Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

UnitedKingdom.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Office
  4. >
  5. Calendar of Events

Canada House presents: Lawrence Paul Yuxweluptun: Time Immemorial (You’re Just Mad Because We Got Here First)

Galerie Canada Gallery

Canada Gallery - How to find us
Canada House, Trafalgar Square, SW1Y 5BJ
Pall Mall Entrance, free admission (security screening in place)

1 December 2017 – 17 February 2018
Monday to Saturday
11:00 a.m. to 5:45 p.m.

The Canada Gallery is proud to host a new exhibition of works by Lawrence Paul Yuxweluptun.

A noted advocate for contemporary Indigenous issues in Canada, Yuxweluptun is of Hul’q’umi’num Coast Salish and Okanagan (Syilx) First Nations descent.

In a year in which Canada has marked 150 years since Confederation with widespread celebration, the High Commission of Canada in the United Kingdom feels it is particularly timely to ask an Indigenous artist to add his voice – and to bring his perspective - to discussions of nationhood. 

A fitting choice, guest curator Victor Wang invited artist Yuxweluptun to take part given that his critical art practice over the past four decades has become a touchstone for Indigenous artists both nationally and internationally. This also marks the first solo exhibition by a First Nations artist to be hosted by Canada House.

One of the stated aims of the Government of Canada in 2017 is a commitment to move towards a new relationship with Canada’s Indigenous people.

A nation-to-nation, government-to-government relationship based on recognition of rights, respect, co-operation, and partnership.  Canada 150 has provided an opportunity to continue the necessary process of truth-telling and healing for Indigenous people, a process that will benefit all Canadians and one that will ensure we leave a legacy for future generations.

Yuxweluptun is clear in his intent as an artist to record history and to provoke discussions that, however challenging and uncomfortable, are utterly necessary. These are the discussions that the High Commission of Canada both welcomes and embraces.

Guardian Spirits on the Land: Ceremony of Sovereignty

Guardian Spirits on the Land: Ceremony of Sovereignty (2000)
Courtesy of the collection of Michael and Inna O’Brian


Canada Gallery - Archive

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2017-11-23

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Royaume-Uni.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux
  4. >
  5. Calendrier des événements

La Maison du Canada présente  Lawrence Paul Yuxweluptun : Temps immémoriaux (You’re Just Mad Because We Got Here First)

Galerie Canada Gallery

Galerie CanadaComment nous trouver
La Maison du Canada, Trafalgar Square, SW1Y 5BJ
Entrée Pall Mall, entrée gratuite (contrôles de sécurité en place)

1 décembre 2017 – 17 février 2018
Du lundi au dimanche de 11h00 à 17h45

La Galerie Canada est fière d’accueillir cette exposition des œuvres de Lawrence Paul Yuxweluptun.

Un éminent défenseur des questions autochtones contemporaines au Canada, Yuxweluptun  est descendant des Premières Nations Hul’q’umi’num des Salish du littoral et de l'Okanagan (Syilx).

Alors que de nombreuses festivités marquent cette année les 150 ans de la Confédération canadienne, le Haut-commissariat du Canada au Royaume-Uni estime qu’il est particulièrement opportun de demander à un artiste autochtone d’ajouter sa voix – et d’apporter son point de vue - aux discussions sur le concept de nation.

Le conservateur invité Victor Wang a fait le choix judicieux d'inviter l'artiste Yuxweluptun, sa pratique artistique critique faisant figure de référence parmi les artistes autochtones, depuis les quatre dernières décennies, aussi bien au niveau national qu'international. Il s'agit également de la première exposition solo d’un artiste des Premières Nations à la Maison du Canada.

L'un des objectifs déclarés du gouvernement du Canada en 2017 est un engagement à faire évoluer ses relations avec les populations autochtones du Canada.

Il souhaite passer à une relation de nation à nation, de gouvernement à gouvernement fondée sur la reconnaissance des droits, le respect, la coopération et le partenariat. Le Cent Cinquantenaire du Canada a été l'occasion de poursuivre le processus nécessaire d'expression de la vérité et de guérison pour le peuple autochtone, un processus qui profitera à tous les Canadiens et que nous laisserons en legs aux générations futures.

En tant qu'artiste, Yuxweluptun ne cache pas son intention de conserver une trace de l'histoire et de provoquer des discussions qui, bien que difficiles et désagréables, n'en restent pas moins absolument nécessaires. Ce sont des discussions auxquelles le Haut-commissariat du Canada se rallie et adhère.

Guardian Spirits on the Land: Ceremony of Sovereignty

Guardian Spirits on the Land: Ceremony of Sovereignty (2000),
courtesy of the collection of Michael and Inna O’Brian


Galerie Canada – Archives

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2017-11-23