Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Turkey.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Nadia’s journey

Bookmark and Share


Poster for the screening of Nadia’s Journey in Eskisehir.
   

Nadia Zouaoui, representatives of the Embassy of Canada and coordinator of the Flying Broom women’s organisation respond to questions after the film.
   

Guests attending the screening of Nadia’s Journey in Ankara.
   

As part of an ongoing effort to raise awareness on the issue of Child, Early and Forced Marriages (CEFM), the Embassy of Canada in Ankara invited Canadian journalist and filmmaker Nadia Zouaoui to Turkey to screen her documentary, Nadia’s Journey. The documentary tells Zouaoui’s personal story of being forced into an arranged marriage at the age of 18 with an Algerian living in Montreal. The man, who was twice her age, chose her from a photo. The film depicts Nadia’s return to her native village 18 years later, to see if things have improved for the women living there.

The film was met with considerable interest by the Turkish audiences, mostly comprised of women and girls, women’s rights groups, and the diplomatic community. The film was screened in Eskişehir and Ankara to full-house attendances, and was followed by question and answer sessions. The Embassy partnered with a prominent Turkish women’s organization, Flying Broom, for the organization of the two events.

Nadia’s journey

Nadia Zouaoui is a journalist and filmmaker who was born in Algeria and has lived in Montreal since 1988. She studied literature and journalism at the University of Montreal and McGill University and currently works for the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, the National Film Board of Canada, and for the Aljazeera Documentary Film Channel.

Her film turns the camera on women of different generations – her mother and her friends, other older women, school friends, and younger cousins – seeking to compare the status of women, both past and current. She discovers that the lives and movements of young women are still restricted, despite recent improvements in education rates among girls and women in her community. Although the topic of early and forced marriage dominates the film, what Zouaoui highlights in particular throughout the narration is the oppression of women by Algeria’s patriarchal system.

Movie screenings

The first screening of Nadia’s Journey took place in Turkey’s northwestern city of Eskişehir. The area is known for being a progressive province keen on raising awareness of social issues, including of efforts to end child marriages in Turkey. Teenage girls with their mothers were among the attendees for the screening and the question and answer session that followed the film.

The second screening took place in Ankara, at the city’s Cermodern Art Gallery. The discussion after the film focussed on strategies for eradicating CEFM not only in Turkey but globally. Nadia was proud to tell the audience that Turkey is the first Muslim country to screen Nadia’s Journey, either through an embassy or as part of a film festival.

Flying Broom women’s organization

In what can be a difficult local environment, both events were a great success thanks to the outstanding support of the Flying Broom women’s organization. Flying Broom has been working since 1996 to enhance gender equality and provide training to empower women. Recent program funding through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI) has allowed Flying Broom to publish a book on CEFM, compiled from the organization’s reports, publications, photographs and testimonials.

The screenings of Nadia’s Journey highlights Canada’s efforts to end the practice of Child Early and Forced Marriage. Canadian Embassies around the Middle East and Africa have also been hosting the ‘Too Young to Wed’ photo exhibit, reinforcing understanding that CEFM is a widespread issue regardless of region or religion. The screening of the film is an important step in the fight against CEFM, as is our continued partnership with organizations like Flying Broom. The Embassy of Canada in Ankara will continue to champion these values and support women’s and children’s rights.

Footer

Date Modified:
2015-02-26

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Turquie.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Le voyage de Nadia

Partagez et faite un signet


Affiche pour la présentation du Voyage de Nadia à Eskişehir.
   

Nadia Zouaoui, des représentants de l’ambassade du Canada et la coordonnatrice de l’organisme des droits des femmes Uçan Süpürge répondent à des questions après le film.
   

Membres du public du Voyage de Nadia à Ankara.
   

