   

To support TTFF’s efforts, the High Commission of Canada to Trinidad and Tobago facilitated the screening of two well-regarded Canadian films, Incendies and Monsieur Lazhar, for the Trinidad and Tobago audiences. The latter of these two movies, Monsieur Lazhar, was named awarded Best Canadian Feature Film at the Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF) in 2011.

The decision by the TTFF to have Canada as their country of focus acknowledged the contribution of the Caribbean diaspora in Canada to arts and culture as well as international filmmakers who find their inspiration in the Caribbean.


Lubna Azabal as Nawal Marwan in Incendies. Photo by micro-scope, Courtesy of Sony Pictures Classics
  

Trinidad and Tobago has actively been seeking co-production agreements with Canada and the festival should go a long way to further developing the trade relationship between the two countries. For example, the Canadian-produced Home Again, which premiered at TIFF this year, was partially filmed in Trinidad with the use of a local production company and speaks to the sharing of expertise in the film industry.

These kinds of projects are paving the way for future collaborations as Trinidad and Tobago consider implementing incentives like the temporary importation of film, television and radio equipment without crews having to post a Bond, or pay duties and Value Added Tax.

When the mission was approached to become involved in the festival, it was without hesitation that High Commissioner Karen McDonald agreed in order to foster and highlight the ongoing collaborations between the Government of Canada and Trinidad and Tobago in security, education, industry and culture.


From left to right: Richard Fung (filmmaker), Faisal Lutchmedial (filmmaker), High Commissioner Karen L. McDonald, Christy Garland (filmmaker), Christian Sida-Valenzuela (Director of the Vancouver Latin American Film Festival) and Ian Harnarine
  

The bilateral relationship between Canada and Trinidad and Tobago is strong and High Commissioner McDonald expressed the sentiment that she truly felt that “together Canada and Trinidad and Tobago have aspired, and together we have achieved”. And it is events like this which go a long way to promoting that mutually beneficial relationship. As Canada’s Governor General, the Honourable David Johnston, so aptly put it during his historic visit to Trinidad and Tobago, “ours is a relationship of trust”.

Other films with Canadian connections shown at the Festival included a documentary narrative short Mr. Crab by Faisal Lutchmedial, the documentary short The Chiney Shop by Jeanette Kong, the documentary feature The World Before Her by Nisha Pahuja, Dal Puri Diaspora by Richard Fung, and The Bastard Sings the Sweetest Song by Christy Garland, which received the award for Best Caribbean Film by an International Filmmaker at this year’s outing of the TTFF.

In addition to showcasing Canadian film, the festival also hosted four Canadian filmmakers including Ian Harnarine, director of Doubles with Slight Pepper which received the Award for Best Canadian Short Film at TIFF 2011.  The local festival also welcomed Christian Sida-Valenzuela, director of the Vancouver Latin American Film Festival who sat on the judges’ panel.

In partnership with the High Commission and sponsored by RBC Royal Bank, the 2012 edition of the TTFF, which ended on October 2, was the largest edition of the festival to date, with over 120 films being screened.  More information on the festival can be found at www.ttfilmfestival.com.

>> Read and share more stories about Canada’s activities around the world - follow Eyes Abroad

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-10-25

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Trinite-et-Tobago.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

Le Canada est dans la mire du Festival du film de Trinité-et-Tobago 2012


 
Simon (Émilien Néron) dans Monsieur Lazhar. Avec la permission de Music Box Films.

Pourquoi l’édition 2012 du Festival du film de Trinité-et-Tobago (TTFF) est-elle un événement si unique? Le Canada était dans la mire du festival!


Logo du Festival du film de Trinité-et-Tobago
  

Afin de soutenir les efforts du TTFF, le Haut-commissariat du Canada à Trinité-et-Tobago a facilité la projection, pour le grand bonheur du public local, de deux films canadiens réputés, Incendies et Monsieur Lazhar. Ce dernier a remporté le prix du meilleur film canadien au Festival international du film de Toronto (TIFF) en 2011.

