Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

ukraine.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. For Canadians
  4. >
  5. Living / Travelling in Ukraine

Legal & Notarial Services

  • Canadian consular officials abroad have authority under the Canada Evidence Act to perform a variety of legal and notary services. A fee is charged for the services provided. For more information, consult the Consular Fees section.

Legal Services

The Embassy cannot provide legal advice, intervene in private legal matters, post bail, pay fines or legal fees. If you have been arrested or detained, please see Arrest/Detention.

Notarial Services

Notarial Services such as consular declarations, oaths, affirmations, affidavits, statutory declarations and authentications of signatures on documents are provided by the consular section for a fee of CAD $50 per notarization. Please call the consular section of the Embassy to make an appointment and confirm fees. Hours of operation are from 09:00 to 12:00, Monday to Thursday.
Reasons for having a document notarized include:

  • Marriage in Ukraine
  • Birth Certificates for newborn Canadian children
  • Drivers’ Licence or Vehicle Registration (statement of residence in Ukraine)
  • Work Permit (General declaration)
  • Passport (Statement of Identification)
  • Permanent Residence Permit

In order to have the legal force on the territory of Ukraine, all the documents issued in Canada such as Marriage/Divorce/Birth/Death Certificates, Affidavits, Statutory Declarations  must be proceeded through the following legalization procedure:

  • The signatures of the Canadian Notary, Court Clerks, Vital Statistics Office representatives must be authenticated by the Lieutenant-Governor of the Province in which the Notary/Court Clerk/ Vital Statistics Office representative is commissioned (requests for such authentications are usually channelled through the Deputy Provincial Secretary of that province or, for Quebec, by the Secretary of the Board of Notaries in Montreal);

or

by the Department of Foreign Affairs of Canada in Ottawa, Authentication and Service of Documents Section, Tel. 613-995-0119.

  • Then, the second step is to legalize the documents at the Ukrainian Embassy in Ottawa/Ukrainian Consulate in Toronto or the Canadian Embassy in Kyiv, Ukraine.
  • If you choose to proceed with the legalization of your documents at the Canadian Embassy in Kyiv, Ukraine, please be informed that you will have then to go to the Ukrainian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Consular Department, Tel. 044-238-1669, to make the final egalization of your Canadian documents.

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-04-06

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

ukraine.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Pour les Canadiens
  4. >
  5. Faire des affaires avec l'Ukraine

Services juridiques et notariaux

En vertu de la Loi sur la preuve au Canada, les agents consulaires canadiens à l’étranger sont habilités à offrir un large éventail de services juridiques et notariaux. Des frais sont exigés pour les services fournis, à partir de 50 $CAD par acte. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter la section Droits consulaires.

Services juridiques

L’ambassade n’offre aucun service juridique. Les agents consulaires ne peuvent pas donner des conseils juridiques, ni intervenir dans des affaires juridiques privées, ni verser un cautionnement, payer une amende ou des frais juridiques. Si vous avez été arrêté ou emprisonné, veuillez voir la section Arrestation et détention.

Services notariaux

La Section consulaire fournit des services notariaux tels que déclarations consulaires, serments, affirmations, affidavits, déclarations solennelles et authentifications de signature sur document à raison de 50$ l’acte. Veuillez téléphoner à la Section consulaire de l’ambassade pour prendre rendez-vous et vous faire confirmer le tarif. Heures d’ouverture  :  du lundi au jeudi de 9 h à 12h.
Vous pouvez avoir besoin de documents notariés pour diverses raisons  :

  • Mariage en Ukraine
  • Certificat de naissance pour un nouveau-né canadien
  • Permis de conduire ou immatriculation de véhicule (déclaration de résidence en Ukraine)
  • Permis de travail (déclaration générale)
  • Passeport (déclaration d’identité)
  • Résidence permanente (déclaration de pension)

Pour avoir une valeur juridique sur le territoire ukrainien tout document émis au Canada tels que les certificats de mariage, de divorce, de naissance et de décès, les affidavits et les déclarations solennelles doivent suivre le processus de légalisation suivant:

Les signatures de notaires, greffiers du tribunal et représentants du bureau de l’état civil doivent être authentifiées par le lieutenant-gouverneur de la province dans laquelle le notaire, greffier du tribunal ou représentants du bureau de l’état civil est mandaté (de telles demandes d’authentification sont généralement acheminées au Secrétaire provincial adjoint de la province ou, pour le Québec, au Secrétaire du Bureau de notaire à Montréal);

ou

Par le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et Commerce international à Ottawa.
Section de l’authentification et de la signification de documents (JLAC)
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2
Canada
Tél. :  613-995-0119

  • La seconde étape consiste à légaliser les documents à l’ambassade d’Ukraine à Ottawa, au Consulat d’Ukraine à Toronto ou à l’ambassade du Canada à Kyiv, en Ukraine.
  • Si vous choisissez de faire légaliser vos documents à l’ambassade du Canada à Kyiv, en Ukraine, vous devrez ensuite vous rendre au Ministère des Affaires étrangères d’Ukraine (Disponible en Ukraine seulement) (tél  :  044-238-1669), au département consulaire, pour finaliser la légalisation de vos documents canadiens.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-04-06