Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada


  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Bilateral Relations

Canada - Ukraine Relations


On December 2, 1991, Canada became the first western country to recognize Ukraine's independence. This was quickly followed up by the establishment of diplomatic relations with Ukraine on January 27, 1992. These relations, which have been strengthened by the 1.2 million strong Ukrainian-Canadian community, have grown to encompass cooperation in commercial, political, and security spheres.

Canada and Ukraine enjoy close bilateral relations. Historic ties of friendship forged through generations of Ukrainian migration to Canada are reinforced by shared values and interests to produce a mature, balanced and mutually beneficial 21st century partnership. The 1994 Declaration on the "Special Partnership", renewed in 2001, and again in 2008, recognizes Canada's support for the development of Ukraine and the importance of our bilateral cooperation to ensure stability and prosperity in the world. Ukrainians continue to travel and immigrate to Canada in significant numbers, further reinforcing the close familial, social, and cultural ties between the two countries.

Canada and Ukraine cooperate in a range of international organizations, including the United Nations (UN), the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE), and La Francophonie.

The Embassy of Canada in Kyiv is at the heart of our engagement with Ukraine. The Consulate of Canada in Lviv provides valuable services to western Ukraine. Ukraine is represented in Canada by an Embassy in Ottawa. Ukraine also has a Consulate General in Toronto and an Honorary Consulate in Vancouver.

Canadian Response to Ukraine Crisis

Since the beginning of the crisis in Ukraine in November 2013, Canada has been at the forefront of the international community’s support for the Ukrainian people; first in their fight for democracy and reform under the Yanukovych regime, and then in their efforts to resist Russian military aggression, including the illegal occupation of the Crimean peninsula. 

Canada has imposed sanctions against over 210 Russian and Ukrainian individuals and entities, and sent over 500 observers to monitor both Ukraine’s May Presidential, and October Parliamentary elections. Prime Minister Stephen Harper has also announced more than $220 million in support to help Ukraine stabilize its economy and promote economic development.

Other contributions include the new package of assistance for Ukraine through the Global Peace and Security Fund, to provide $15 million in non-lethal material and equipment to Ukraine security services, including winter gear, a mobile field hospital, protective vests, first aid kits, tents, and sleeping bags. Most recently, Canada announced a contribution of $3 million to three NATO Centres of Excellence that deal with cyber-security, energy security, and strategic communications. 

Canadian Development and Humanitarian Assistance

Ukraine is one of 25 countries of focus for Canada’s development assistance. Since Ukraine’s independence in 1991, Canada has provided over $493 million in development assistance support to Ukraine. During and following Ukraine’s “Revolution of Dignity” Canada has expedited and substantially increased support to Ukraine in the areas of advancing democracy and sustainable economic growth.

The goal of Canadian bilateral development assistance in Ukraine is to improve economic opportunities for Ukrainians in a strengthened democracy. Canada is working with the Government of Ukraine and other development partners to rapidly implement the significant reforms needed for Ukraine to realize its full economic potential and build a sound public institutional and legal environment for closer integration with Europe.

Canada is a leading partner for Ukraine in the following areas: democracy and governance, macroeconomic and financial sector management, civil society development, prevention of human trafficking, legal and judicial reform, agriculture, decentralization and local economic development, SME development, media freedom, and the promotion and protection of human rights, including religious freedom. In addition to contributing to numerous bilateral and multilateral electoral observation missions, Canada has consistently supported electoral system capacity-building in Ukraine.

Canada is also supporting Canadian and international humanitarian organizations to respond to the humanitarian needs caused by the conflict in Eastern Ukraine. 

High Levels Visits and Bilateral Agreements

High-level meetings between Canada and Ukraine take place on a regular basis. In February 2014, Foreign Affairs Minister John Baird was the first western official to travel to Kyiv and welcome Prime Minister Arseniy Yatsenyuk’s new government, and in July 2014 Minister of International Trade Ed Fast led a timely  peace and prosperity  mission.

