Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

UnitedKingdom.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Office
  4. >
  5. Calendar of Events

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Canada House welcomes Ian Wallace

Galerie Canada GalleryIan Wallace: Tabula Rasa

Canada Gallery - How to find us

May 29 to July 25, 2015
Monday to Saturday
11:00 a.m. to 5:45 p.m.
Free admission

London, United Kingdom - The Canada Gallery is pleased to announce that it will host a new exhibit by artist Ian Wallace.

Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa, Baden-Baden VIBritish-born and Vancouver-based, Ian Wallace has been an influential figure in contemporary art in Canada and abroad for the last five decades. He is recognized for the leading role he has played in the development of an internationally renowned photographic and conceptual art practice in Vancouver since the 1960s.

The exhibition in Canada Gallery, entitled, Tabula Rasa, is curated by Kathleen Ritter and brings together nine highly representative works made over the course of Wallace’s career.

The Canada Gallery’s ongoing program is generously supported by our Principal Sponsor - Dahdaleh Foundation, chaired by Victor Phillip Dahdaleh.

This exhibit is also supported by Ian Wallace’s gallery, Hauser & Wirth.

The selected pictures specifically document the surface of the table, showing the studio as the site of intellectual research and material production, and revealing Wallace’s consistent engagement with the surface of the picture.  The group also shows that Wallace’s multi-faceted approach to art –as an art historian, a critic and an educator– has been inseparable from his art practice.

Background

The Canada Gallery, located in the Canadian High Commission to the United Kingdom, offers an ongoing program that brings the work of Canadian artists to the heart of London.

Ian Wallace was born in 1943 in Shoreham, England, and lives and works in Vancouver, British Columbia. He received an MA in Art History from The University of British Columbia in 1968. Wallace has exhibited internationally and his work can be found in many prominent public collections including MOCA (Los Angeles), Reina Sophia (Madrid), National Gallery of Canada (Ottawa), and the Centre Pompidou (Paris). In 2012, the Vancouver Art Gallery held a major retrospective of his work. Wallace received a Governor General’s Award in Visual and Media Arts, Canada Council for the Arts, in 2004. He was named an Officer of the Order of Canada in December 2012. In 2014 Wallace was awarded the Chevalier de L’ordre des Arts et des Lettres by the French Ministry of Culture. Wallace is represented by Hauser & Wirth, London, Zurich and New York; Catriona Jeffries Gallery, Vancouver; Galerie Greta Meert, Brussels; and Jessica Silverman Gallery, San Francisco.

The Dahdaleh Foundation is part of the Victor Phillip Dahdaleh Charitable Trust. Its charitable activities are mainly focused in three areas: improving access to education for those in need of support; secondly, improving health and wellness for those in need of support and; thirdly, improving the relationships and understanding between Canada and the UK.

Media inquiries

Canadian High Commission
Caroline Mallan
Caroline.mallan@international.gc.ca
+44 (0)207 004 6168

Hauser & Wirth
Amelia Redgrift
Head of Press & Media
+44(0)207 255 8247
M: +44(0)790 171 0312
www.hauserwirth.info

Dahdaleh Foundation
Matthew Moth, Madano
matthew.moth@madano.com
020 7593 4000

Footer

Date Modified:
2015-05-27

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Royaume-Uni.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux
  4. >
  5. Calendrier des événements

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

La Maison du Canada accueille Ian Wallace

Galerie Canada GalleryIan Wallace: Tabula Rasa

Galerie Canada - Comment nous trouver

Mai 29 au juin 25, 2015
Du lundi au samedi
11 h à 17 h 45
Entrée libre

Londres, Royaume-Uni – La Galerie du Canada est heureuse d’annoncer la tenue d’une nouvelle exposition de l’artiste Ian Wallace.

Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa, Baden-Baden VINé en Angleterre et établi à Vancouver, Ian Wallace a exercé une grande influence dans le milieu de l’art contemporain au Canada et à l’étranger durant cinq décennies. Il est connu pour avoir joué un rôle de premier plan dans le développement d’une pratique artistique photographique et conceptuelle à Vancouver, et ce, depuis les années 1960.

L’exposition de la Galerie du Canada, intitulée Tabula Rasa, est organisée et préparée par Kathleen Ritter et elle rassemble neuf œuvres très représentatives de la carrière artistique de Wallace.

Le programme permanent de la Galerie du Canada est généreusement appuyé par notre commanditaire principal, la fondation Dahdeleh, présidée par Victor Phillip Dahdaleh.

Cette exposition reçoit aussi l’appui de la galerie d’Ian Wallace, Hauser & Wirth.

Les œuvres choisies dépeignent en particulier la surface de la table, montrant le studio de l’artiste comme un lieu de recherche intellectuelle et de production concrète, et révélant le lien permanent entre Wallace et la surface du tableau. Cet ensemble illustre aussi que l’approche à multiples facettes de l’artiste, en tant qu’historien de l’art, critique et enseignant, est inséparable de sa pratique artistique.

Renseignements

La Galerie du Canada, située dans l’édifice du Haut-commissariat du Canada au Royaume-Uni, administre un programme permanent qui vise à présenter le travail des artistes canadiens au cœur de Londres.

Ian Wallace est né en 1943 à Shoreham, en Angleterre, et a vécu et travaillé à Vancouver, en Colombie Britannique. Il a obtenu une maîtrise en Histoire de l’art de l’Université de Colombie Britannique en 1968. Wallace a exposé à l’échelle internationale et son œuvre fait partie de plusieurs collections publiques importantes, dont celles du MOCA (Los Angeles), du Reina Sophia (Madrid), du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada (Ottawa) et du Centre Pompidou (Paris). En 2012, la Vancouver Art Gallery a organisé une importante rétrospective de son œuvre. Wallace a reçu en 2004 le Prix du Gouverneur général en arts visuels et en arts médiatiques attribué par le Conseil des arts du Canada. En 2012, il a été fait officier de l’Ordre du Canada. Et en 2014, il a été fait chevalier de l’ordre des Arts et des Lettres par le ministre français de la Culture. Wallace est représenté par Hauser & Wirth à Londres, Zurich et New York; Catriona Jeffries Gallery à Vancouver; Galerie Greta Meert à Bruxelles; et Jessica Silverman Gallery à San Francisco.

La fondation Dahdaleh fait partie de la fiducie caritative Victor Phillip Dahdaleh Charitable Trust. Ses activités caritatives s’exercent dans trois domaines principaux : amélioration de l’accès à l’éducation pour ceux qui ont besoin d’aide; amélioration de la santé et du bien-être des personnes dans le besoin; et amélioration des relations et de la compréhension entre le Canada et le Royaume-Uni.

Renseignements aux médias

Canadian High Commission
Caroline Mallan
Caroline.mallan@international.gc.ca
+44 (0)207 004 6168

Hauser & Wirth
Amelia Redgrift
Head of Press & Media
+44(0)207 255 8247
M: +44(0)790 171 0312
www.hauserwirth.info n

Dahdaleh Foundation
Matthew Moth, Madano
matthew.moth@madano.com
020 7593 4000

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2015-05-27