La décision du TTFF de choisir le Canada comme pays cible du festival vient reconnaître la contribution de la diaspora caribéenne au Canada dans le domaine des arts et de la culture, et celle des cinéastes internationaux qui trouvent leur inspiration dans les Caraïbes.


Lubna Azabal comme Nawal Marwan dans Incendies. Photo par micro-scope, avec la permission de Sony Pictures Classics.
  

Trinité-et-Tobago a cherché activement des accords de coproduction avec le Canada et le festival devrait contribuer encore davantage au développement des relations commerciales entre les deux pays. Par exemple, le film Home Again, une production canadienne, a été tourné en partie à Trinité avec le concours d’une maison de production locale, et témoigne de la mise en commun de l’expertise dans l’industrie du cinéma.

Des projets de ce genre ouvrent la voie à d’éventuelles collaborations, à l’heure où Trinité-et-Tobago envisage des mesures incitatives, comme l’importation de matériel cinématographique et d’équipement de production télévisuelle et radiophonique, sans que les équipes aient à verser une caution ou à payer les droits et la taxe à valeur ajoutée.

Lorsque la mission a été approchée pour s’associer au festival, la haute-commissaire Karen McDonald a accepté, sans hésitation, cette invitation, afin d’encourager et de souligner la collaboration continue entre le gouvernement du Canada et Trinité-et-Tobago au chapitre de la sécurité, de l’éducation, de l’industrie et de la culture.


De gauche à droite : Richard Fung (cinéaste), Faisal Lutchmedial (cinéaste), haut-commissaire Karen L. McDonald, Christy Garland (cinéaste), Christian Sida-Valenzuela (directeur du Festival du film latino-américain de Vancouver) et Ian Harnarine (cinéaste).
  

La relation bilatérale entre le Canada et Trinité-et-Tobago est solide, et la haute-commissaire McDonald a déclaré avoir vraiment le sentiment « qu’ensemble, le Canada et Trinité-et-Tobago ont désiré établir des liens, et que nous y sommes parvenus ensemble ». Ce sont des événements comme celui-là qui renforcent les avantages mutuels que procure une telle relation. À titre de gouverneur général du Canada, l’honorable David Johnston a déclaré avec justesse, lors de sa visite historique à Trinité-et-Tobago, que « notre relation est une relation de confiance ».

D’autres films, auxquels ont participé des Canadiens, ont été projetés au festival. Parmi ceux-ci, mentionnons le court-métrage documentaire narratif Mr. Crab, de Faisal Lutchmedial, le court-métrage documentaire The Chiney Shop, de Jeanette Kong, le long-métrage documentaire The World Before Her, de Nisha Pahuja, Dal Puri Diaspora, de Richard Fung, et The Bastard Sings the Sweetest Song, de Christy Garland, qui a reçu le prix du meilleur film caribéen réalisé par un cinéaste international, dévoilé au TTFF de cette année.

En plus d’avoir présenté des films canadiens, le festival a accueilli quatre cinéastes canadiens, dont Ian Harnarine, réalisateur de Doubles with Slight Pepper, qui a remporté le prix du meilleur court-métrage canadien au TIFF 2011. Le festival a également accueilli Christian Sida-Valenzuela, directeur du Festival du film latino-américain de Vancouver, qui était membre du jury.

Grâce à la collaboration avec le Haut-commissariat et le soutien financier de RBC Banque Royale, l’édition 2012 du TTFF, qui s’est terminée le 2 octobre, est, avec plus de 120 films projetés, l’édition la plus importante à ce jour. Pour en savoir plus sur le festival, consultez le www.ttfilmfestival.com.

>> Pour en savoir plus sur les activités du Canada à l’étranger ou raconter les vôtres, Coup d’œil sur le monde vous attend!

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-10-25