On March 22, 2014, Prime Minister Stephen Harper was the first G-7 leader to travel to Ukraine since Russia moved to annex Crimea. On 7 June, 2014, Prime Minister Harper traveled to Kyiv to attend the swearing-in ceremony of Petro Poroshenko as the new President of Ukraine. Most recently, President Poroshenko visited Ottawa on 17 September, 2014, and discussed economic and social development promotion with Prime Minister Harper. 

The two countries have signed a variety of agreements and memoranda of understanding covering such areas as trade, technical cooperation, defence and mutual legal assistance.

Military and Defense Cooperation

Ukraine is a top-priority country within the region for the Military Training Cooperation Program (MTCP). Canada supports the NATO-Ukraine Joint Working Group through the provision of language, staff officer, and peacekeeping training for Ukrainian military and civilian personnel. With Canada’s ongoing commitment and increased support to Ukraine, the MTCP has duly responded by increasingly the course offerings to Ukraine in 2014 and 2015. Ukraine is currently the largest participant in Canada’s MTCP.

Through the G8-led Global Partnership Against the Spread of Weapons and Materials of Mass Destruction, Canada and Ukraine cooperate in projects in the area of nuclear security and nuclear safety (including the Chornobyl Shelter Fund), the redirection of former weapons scientists through the Science and Technology Centre in Ukraine (STCU), and border security. Between 2003 and 2012 Canada provided Ukraine with over $57.5 million for nuclear and radiological safety and security, and over $20 million to help redirect the work of former weapons scientists towards peaceful pursuits.

Trade and Investment

Canada and Ukraine enjoy positive commercial relations and in Canada’s Global Market Access Plan, Ukraine is designated a priority emerging market with specific opportunities for Canadian businesses. In 2013, bilateral merchandise trade between Canada and Ukraine increased 2.8% over 2012, reaching over $322.3 million. Canada’s merchandise exports totaled $210.1 million, up 41.1% from 2012. Top exports included mineral fuels and oils, fish and seafood, pharmaceuticals, meat and machinery. Canada’s imports from Ukraine totaled $112.2 million in 2013, and top imports included mineral fuels and oils, iron and steel products, fertilizers, and woven apparel.

While bilateral commercial relations are good, there is much room to expand commercial relations between Canada and Ukraine. Ukraine continues to be a promising market for agrifood products, fish, and seafood. Given Ukraine’s significant unconventional oil and gas deposits, there is increased interest in these sectors as well. In addition, Ukrainian students continue to come to Canada to study at Canadian universities.

Canada and Ukraine have signed a Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement in 1995, a Convention for the Avoidance of Double Taxation in 1996 and an Air Transport Agreement in 1999, amended in 2014. Canada and Ukraine are currently negotiating a Free Trade Agreement (FTA). 

January 2015

*If you require a plug-in or third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.


Date Modified:

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

ukraine.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Relations bilatérales

Relations Canada-Ukraine

Aperçu

Le 2 décembre 1991, le Canada est devenu le premier pays occidental à reconnaître l’indépendance de l’Ukraine. Des relations diplomatiques ont été rapidement établies par la suite, le 27 janvier 1992. Ces relations, qui se sont consolidées grâce à une importante communauté de 1,2 million de Canadiens d’origine ukrainienne, ont pris de l’ampleur et englobent maintenant les domaines du commerce, de la politique et de la sécurité.

Le Canada et l’Ukraine entretiennent des relations bilatérales étroites. Tissés au fil de nombreuses générations d’immigrants ukrainiens au Canada, les liens d’amitié entre les deux pays sont renforcés par des valeurs partagées et une volonté commune d’établir un partenariat solide, équilibré et mutuellement avantageux, adapté aux réalités du XXIe siècle. La déclaration de 1994 sur le « partenariat spécial », qui a été renouvelée en 2001, puis en 2008, reconnaît le soutien du Canada au développement de l’Ukraine ainsi que l’importance de la coopération bilatérale entre les deux pays comme moyen d’assurer la stabilité et la prospérité dans le monde. Les Ukrainiens sont encore nombreux à voyager et à immigrer au Canada, ce qui a pour effet de resserrer davantage les liens familiaux, sociaux et culturels qui existent entre les populations des deux pays.

