Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada


  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Bilateral Relations

Turkmenistan Relations


Canada’s Embassy in Ankara, Turkey, is accredited to Turkmenistan, while the Turkmenistan Embassy in Washington, D.C. is accredited to Canada.

High-Level Visits and Bilateral Agreements

Parliamentary Secretary Obhrai visited Turkmenistan in January 2010, where he met with Foreign Minister Rashid Meredov and other senior officials. 

Turkmenistan expressed its gratitude for Canadian support in 2008, when Canada supported Turkmenistan’s resolution on “Reliable and stable transit of energy and its role in ensuring sustainable development and international cooperation” at the United Nations General Assembly.

Canada and Turkmenistan are both members of the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE), which is active in the region.

Canadian Development Assistance

While Canada does not directly provide bilateral assistance to Turkmenistan, the country does benefit from the Department of Foreign Affairs Trade and Development (DFATD) contributions to multilateral organizations. 

Military and Defense Cooperation

Canada and Turkmenistan cooperate on issues of mutual concern. Turkmenistan is the only country in Central Asia that signed the Ottawa Convention on anti-personnel mines, although Tajikistan subsequently acceded to the treaty after it came into force.

Trade and Investment

Canada's commercial interests in Turkmenistan are very limited. Canadian merchandise exports in 2014 were $13.9 million, and were mostly in machinery and mechanical products. Imports from Turkmenistan in 2014 almost doubled over the previous year to $1.9 million, primarily in miscellaneous textile articles. However, a number of Canadian oil & gas companies have businesses in or with Turkmenistan. In June 2010, DFATD, in collaboration with the private sector, organized a visit by a Turkmen delegation of senior government officials to the Calgary Global Petroleum Show.

March 2015

* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page .


Date Modified:

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Turquie.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Relations bilatérales

Relations Canada - Turkménistan

Aperçu

L’ambassade du Canada à Ankara, en Turquie, est accréditée auprès du Turkménistan, alors que l’ambassade du Turkménistan à Washington est accréditée auprès du Canada.

Visites de haut niveau et accords bilatéraux

Le secrétaire parlementaire Obhrai s’est rendu au Turkménistan en janvier 2010 et a rencontré le ministre des Affaires étrangères Rashid Meredov et d’autres hauts fonctionnaires.

Le Turkménistan a exprimé sa reconnaissance pour l’appui accordé par le Canada à la résolution turkmène portant sur « La fiabilité et la stabilité du transit des ressources énergétiques et sa contribution à un développement durable et à la coopération internationale », à l’occasion de l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies en 2008.

Le Canada et le Turkménistan sont tous deux membres de l’Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe (OSCE), présente dans la région.

Aide canadienne au développement

Même si le Canada ne fournit pas d’aide bilatérale directe au Turkménistan, celui‑ci bénéficie tout de même des contributions versées par Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada (MAECD) aux organisations multilatérales. 

Coopération sur le plan militaire et en matière de défense

Les deux pays collaborent dans des dossiers d’intérêt mutuel. Le Turkménistan est le seul pays d’Asie centrale à avoir signé la Convention d’Ottawa sur les mines antipersonnel, bien que le Tadjikistan ait adhéré à cette dernière après son entrée en vigueur.

Commerce et investissement            

Les intérêts commerciaux du Canada au Turkménistan sont très limités. Les exportations canadiennes de marchandises vers ce pays en 2014 se sont chiffrées à 13,9 millions de dollars et ont été surtout composées de machines et de produits mécaniques. Les importations canadiennes en provenance du Turkménistan en 2014 ont presque doublé par rapport à l’année précédente, pour s’établir à 1,9 million de dollars, et ont principalement compris des articles de textiles divers. Toutefois, un certain nombre d’entreprises pétrolières et gazières canadiennes font des affaires au Turkménistan ou avec ce pays. En juin 2010, le MAECD a organisé, en collaboration avec le secteur privé, une visite d’une délégation de hauts fonctionnaires turkmènes au salon Calgary Global Petroleum.

Mars 2015


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2015-03-09