Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

UnitedKingdom.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. For Canadians
  4. >
  5. Emergency Services

Death / Repatriation of a body or ashes

General information

Canadians travelling or residing abroad may die as a result of natural causes, accidents, murder or suicide. On www.travel.gc.ca you will find very helpful information to assist you at this difficult time. You can also Contact us for passport and consular services in London. We are available to assist families and friends.

The cause of death determines some of the actions that need to be taken. If Canadian consular officials are notified of the death first, they will make arrangements through the RCMP to have the appropriate Canadian police service make personal contact with the next of kin and put the family in touch with consular officials in Ottawa. The family will then need to make an early decision on whether they wish the remains to be returned to Canada, or buried or cremated in the other country.

We recommend you read the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) Importation and exportation of human remains and other human tissues * (PDF version, 102 KB) document which explains the rules and processes for returning remains to Canada.

Repatriation of ashes

  • Passengers should carry cremated remains in their hand luggage and be ready to present the death certificate, cremation certificate and the funeral director's or crematorium sealing certificate stating that the urn contains only the ashes of the deceased.
  • Please check with your airline to ensure this conforms to their regulations.

Repatriation of a body

The repatriation of a deceased person is organised by a funeral director. Please find here a list of funeral directors in the UK: Directory of UK Funeral Directors & Undertakers. It will be necessary to engage the services of a Canadian funeral director to receive the deceased in Canada. Here is a list of funeral directors in Canada: Canadian Funeral Guide and Directory of providers.

Although the High Commission does not recommend any particular funeral director, we are aware that the following funeral directors are experienced in the repatriation of deceased persons to their country of origin:

Albin International Repatriation
83 Westbourne Grove
London, W2 4UL
Tel: 020 7313 6920

Holmes & Sons
92 Whitton Road
Hounslow, TW3 2DQ
Tel: 020 8572 3277

Homeland International
111-113 Friary Road
London
SE15 1PY
Holmes & Sons
92 Whitton Road
Hounslow, TW3 2DQ
Tel: 020 8572 3277

Mears Repatriation
UK Operations Centre
Unit 14
Concorde Business Centre
Wireless Road
Biggin Hill Airport
London
TN16 3YN
Tel: 020 3455 0305

Rowland Brothers International
301/5 Whitehorse Road
West Croydon, CR0 2HR
Tel: 020 8684 1667 / 2324


* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-10-18

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Royaume-Uni.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Pour les Canadiens
  4. >
  5. Services d’urgence

Décès / Rapatriement d’une dépouille ou des cendres

Information générale

Les Canadiens qui travaillent ou résident à l'étranger peuvent décéder de causes naturelles, ou à la suite d'un accident, d'un meurtre ou d'un suicide. Sur le site www.voyage.gc.ca, vous trouverez des informations très utiles qui vous aideront dans ce moment difficile. Vous pouvez aussi nous contacter pour des services consulaires et de passeports. Nous disponibles pour assister les familles et les amis.

La cause du décès détermine certaines actions à prendre. Si les agents consulaires canadiens sont informés du décès, ils prendront les dispositions avec la GRC pour qu'un service de police entre en contact avec le plus proche parent et établisse le lien avec les agents consulaires à Ottawa. La famille devra ensuite décider si elle souhaite que la dépouille soit rapatriée au Canada ou inhumée ou incinérée dans l'autre pays.

Nous vous conseillons de lire de le Importation et exportation de restes humains et d'autres tissus humains * (Version PDF 111 KB) document de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) qui explique les règles et procédures concernant le rapatriement des restes humains au Canada.

Rapatriement de cendres

  • Les passagers doivent empaqueter les restes incinérés dans leurs bagages à main et être prêt à présenter le certificat de décès, certificat de crémation et le certificat du directeur des funérailles ou un certificat de scellement du crématoire attestant que l'urne ne contient que les cendres du défunt.
  • Veuillez s’il-vous-plaît confirmer avec votre compagnie aérienne que cela est en accordance avec leur règlementation.

Rapatriement d'une dépouille

Le rapatriement de la dépouille d’une personne décédée se fait par un entrepreneur de pompes funèbres. Voici une liste de pompes funèbres au Royaume-Uni: Directory of UK Funeral Directors & Undertakers (en anglais seulement). Il sera nécessaire de faire appel aux services d’un entrepreneur de pompes funèbres au Canada pour recevoir le défunt au Canada. Voici une liste de pompes funèbres au Canada: Canadian Funeral Guide and Directory of providers (en anglais seulement).

Bien que le Haut-commissariat ne puisse recommander un entrepreneur de pompes funèbres en particulier, nous savons que les entreprises ci-dessous ont de l’expérience en matière de rapatriement d’une dépouille dans son pays d’origine :

Albin International Repatriation (en anglais seulement)
83 Westbourne Grove
London, W2 4UL
Tél. : 020 7313 6920

Holmes & Sons (en anglais seulement)
92 Whitton Road
Hounslow, TW3 2DQ
Tél. : 020 8572 3277

Homeland International (en anglais seulement)
111-113 Friary Road
London
SE15 1PY

Mears Repatriation (en anglais seulement)
UK Operations Centre
Unit 14
Concorde Business Centre
Wireless Road
Biggin Hill Airport
London
TN16 3YN
Tél. : 020 3455 0305

Rowland Brothers International (en anglais seulement)
301/5 Whitehorse Road
West Croydon, CR0 2HR
Tél. : 020 8684 1667 / 2324


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-10-18