Dans le cadre de ses efforts constants pour sensibiliser le public aux mariages d’enfants, précoces et forcés (MEPF), l’ambassade du Canada à Ankara a invité la journaliste et réalisatrice canadienne Nadia Zouaoui en Turquie pour présenter son documentaire Le voyage de Nadia. Le documentaire raconte comment Zouaoui, à l’âge de 18 ans, a été mariée contre son gré à un Algérien vivant à Montréal. L’homme, qui avait deux fois son âge, l’a choisie après l’avoir vue en photo. Le film montre le retour de Nadia à son village natal 18 ans plus tard pour voir si la situation des femmes locales s’est améliorée.

Le film a suscité un vif intérêt chez le public turc, en particulier les femmes et les filles, les groupes qui luttent pour les droits des femmes et la communauté diplomatique. Il a été présenté à Eskişehir et à Ankara devant salle comble et suivi par une séance de questions. L’ambassade s’est alliée à un important organisme turc des droits des femmes, Uçan Süpürge (Balai volant), pour organiser les deux événements.

Le voyage de Nadia

Nadia Zouaoui est une journaliste et réalisatrice originaire d’Algérie qui vit à Montréal depuis 1988. Elle a étudié la littérature et le journalisme à l’Université de Montréal et à l’Université McGill et travaille actuellement pour Radio-Canada, l’Office national du film du Canada, et la chaîne documentaire d’Al-Jazira.

Dans son film, elle pointe sa caméra vers des femmes de plusieurs générations – sa mère et ses amies, d’autres femmes plus âgées, des camarades de classe, et des cousines plus jeunes – et cherche à comparer la condition de la femme d’aujourd’hui à celle du passé. Elle découvre que les choix de vie et les déplacements des jeunes femmes demeurent restreints, malgré une amélioration récente du taux d’éducation des filles et des femmes de sa communauté. Bien que les mariages précoces et forcés soient le thème dominant du film, Zouaoui met surtout en lumière, par la narration, l’oppression des femmes par le système patriarcal d’Algérie.

Présentations du film          

La première présentation du Voyage de Nadia a eu lieu à Eskişehir, au nord-ouest de la Turquie. La région est connue comme une province progressiste qui a à cœur la sensibilisation aux enjeux sociaux, dont les efforts pour mettre fin aux mariages d’enfants en Turquie. Le public du film et de la séance de questions comptait des adolescentes accompagnées de leur mère.

La deuxième présentation a eu lieu à Ankara, à la galerie d’art Cermodern de la ville. La discussion après le film a porté sur les stratégies pour mettre fin aux MEPF, non seulement en Turquie, mais à travers le monde. Nadia a eu la fierté d’annoncer au public que la Turquie était le premier pays musulman à présenter Le voyage de Nadia en salle, que ce soit par une ambassade ou lors d’un festival du film.

Organisation des droits des femmes Uçan Süpürge

Malgré le milieu local parfois difficile, les deux événements ont connu un franc succès grâce au soutien exceptionnel de l’organisme des droits des femmes Uçan Süpürge (Balai volant). Ce groupe œuvre depuis 1996 pour promouvoir l’égalité des sexes et pour offrir de l’éducation et de la formation aux femmes afin de mieux les outiller. Récemment, le financement offert par le Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales (FCIL) a permis à Uçan Süpürge de publier un livre compilant ses rapports, ses publications, ses photographies et ses témoignages sur les MEPF.

Les présentations du Voyage du Nadia font partie des efforts du Canada pour éliminer la pratique des mariages d’enfants, précoces et forcés. Des ambassades canadiennes au Moyen-Orient et en Afrique ont également tenu l’exposition de photos Trop jeune pour se marier pour souligner que les MEPF sont un problème répandu, et non propre à une région ou à une religion. La présentation du film constitue une étape importante de la lutte contre les MEPF, tout comme la poursuite de notre partenariat avec des organismes tels qu’Uçan Süpürge. L’ambassade canadienne à Ankara continuera de promouvoir ces valeurs et de soutenir les droits des femmes et des enfants.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2015-02-26