Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

trinidadandtobago.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

Sharing Procurement Knowledge Across Countries and Sectors

Group photo
From left to right: High Commissioner for Canada Her Excellency Karen L. McDonald, Mr. Paul Emanuelli and Ms. Margaret Rose, Executive Director, Caribbean Procurement Institute.
 

There is more to effective procurement than simply obtaining the right product at the right time for the right price. Ensuring that goods and services are acquired at optimum value — and doing so with integrity and transparency — is all about spending tax payers’ dollars wisely in order to best serve their interests.

In Trinidad and Tobago, where procurement practices have contributed to bringing down two governments in recent years, procurement is a hot topic.

For this reason, procurement specialists, legalprofessionals, andexecutivesof government and private-sector entities in Trinidad and Tobago gathered for a seminar on procurement led by Paul Emanuelli, an internationally-known Canadian author and procurement lawyer. Having written and spoken extensively on the subject, Emanuelli had a wealth of knowledge and best practices to share.

Co-hosted by Her Excellency, Karen L. McDonald, High Commissioner for Canada to the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, in conjunction with the Caribbean Procurement Institute (CPI), the seminar was geared toward board members and senior management in the public and private sectors, and designed as an opportunity for learning and knowledge sharing. This session was the first in a CPI Leadership Breakfast Series on Institutional Governance & Implementing a Corporate Procurement Policy.

The High Commissioner was on hand at the seminar to bring greetings on behalf of the Government of Canada. She announced that Canada was pleased to be co-hosting the seminar and expressed her satisfaction in working with the CPI in this crucial area of endeavour.

"Having sound procurement practices is essential to strengthening good governance, whether in Canada, Trinidad and Tobago or any other country in the world. I am very pleased that Canada was able to assist in sharing experience and provide guidance on how to build professional capacity and efficiency in the procurement function here in Trinidad and Tobago," she said.

Good governance is one of the three pillars of the Government of Canada’s Americas Strategy. Hosting events in which knowledge may be shared between countries and sectors contributes to the pursuit of this goal — and allows diverse groups of individuals to learn from each other.

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-02-07

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Trinite-et-Tobago.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

Partager ses connaissances en matière d’approvisionnement d’un pays et d’un secteur à l’autre

Photo de groupe
De gauche à droite : Haute-commissaire du Canada, Son Excellence Karen L. McDonald, M. Paul Emanuelli et Mme Margaret Rose, directrice exécutive, Caribbean Procurement Institute .
 

Un approvisionnement efficace ne se limite pas tout simplement à obtenir le bon produit au bon moment et au bon prix. S’assurer de la meilleure valeur possible pour les biens et les services — et le faire avec intégrité et transparence — équivaut à dépenser judicieusement les deniers publics afin de servir le mieux possible les intérêts des contribuables.

À Trinité-et-Tobago, où les pratiques en matière d’approvisionnement ont contribué à faire chuter deux gouvernements au cours des dernières années, l’approvisionnement est un sujet qui suscite beaucoup d’intérêt.

Pour cette raison, des spécialistes de l’approvisionnement, des professionnels du milieu juridique et des cadres supérieurs du secteur public et des entreprises du privé à Trinité-et-Tobago se sont réunis pour assister à un séminaire sur l’approvisionnement animé par Paul Emanuelli, auteur canadien connu à travers le monde et avocat en droit d’approvisionnement. Puisqu’il a beaucoup écrit et parlé à ce sujet, M. Emanuelli avait un riche ensemble de connaissances et de pratiques exemplaires à partager.

Co-animé par Son Excellence Karen L. McDonald, haute-commissaire du Canada à la République de Trinité-et-Tobago et par la Caribbean Procurement Institute (CPI), le séminaire s’adressait aux membres de conseils et aux cadres supérieurs des secteurs public et privé et se voulait une occasion d’apprendre et de partager des connaissances. Cette séance était la première d’une série de déjeuners de leadership de la CPI sur la gouvernance institutionnelle et la mise en œuvre d’une politique générale d’approvisionnement. 

La haute-commissaire était sur place pendant le séminaire et a salué les participants au nom du gouvernement du Canada. Elle a annoncé que c’était un plaisir pour le Canada d’animer conjointement le séminaire et s’est dite satisfaite de pouvoir collaborer avec la CPI dans ce domaine d’importance cruciale.

« Se doter de pratiques d’approvisionnement judicieuses est une condition essentielle au renforcement de la bonne gouvernance, qu’on soit au Canada, à Trinité-et-Tobago ou dans un autre pays du monde. Je suis très heureuse que le Canada ait pu contribuer à partager son expérience et à donner des conseils quant aux moyens à prendre pour accroître la capacité professionnelle et l’efficacité en matière d’approvisionnement à Trinité-et-Tobago », a-t-elle indiqué.

Une bonne gouvernance est l’un des trois piliers de la Stratégie pour les Amériques du gouvernement du Canada. Organiser des événements où l’on peut partager des connaissances entre pays et secteurs contribue à la réalisation de cet objectif — et permet à divers groupes de personnes d’apprendre les unes des autres.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-02-07