Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada


  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Bilateral Relations

Canada - Azerbaijan Relations


The Embassy of Canada in Ankara, Turkey, is accredited to the Republic of Azerbaijan. Canada recognized the independence of the Republic of Azerbaijan in December 1991, and diplomatic relations between the countries were established in August 1992. In 2004, Azerbaijan opened an Embassy in Ottawa.

Canada and Azerbaijan’s common membership in multilateral institutions, including the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) and the United Nations (UN) and its agencies, facilitates cooperation on issues of mutual concern.

As part of the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives, Canada has supported civil society development, including human rights (with a focus on women’s and children’s rights) and democratic development in Azerbaijan.

A small but growing number of Azerbaijani students are undertaking undergraduate studies at Canadian universities supported by an Azerbaijani state fund. Cultural ties between Canada and Azerbaijan have also been growing. There have been numerous events in the past several years, including concerts, theatre performances, and a recent film festival held in Montreal based around Azerbaijani life and culture.

High-Level Visits

Former-Canadian Foreign Affairs Minister Lawrence Cannon met with Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Azerbaijan, Elmar Mammadyarov, on the sidelines of the 65th UN General Assembly in September 2010 to discuss bilateral relations between the two countries. In May 2012 a delegation of the New Azerbaijan Party visited Canada, and in April 2013 a Canadian parliamentary delegation led by the Chair of the Canada-Azerbaijan Inter-Parliamentary Friendship Group, MP Barry Devolin, visited Azerbaijan.

Military and Defense Cooperation

Azerbaijan is a troop-contributing nation to the International Security Assistance Forces (ISAF) mission in Afghanistan, and receives counter-terrorism support from Interpol, UNODC and the World Bank. Canada also provides funding to Azerbaijan through its Counter-Terrorism Capacity Building Program. 

Trade and Investment

Economic relations between Canada and Azerbaijan remain modest. In 2013, Canadian imports fell by over 50 percent to $465.29 million from over $1.23 billion the previous year. However, in 2014 Canadian imports rose marginally to $473.07 million. Merchandise exports to Azerbaijan rose to $41.08 million in 2013 from $31.46 million in 2013, the majority being machinery and turbine products.

In September 2014 a trade mission organized by Export Quebec in collaboration with the Canada Eurasia Russia Business Association (CERBA) visited Baku. The trade mission consisted of Canadian companies working in the areas of oil and gas, natural resources, engineering, construction, IT, engine production and agriculture.

Canada and Azerbaijan signed the Canada-Azerbaijan Income Tax Convention on 7 September 2004 in Baku.

March 2015

* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page .


Date Modified:

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Turquie.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Relations bilatérales

Relations Canada-Azerbaïdjan

Aperçu

L’ambassade du Canada à Ankara, en Turquie, est accréditée auprès de la République d’Azerbaïdjan. Le Canada a reconnu l’indépendance de cette dernière en décembre 1991, et les deux pays ont établi des relations diplomatiques en août 1992. En 2004, l’Azerbaïdjan a ouvert son ambassade à Ottawa.

L’adhésion commune du Canada et de l’Azerbaïdjan à des instances multilatérales, notamment à l’Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe (OSCE) et l’Organisation des Nations Unies (ONU) et ses organismes, facilite leur collaboration sur des questions d’intérêt mutuel.

Dans le contexte du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales, le Canada appuie le développement de la société civile, notamment les droits de la personne (en mettant l’accent sur les droits des femmes et des enfants), le développement démocratique, la jeunesse et la réduction de la pauvreté en Azerbaïdjan.

Un nombre faible, mais croissant, d’étudiants azerbaïdjanais viennent faire des études de premier cycle dans des universités du Canada, avec l’aide d’un fonds d’État de l’Azerbaïdjan. On observe aussi un renforcement des liens culturels entre le Canada et l’Azerbaïdjan. De nombreuses activités liées à la vie et à la culture azerbaïdjanaises ont été tenues ces dernières années, notamment des concerts, des pièces de théâtre, ainsi qu’un récent festival du film à Montréal.

Visites de haut niveau

L’ancien ministre des Affaires étrangères du Canada, Lawrence Cannon, a rencontré son homologue de l’Azerbaïdjan, Elmar Mamedyarov, en marge de la 65e Assemblée générale de l’ONU en septembre 2010 pour discuter des relations entre les deux pays. En mai 2012, une délégation du Nouveau Parti Azerbaïdjanais a effectué une visite au Canada, et en avril 2013, une délégation de parlementaires canadiens dirigée par le député Barry Devolin, président du Groupe d’amitié interparlementaire Canada-Azerbaïdjan, s’est rendue en Azerbaïdjan.

Coopération sur le plan militaire et en matière de défense

L’Azerbaïdjan fournit des troupes à la mission en Afghanistan de la Force internationale d’assistance à la sécurité (FIAS) et reçoit un soutien pour lutter contre le terrorisme d’Interpol, de l’Office des Nations Unies contre la drogue et le crime (UNODC) et de la Banque mondiale. En outre, le Canada procure du financement à l’Azerbaïdjan par l’intermédiaire de son Programme d’aide au renforcement des capacités antiterroristes.

Commerce et investissement


Les relations économiques entre le Canada et l'Azerbaïdjan restent modestes. En 2016, les importations canadiennes, composées presque entièrement de produits énergétiques et minéraux, ont diminué de près de 70% pour s'établir à 134,87 millions de dollars, contre 446,75 millions de dollars l'année précédente. Les exportations de marchandises vers l'Azerbaïdjan sont tombées à 12,99 millions de dollars en 2016, contre 14,27 millions de dollars en 2015, la majorité étant des machines, des produits électriques et chimiques

En septembre 2014, une mission commerciale organisée par Exportation Québec en collaboration avec l’Association d’affaires Canada Russie Eurasie (AACRE) a été menée à Bakou. Cette mission réunissait des représentants d’entreprises canadiennes actives dans les domaines de l’exploitation pétrolière et gazière, des ressources naturelles, du génie, du bâtiment, des technologies de l’information, de la fabrication de moteurs et de l’agriculture.

Le Canada et l’Azerbaïdjan ont signé une Convention fiscale le 7 septembre 2004 à Bakou.

Août 2017


* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page .

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2017-08-09