Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

UnitedKingdom.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Authentication of Documents

Canada does not issue apostilles.

In order to authenticate a Canadian document for use abroad, the original document should be sent to Global Affairs Canada’s Authentication and Service of Documents Section. That office can authenticate the signature on certain documents and if necessary forward the document to the Ottawa-based embassy of the receiving country so that they can in turn authenticate the signature of Global Affairs Canada.  For further information please see the website of the Authentication and Service of Documents Section in Ottawa.

If you live abroad you can hire an authentication and legalization service or process server in the Ottawa-Gatineau area to take your documents to the office in person. These organisations can be found on the internet.
 
Foreign countries will sometimes accept a Canadian document which has been authenticated, not by the official route above, but by a Canadian High Commission or Embassy. You should check with the foreign authority to ask if this is acceptable.

We are able to authenticate signatures of officers of the Legalisation Office of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office, but please note that the UK Foreign and Commonwealth Office do not authenticate signatures of foreign embassy officials within the UK.

Please see the additional information provided under our Notarial services page.

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-07-08

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Royaume-Uni.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Pour les Canadiens
  4. >
  5. Passeport et services consulaires

Authentification de documents

Le Canada n’émet pas d’apostilles.

Pour authentifier un document canadien destiné à être utilisé à l’étranger, le document original doit être envoyé à la section de l’authentification des documents du Ministère des Affaires Mondiales Canada. Ce bureau peut authentifier la signature sur certains documents et si nécessaire, peut les faire suivre à l’ambassade concernée basée à Ottawa pour qu’elle puisse à son tour authentifier la signature d’Affaires Mondiales Canada. Pour plus d’information veuillez consulter le site internet de la section de l’authentification de documents à Ottawa.

Si vous vivez à l’étranger, vous pouvez faire appel à un service d’authentification et de légalisation ou à un serveur de processus dans la région d’Ottawa-Gatineau pour amener vos documents en personne au bureau.
Les pays étrangers accepteront parfois un document canadien qui a été authentifié, non pas par la méthode officielle mentionnée ci-dessus, mais par le Haut-commissariat ou l’ambassade du Canada. Nous vous conseillons de vérifier avec l’autorité étrangère si cela est acceptable. 

Nous pouvons authentifier la signature des officiers du bureau de la légalisation du Foreign and Commonwealth office, mais veuillez noter que le Foreign and Commonwealth office du Royaume-Uni n’authentifie pas la signature des officiers des ambassades au Royaume-Uni.

Veuillez consulter les informations supplémentaires fournies sur la page Services notariaux.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-07-08