Le Canada et l’Ukraine collaborent au sein de plusieurs organisations internationales, y compris les Nations Unies (ONU), l’Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe (OSCE) et la Francophonie.

L’ambassade du Canada à Kiev est au cœur de notre engagement en Ukraine. Le consulat du Canada à Lviv fournit de précieux services aux citoyens de l’ouest de l’Ukraine. Cette dernière est représentée au Canada par une ambassade à Ottawa. L’Ukraine compte également un consulat général à Toronto et un consulat honoraire à Vancouver.

Réponse du Canada à la crise en Ukraine

Depuis le début de la crise en Ukraine en novembre 2013, le Canada joue un rôle de premier plan au regard du soutien offert par la communauté internationale aux citoyens ukrainiens; d’abord en les appuyant dans leur lutte en faveur de la démocratie et des réformes pendant le régime Ianoukovitch, puis dans leurs efforts pour résister contre l’agression militaire de la Russie, notamment l’occupation illégale par cette dernière de la péninsule de Crimée. 

Le Canada a imposé des sanctions visant plus de 210 personnes et entités russes et ukrainiennes et a envoyé plus de 500 observateurs en Ukraine pour y surveiller les élections présidentielles de mai, et les élections parlementaires d’octobre. En outre, le premier ministre Stephen Harper a annoncé une aide de plus de 220 millions de dollars pour aider l’Ukraine à stabiliser son économie et à promouvoir son développement économique.

Parmi d’autres contributions, notons le nouveau programme d’aide à l’Ukraine dans le cadre du Fonds pour la paix et la sécurité mondiales (FPSM) visant à fournir aux services de sécurité ukrainiens pour 15 millions de dollars en matériel et en équipement non létaux, notamment de l’équipement d’hiver, un hôpital mobile d’intervention, des gilets de protection, des trousses de premiers soins, des tentes et des sacs de couchage. Plus récemment, le Canada a annoncé une contribution de trois millions de dollars à trois centres d’excellence de l’OTAN spécialisés dans la sécurité informatique, la sécurité énergétique et les communications stratégiques. 


 

Aide humanitaire et aide au développement du Canada

L’Ukraine figure parmi les 25 pays ciblés par l’aide au développement du Canada. Depuis son indépendance en 1991, elle a reçu plus de 493 millions de dollars au titre de l’aide au développement du Canada. Pendant et après la « Révolution de la dignité » de l’Ukraine, le Canada a fourni et augmenté considérablement son soutien à ce pays dans les domaines de la promotion de la démocratie et de la croissance économique durable.

L’objectif de l’aide bilatérale au développement en Ukraine est d’accroître les débouchés économiques pour les Ukrainiens dans le cadre d’une démocratie renforcée. Le Canada collabore avec le gouvernement de l’Ukraine et d’autres partenaires en matière de développement en vue de mettre en œuvre rapidement les réformes nécessaires à la réalisation du plein potentiel économique du pays et d’instaurer un cadre public, institutionnel et juridique propice à une meilleure intégration à l’Europe.

Le Canada est un partenaire important de l’Ukraine dans les domaines suivants : démocratie et gouvernance; macroéconomie et gestion du secteur financier; développement de la société civile; prévention de la traite des personnes; réforme juridique et judiciaire; agriculture; décentralisation et développement économique local; développement des PME; liberté des médias; promotion et protection des droits de la personne, y compris la liberté de religion. En plus d’avoir contribué à plusieurs missions d’observation électorale bilatérales et multilatérales, le Canada a toujours appuyé le renforcement des capacités du système électoral en Ukraine.

Le Canada aide également des organisations humanitaires canadiennes et internationales à répondre aux besoins humanitaires découlant du conflit dans l’est de l’Ukraine. 

Visites de haut niveau et accords bilatéraux

Des réunions de haut niveau entre le Canada et l’Ukraine sont tenues régulièrement. En février 2014, le ministre des Affaires étrangères John Baird a été le premier représentant d’un pays occidental à se rendre à Kiev et à saluer le nouveau gouvernement du premier ministre Arseni Iatseniouk. En juillet 2014, le ministre du Commerce international Ed Fast a dirigé une mission en Ukraine axée sur la paix et la prospérité.

