Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

UnitedKingdom.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

WW2 memorial to Canadian servicemen

A memorial to mark the sacrifice of five Canadian servicemen who died when their Wellington bomber crashed during a training exercise in 1944 was unveiled on Saturday, May 21. The memorial was placed at Creswell Crags visitor centre in Derbyshire, about 250 kilometres northwest of London, close to the site of the crash.

L-R. The memorial inscribed with the names of the five Canadian aircrew’ High Commissioner James R. Wright laying a wreath at the memorial, accompanied by Canadian Air Force LCol Arthur Agnew’ members of the crew's families stand behind the memorial. Courtesy of David Carpenter
L-R. The memorial inscribed with the names of the five Canadian aircrew; High Commissioner James R. Wright laying a wreath at the memorial, accompanied by Canadian Air Force LCol Arthur Agnew; members of the crew's families stand behind the memorial.

Gerald Plant, now 81 and still living nearby, was just a teenager when he witnessed the crash, but it was image he never forgot. His brother, Arthur Plant, bequeathed funding for the memorial in his will, and Gerald Plant helped bring together 20 of the crew members’ families for the unveiling.

 At the event, High Commissioner James R. Wright remembered the bravery of the five crewmen and paid tribute to the “thousands of other Canadians who answered the call to fight for freedom and for Britain in its hour of need.” 

 "Canada and Britain continue to uphold the values that these young men died for –democracy, freedom and the rule of law," Mr. Wright said. "Canada has stood shoulder to shoulder with our stalwart British ally across the globe -- in Afghanistan as part of the UN-mandated NATO-led International Security Assistance Force, and today, in the skies above Libya.

The memorial ceremony at Creswell Crags. Courtesy of David Carpenter
The memorial ceremony at Creswell Crags.

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2011-05-26

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Royaume-Uni.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Mémorial de la Seconde Guerre mondiale en l'honneur de militaires canadiens

Le mémorial commémorant le sacrifice de cinq militaires canadiens tués quand leur bombardier Wellington s'est écrasé lors d'un exercice militaire en 1944, a été inauguré le samedi 21 mai, près du site de l'accident, au centre des visiteurs de Creswell Crags, Derbyshire, à environ 250 kilomètres au nord-est de Londres.

G-D. Le mémorial, inscrit avec le nom des cinq membres de l'équipage canadien; Le Haut-commissaire James R. Wright dépose une gerbe devant le mémorial, accompagné du Lieutenant-colonel d'aviation, Arthur Agnew, de l'ARC; des membres des familles de l'équipage se tiennent derrière le mémorial. Courtoisie David Carpenter
G-D. Le mémorial, inscrit avec le nom des cinq membres de l'équipage canadien; Le Haut-commissaire James R. Wright dépose une gerbe devant le mémorial, accompagné du Lieutenant-colonel d'aviation, Arthur Agnew, de l'ARC; des membres des familles de l'équipage se tiennent derrière le mémorial.

M. Gerald Plant, agé maintenant de 81 ans et vivant encore dans les environs, n'était qu'un adolescent lorsqu'il il fut témoin de l'accident; une image qu'il n'a jamais oublié. Son frère, M. Arthur Plant, légua de l'argent pour ériger le mémorial dans son testament, et avec l'aide de M. Gerald Plant les familles des membres cet équipage ont pu se rassembler à l'occasion de cette inauguration.

Lors de l'événement, le Haut-commissaire, M. James R. Wright, a commémoré le courage de ces cinq hommes et rendu hommage aux "milliers de Canadiens qui répondent à l'appel au combat pour la liberté et la Grande-Bretagne dans les temps difficiles."

"Le Canada et la Grande-Bretagne soutiennent encore aujourd'hui les valeurs pour lesquelles ces jeunes hommes ont sacrifié leur vie: la démocracie, la liberté et la primauté du droit", a déclaré M. Wright. "Le Canada s'est tenu aux côtés de nos alliés fidèles britanniques dans le monde entier, soit en Afghanistan dans le cadre de la Force internationale d'assistance et de sécurité (FIAS) sous l'égide de l'OTAN, et plus récemment dans le ciel lybien."

La cérémonie commémorative à Creswell Crags. Courtoisie David Carpenter
La cérémonie commémorative à Creswell Crags.

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2011-05-26