Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

UnitedKingdom.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Office
  4. >
  5. Calendar of Events

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Canada House presents: Andrew Salgado: TEN

Galerie Canada Gallery

Canada Gallery - How to find us
Canada House, Trafalgar Square, SW1Y 5BJ
Pall Mall Entrance, free admission (security screening in place)

13 January – 28 February 2017
Monday to Sunday
11:00 a.m. to 5:45 p.m.

20 Years by Andrew SalgadoThe Canada Gallery is delighted to present Andrew Salgado: TEN - a new exhibition celebrating the work of one of Canada’s most promising young artists.
Andrew’s bold, large scale figurative paintings have garnered him a reputation as “one to watch” by influential art critics in both the United Kingdom and North America.
His work defies categorization, deftly weaving between figuration and abstraction with bold, gestural brushwork and obsessive mark-making, incorporating collage, mixed-media, and, in his most recent works, hand-stitched canvases.

This exhibition, TEN, celebrates the artist's career thus far, exhibiting a modest selection of his work from 2006-2016 and is curated by David Liss of the Museum of Contemporary Art in Toronto.

It coincides with the publication of Andrew’s first monograph, TEN, and is presented at Canada House by his lead-representing gallery, Beers London.

Both the book and exhibition aim to represent some of the thoughts, ideas, and emotions of the artist ‘coming-of-age’, growing up in an at times hostile world – to show how he has not only matured and evolved as an artist, but also as a person.

Andrew Salgado and Beers London would like to thank all who graciously loaned their works from private collections around the world for this exhibition.

The Canada Gallery's ongoing programme is generously supported by the Dahdaleh Foundation, chaired by Victor Phillip Dahdaleh.

Image: 20 Years (2014), oil on canvas with spray, mixed media and collage

About the Artist

Born in the western prairie province of Saskatchewan in 1982, Andrew Salgado received a Bachelor degree at the University of British Columbia (2005) and a Masters degree at Chelsea College of Art (2009). He has exhibited around the world, including the United Kingdom, Germany, Scandinavia, Australia, Korea, South Africa and the USA.  In the autumn of 2013 he presented his first museum-based exhibition titled The Acquaintance, at the Art Gallery of Regina, Canada.   Salgado has lived and worked in London, UK since 2008.

About the Curator

David Liss served as Director and curator of the Museum of Contemporary Canadian Art until 2015 and is currently Curator Advisor of the Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA), Toronto.  David is a contributing editor to Canadian Art magazine and Adjunct Professor at York University in Toronto. He is also a practicing artist in drawing, watercolor and photography. 


Canada Gallery - Archive

Footer

Date Modified:
2017-02-07

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Royaume-Uni.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux
  4. >
  5. Calendrier des événements

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

La Maison du Canada présente Andrew Salgado : TEN

Galerie Canada Gallery

Galerie CanadaComment nous trouver
La Maison du Canada, Trafalgar Square, SW1Y 5BJ
Entrée Pall Mall, entrée gratuite (contrôles de sécurité en place)

13 janvier – 28 février 2017
 Du lundi au dimanche de 11h00 à 17h45

20 Years / Andrew SalgadoLa Galerie Canada est ravie de présenter Andrew Salgado : TEN, une nouvelle exposition célébrant l’œuvre de l’un des jeunes artistes les plus prometteurs du Canada.

Ses grands tableaux figuratifs et audacieux lui ont valu la réputation de « valeur montante » par d’influents critiques d’art au Royaume-Uni comme en Amérique du Nord.

Son œuvre fait fi des catégorisations et mêle habilement les genres de la figuration et de l’abstraction avec des traits de pinceaux audacieux et magistraux et un marquage obsessif, intégrant la technique du collage, des supports mixtes et dans ses œuvres les plus récentes, des toiles cousues à la main.

TEN est une exposition organisée par David Liss du musée d’art contemporain de Toronto, qui célèbre la carrière de l’artiste jusqu’à ce jour et présente une petite sélection de son œuvre de 2006 à 2016.

Elle coïncide avec la publication de la première monographie d’Andrew, TEN, et est présentée à la Maison du Canada par Beers London, la galerie principale où il expose ses œuvres.

Le livre et l’exposition visent tous deux à représenter quelques-unes des réflexions, idées et émotions d’un artiste parvenu à maturité, qui a grandi dans un monde parfois hostile et cherche à démontrer non seulement comment il a mûri et évolué en tant qu’artiste, mais aussi en tant qu’individu.

Andrew Salgado et Beers London tiennent à remercier tous ceux qui ont gracieusement prêté leurs œuvres, provenant de collections privées du monde entier, pour cette exposition.

Le programme permanent de la Galerie du Canada est généreusement financé par la Fondation Dahdaleh, présidée par Victor Phillip Dahdaleh.

Image : 20 Years (2014), huile sur toile avec aérosol, matériaux mixtes et collage

À propos de l’artiste

Né en 1982 dans la province des Prairies de la Saskatchewan, Andrew Salgado est titulaire d’une licence de l’Université de Colombie-Britannique (2005) et d’un Master du Chelsea College of Art (2009). Il a exposé dans le monde entier, notamment au Royaume-Uni, en Allemagne, en Scandinavie, en Australie, en Corée, en Afrique du Sud et aux États-Unis. À l’automne 2013, il a présenté sa première exposition en musée, intitulée The Acquaintance, à la galerie Art Gallery of Regina, au Canada. Salgado vit et travaille à Londres depuis 2008.

À propos du conservateur

David Liss a occupé les fonctions de directeur et de conservateur du musée d’art contemporain canadien jusqu’en 2015 et est actuellement conservateur conseiller du musée d’art contemporain (MOCA) de Toronto. David a collaboré également à la rédaction du Canadian Art magazine et est professeur adjoint à York University à Toronto. Il est aussi artiste et travaille dans les domaines du dessin, de l’aquarelle et de la photographie.


Galerie Canada – Archives

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2017-02-07