Marriage

We recommend that any Canadian citizen wishing to get married in Tunisia first find out from the appropriate Tunisian authorities (municipalities or lawyers) about the procedures to follow, the documents required in the process and any applicable fees.

It is also important to verify the applicable legal and religious obligations that are part of this process. Note that if a Canadian men wishes to enter into marriage in Tunisia, it is mandatory that he first convert to Islam. We remind you that the Canadian Embassy cannot perform weddings on its premises and that the only way to get married in Tunisia to a Muslim Tunisian citizen is to enter into an Islamic marriage.

The Tunisian authorities will ask you to submit is a certificate stating there are no impediments to your marriage "Certificat de non-emplacement". As this document is not required by Canadian Law, a Declaration in lieu of a Certificat de non-emplacement will be issued. This certificate must be issued by the Canadian Embassy in Tunisia, located in Tunis during the consular service hours to clients. Fees in the amount of $50 apply. You will have to present your Canadian passport and provide the name, date and place of birth of the person you intend to marry.

For general information visit the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade website.

if you wish to register your marriage in Canada, we recommend you to contact your provincial vital statistics office for more information.

Mariage

Nous recommandons à tout citoyen canadien désirant se marier en Tunisie de s’informer au préalable auprès des autorités tunisiennes (municipalités ou avocats) sur les procédures à suivre, les documents nécessaires, de même que les frais applicables.

Il est également important de vérifier les obligations légales et religieuses qui s’appliqueront dans le cadre de cet acte. À cet effet, veuillez noter que si un citoyen canadien homme désirant contracter mariage en Tunisie, celui-ci devra obligatoirement se convertir préalablement à l’Islam.

Les autorités tunisiennes vous demanderont, entre autres, de produire un certificat faisant état qu’il n’existe aucun empêchement à votre mariage « Certificat de non-empêchement ». La loi canadienne n’exigeant ni ne prévoyant la délivrance de ces certificats une Déclaration tenant lieu du certificat vous sera remise. Ce certificat devra obligatoirement être délivré par l’Ambassade du Canada en Tunisie, située à Tunis, durant les heures de services à la clientèle. Des frais de 50$ canadiens sont applicables. Vous devrez présenter votre passeport canadien, nous communiquer le nom de vos parents ainsi que le nom, lieu et date de naissance de la personne avec qui vous avez l’intention de vous marier.

Pour information supplémentaire, visitez le site Internet d’Affaires étrangères et Commerce international.

Si vous désirez enregistrer votre mariage au Canada, nous vous invitons à consulter votre  service provincial de l’état civil  afin d’obtenir plus d’information à ce sujet.