Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada


  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Office
  4. >
  5. Calendar of Events

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Edward Burtynsky

Canada House Gallery

January / February 2014
Opening Hours:
Weekdays 11 – 5:45 p.m.
Free admission

  • On February 11th, we will keep the doors open until 8 p.m. 

The predominant theme of Edward Burtynsky’s work is ‘nature transformed through industry’. His photographs search for a dialogue between attraction and repulsion, seduction and fear and are meant as metaphors to the dilemma of our modern existence.  Burtynsky’s work does not seek to impose any political views or perceptions onto the viewer.  As he has stated, his photographs “are what they are”. For him, the onlooker undergoes a “duality” in the viewing process, a “duality” that consists of the aesthetic interpretation, characterized by rich colour and a lot of detail on one hand, and the confrontation with the devastation and destructed nature that is shown, on the other hand.

Markarfljót RiverBurtynsky (1955) started his career capturing Canada’s unspoiled landscapes before turning his focus from the world we were losing, to the world we were to inherit. Reflecting on his personal experience working in the automobile and mining industries, he slowly began exploring human invasions into land. His series, titled ‘Manufactured Landscapes (2003) ‘Before the Flood’ (2003), ‘China’ (2005),  ‘Oil’ (2009) and his most recent project ‘Water’ (2013) all follow the same format, giving an encyclopaedic exploration of a broad theme through a series of connected chapters and locations.

In 2006, Burtysnky was named an Officer of the Order of Canada. A winner of numerous international prizes and awards for his body of work, Burtynsky’s film ‘Watermark’ (2013) was most recently awarded with the coveted Toronto Film Critics Association Top Prize. His work can be found in the collections of over fifty museums worldwide, including the Museum of Modern Art and Guggenheim in New York, the Tate Modern in London, Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía in Madrid and the National Gallery of Canada.

Markarfljót River #1, Iceland, 2013
© Edward Burtynsky, Courtesy Flowers Gallery, London / Nicholas Metivier Gallery, Toronto


Date Modified:

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Royaume-Uni.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux
  4. >
  5. Calendrier des événements

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Edward Burtynsky

Galerie de la Maison du Canada

janvier / février, 2014
Ouverture en :
Semaine de 11 h à 17 h 45
Entrée libre

  • Joignez-vous à nous pour cet événement en soirée et une réception le 11 février de 18h à 20h

Le thème qui prédomine dans l’œuvre d’Edward Burtynsky est « la nature transformée à travers l’industrie ». Ses photographies cherchent un dialogue entre l’attraction et la répulsion, où la séduction et la peur sont conçues comme métaphores du dilemme de notre existence moderne.

La rivière MarkarfljótLes travaux artistiques de Burtynsky ne visent pas à imposer aucune opinion ou perception politiques sur les spectateurs. Comme il a bien dit, ses photographies « sont tout simplement ce qu’elles sont ». À son avis, le spectateur expérimente une « dualité » durant le processus de visionnage et cette « dualité » comprend l’interprétation esthétique caractérisée, d’un côté par de riches couleurs et une importante quantité de détails et de l’autre côté, par la confrontation avec la dévastation d’une nature qui se montre détruite.

Burtynsky (1955) a commencé sa carrière tout en capturant les paysages intouchés du Canada avant de virer son attention du monde que nous étions en train de perdre vers le monde que nous hériterions. En faisant une réflexion sur son expérience personnelle de travail dans le domaine des industries automobiliste et minière, il a commencé lentement à faire une analyse des invasions humaines dans les terres de notre monde. Ses séries intitulée « Des paysages manufacturés » (2003), « Avant les inondations » (2003), « La Chine » (2005), « Du pétrole » (2009) et son projet le plus récent « De l’eau » (2013) conforment toutes la même structure : offrir une exploration minutieuse et approfondie d’un thème si vaste à travers une série de lieux et d’épisodes qui se connectent les uns avec les autres.

En 2006, Burtynsky a reçu l’Ordre du Canada et il a également gagné plusieurs prix internationaux grâce à toute son œuvre. Son film Watermark (2013) a récemment gagné le très convoité Prix de l’Association de critiques de films de Toronto. Ses travaux font partie intégrante des collections de plus d’une cinquantaine de musées dans le monde entier, y compris Le Musée d’art moderne Guggenheim à New York, La Tate Modern à Londres, Le Musée national centre d’art reine Sofía à Madrid, et la Galerie Nationale du Canada.             

La rivière Markarfljót n° 1, l'Islande 2013
© Edward Burtynsky, courtoisie Galerie Flowers, Londres / Galerie Nicholas Metivier, Toronto

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2014-02-06