Le 22 mars 2014, le premier ministre Stephen Harper a été le premier dirigeant du G-7 à se rendre en Ukraine depuis l’annexion de la Crimée par la Russie. Le 7 juin 2014, le premier ministre Harper s’est rendu à Kiev pour assister à la cérémonie d’assermentation de M. Petro Poroshenko à titre de nouveau président de l’Ukraine. Plus récemment, le 17 septembre 2014, le président Poroshenko a effectué une visite à Ottawa, où il a discuté de développement social et économique avec le premier ministre Harper. 

Les deux pays ont conclu divers accords et protocoles d’entente portant sur différents domaines, notamment le commerce, la coopération technique, la défense et l’entraide juridique.

Coopération dans les domaines militaire et de la défense

L’Ukraine est une priorité absolue dans la région en ce qui concerne le Programme d’instruction et de coopération militaires (PICM). Le Canada appuie le Groupe de travail conjoint OTAN‑Ukraine en fournissant de la formation linguistique, de l’instruction d’officiers et de la formation sur le maintien de la paix au personnel militaire et civil de l’Ukraine. Étant donné l’engagement soutenu du Canada à l’égard de l’Ukraine et de son appui croissant à cette dernière, le PICM a élargi son offre des cours visant ce pays en 2014 et 2015. À l’heure actuelle, l’Ukraine est le principal participant au PICM du Canada.

Par l’intermédiaire du Partenariat mondial contre la prolifération des armes de destruction massive et des matières connexes, une initiative dirigée par le G8, le Canada et l’Ukraine coopèrent dans le cadre de projets visant les domaines de la sécurité et de la sûreté nucléaires (y compris le Fonds pour le sarcophage de Tchernobyl), la réorientation d’anciens scientifiques de l’armement grâce au Centre ukrainien de la science et de la technologie, ainsi que la sécurité frontalière. Entre 2003 et 2012, le Canada a versé à l’Ukraine plus de 57,5 millions de dollars pour son programme de sûreté et sécurité nucléaires et radiologiques, et plus de 20 millions de dollars dans le but de soutenir la réorientation d’anciens scientifiques de l’armement vers des projets pacifiques.

Commerce et investissement

Le Canada et l’Ukraine entretiennent de bonnes relations commerciales. Le Plan d’action sur les marchés mondiaux désigne l’Ukraine comme marché émergent prioritaire présentant des débouchés précis pour les entreprises canadiennes. En 2013, le commerce bilatéral de marchandises entre le Canada et l’Ukraine s’est chiffré à 322,3 millions de dollars, soit une hausse de 2,8 p. 100 par rapport à 2012. Cette même année, les exportations canadiennes de marchandises vers l’Ukraine se sont élevées à 210,1 millions de dollars, une progression de 41,1 p. 100 comparativement à 2012. Parmi les principaux produits exportés, notons les combustibles minéraux et les hydrocarbures, les poissons et les fruits de mer, les produits pharmaceutiques, la viande et les machines. Par ailleurs, les importations canadiennes en provenance de l’Ukraine se sont établies à 112,2 millions de dollars en 2013, et ont été constituées principalement de combustibles minéraux et hydrocarbures, de produits du fer et de l’acier, de l’engrais et de vêtements tissés.

Les relations commerciales bilatérales sont certes positives entre le Canada et l’Ukraine, et renferment encore un large potentiel d’expansion. L’Ukraine demeure un marché prometteur pour les produits agroalimentaires, en particulier le poisson et les fruits de mer. Étant donné l’importance des gisements de pétrole et de gaz non conventionnels en Ukraine, les secteurs connexes suscitent un intérêt grandissant. En outre, les étudiants ukrainiens continuent d’affluer au Canada afin de poursuivre leurs études dans des universités canadiennes.

Le Canada et l’Ukraine ont signé un accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers en 1995, une convention en matière de double imposition en 1996, et un accord sur le transport aérien en 1999, lequel a été modifié en 2014. Les deux pays mènent actuellement des négociations en vue de conclure un accord de libre-échange (ALE).

Janvier 2015


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2015-01-05