Helping women earn a better living and improve their crafts through a commercial cooperative

Ambassador Carol McQueen with the female artisans.
 

In February, Ambassador Carol McQueen spent an afternoon in El Aroussa village in Siliana Governorate, about 100 km from Tunis, with the women who are participating in a project funded by the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives. 

GIE Siliana Artisanat, our Tunisian partner, is helping a group of about 25 women to improve the quality of their weaving and to band together in a commercial cooperative so they can better earn a living from their craft work. 

Ambassador McQueen was impressed by the skill and determination of the female artisans, and enjoyed sharing lunch with them and seeing them working at their craft. She was especially touched by the hand-made gift the women gave to the Canadian Embassy: a woven wall-hanging with the Canadian and Tunisian flags.

This tribute to the strong friendship between Canadians and Tunisians will now adorn the Canadian embassy's reception area. The Ambassador also bought two small woven rugs coloured with natural dyes for her two daughters.

The Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI) provides modest financial contributions to small civil society organizations for projects intended to improve the lives of Tunisians.

Aider des femmes à mieux gagner leur vie et accroître leur art par une coopérative commerciale

L’ambassadeur Carol McQueen avec les femmes artisanes.
 

En février, l’ambassadeur Carol McQueen a passé une après-midi au Village d’El Aroussa, dans le Gouvernorat de Siliana, à environ 100 km de Tunis, avec les femmes participant à un projet financé par le Fonds Canadien d’Initiatives Locales. 

Le GIE Siliana Artisanat, notre partenaire tunisien, aide un groupe d’environ 25 femmes à améliorer la qualité de leurs tissages et leur permet de se regrouper autour d’une coopérative commerciale afin qu'elles puissent mieux vivre de leur travail artisanal. 

Mme McQueen a été impressionnée par le talent et la détermination des femmes artisanes, et a apprécié partager le déjeuner avec elles, ainsi que de les voir travailler à leur métier.  Elle a particulièrement été touchée par le cadeau, fait main, que les femmes ont offert à l’Ambassade du Canada : Une étoffe de tapisserie murale avec les drapeaux du Canada et de Tunisie.

Cet Hommage à la forte amitié entre les Canadiens et les Tunisiens ornera désormais la zone de réception de l’Ambassade.  L’ambassadeur a également acheté deux petits tapis colorés avec des teintures naturelles pour ses deux filles. 

Le Fonds Canadien d’Initiatives Locales (FCIL) fournit une contribution financière modeste aux organisations de la société civile de petite envergure pour les projets destinés à améliorer la vie des Tunisiens.