Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

UnitedKingdom.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Office
  4. >
  5. Calendar of Events

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Peter Wilkins 12 Writers’ Portraits

Canada HOuse leafCanada House Gallery
10/04/2013 - 31/05/2013
Opening Hours: Weekdays, 10:00 - 17:45

Oliver Cromwell demanded that every pimple be preserved by his portraitist. Hollywood stars insist on capturing their ‘best-sides’, while photojournalists present poverty or conflict through the faces of nameless victims. The history of portraiture has always been about deciphering authority and navigating relationships.

Writers’ Portraits

Peter Wilkins’ 12 Writers’ Portraits presents video portraits of celebrated Canadian writers: Margaret Atwood, Roch Carrier, Austin Clarke, Douglas Coupland, Wayne Johnston, Ann-Marie MacDonald, Alistair MacLeod, Yann Martel, Anne Michaels, David Adams Richards, Jane Urquhart and M.G. Vassanji.

Wilkins’ portraits follow and confront a long tradition of portraiture, creating representations that explore the very process of each subject’s ‘sitting’. Here, visual manipulation is at a minimum. Instead, Wilkins presents five minutes drawn from each life; real-time loops that move the subject beyond the confines of a single frame.

Each of these celebrated authors was asked, prior to recording, questions about themselves; their experiences, beliefs, ideals, hopes, and fears. Wilkins then related back their words and thoughts, while the camera captured their responses. The resulting kinetic portrait presents the sitter in the act of constructing and considering their own self-representation.

12 Writers’ Portraits combines explorations of portraiture, technology and the interpretative screens that link audience with celebrity.

Bruce Johnson
Curator of Contemporary Art,
The Rooms Provincial Art Gallery.

Footer

Date Modified:
2013-04-19

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Royaume-Uni.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux
  4. >
  5. Calendrier des événements

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Peter Wilkins Portraits de 12 écrivains

Maison du Canada - feuilleGalerie de la Maison du Canada
10/04/2013 - 31/05/2013
Heures d’ouverture : Du lundi au vendredi, 10h00 à 17h45

Oliver Cromwell avait exigé que son portraitiste reproduise les boutons sur son visage. Les stars hollywoodiennes insistent à ce que leurs photos soient prises sous leur meilleur profil, tandis que les photojournalistes présentent la pauvreté et le conflit à travers les visages de victimes anonymes. L’objectif du portrait a toujours été de décoder l’autorité et de comprendre les relations.

Portraits de écrivains

L’exposition de Peter Wilkins, Portraits de 12 écrivains, comprend une sélection de portraits vidéos d’écrivains célèbres du Canada : Margaret Atwood, Roch Carrier, Austin Clarke, Douglas Coupland, Wayne Johnston, Ann-Marie MacDonald, Alistair MacLeod, Yann Martel, Anne Michaels, David Adams Richards, Jane Urquhart et M.G. Vassanji.

Les portraits de Wilkins suivent, et en même temps défient, une longue tradition de portraits en créant des représentations qui explorent le processus de production de la « session » de chaque individu. Visuellement, les vidéos sont à peine manipulées. À la place, Wilkins présente seulement 5 minutes inspirées de chacune de leur vie, soit des boucles en temps réel qui transportent le sujet au-delà des limites d’une seule image.

Avant l’enregistrement, on a posé à chacun de ces auteurs reconnus des questions sur eux-mêmes, sur leurs expériences, leurs croyance, leurs idéaux, leurs aspirations et leurs peurs. Wilkins a ensuite établit un lien entre leurs paroles et leurs pensées, tandis que la caméra captait leurs réponses. Le résultat : des portraits cinétiques qui présentent la personne assises en train de construire et de considérer leur propre représentation d’eux-mêmes.

Portraits de 12 écrivains agence l’exploration de l’art du portrait, de la technologie et des montages interprétatifs qui associent le spectateur avec la célébrité.

Bruce Johnson
Conservateur de l’art moderne,
The Rooms Provincial Art Gallery

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2013-04-19