Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

UnitedKingdom.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Political Officer, Foreign Policy

Salary: £42,257 per annum plus excellent benefits
Hours of Work: 37.5 hours per week worked Monday to Friday
Organization: High Commission of Canada
Location: Canada House, Trafalgar Square, SW1
Type of Employment:  Permanent
Number of positions to fill: 1          

Closing date: Sunday, 8th November 2015           

Job summary

The officer will be responsible for day-to-day transactions and interactions with the UK Government and other London based institutions and interlocutors on selected foreign policy issues; this includes policy development support, reporting and advocacy, as well as meeting preparation, visit and information management support. Responsibilities also include the strengthening of the London-based foreign policy network. The Officer will lead on the monitoring and reporting of the UK’s engagement in selected regions or international issues, while serving as first point of contact and support for related information requests. This will require cultivation of not only official UK Governments contacts but the diplomatic, academic, think-tanks and civil society community in the UK.

Area of Selection

This position is open to candidates who are currently resident in the UK, who hold current documentation allowing them to work in the UK, who meet all of the Essential requirements stated below, and whose applications are received by the closing date.  Those candidates holding documentation/visas not renewable in the UK such as the Youth Mobility Visa will not be eligible to apply for this position. The High Commission of Canada does not reimburse any travel costs to and from interview nor does it reimburse any relocation costs. The High Commission of Canada does not sponsor work permit applications on behalf of candidates.

Level of Security Clearance

This position requires candidates to be able to obtain and maintain a Canadian SECRET clearance within a reasonable period.

To be eligible for a SECRET clearance, candidates must possess Canadian and/or British citizenship. Candidates holding dual citizenship of third countries should state all citizenships on their application.

Essential Qualifications

Candidates will initially be screened on the essential qualifications below and must demonstrate in their cover letter how they meet these criteria.  Only those candidates who meet all the Essential Requirements will proceed to the next stage of the process.

Education:  A university degree  from a recognised university with acceptable specialization in History, Philosophy, Literature, Classics, International Relations, Area Studies, Economics, Political Science, Public Policy, Public Affairs, Public Administration, Journalism, Business Administration, Sociology, Anthropology, Linguistics or any other relevant discipline.

NOTE: Candidates must have a university degree. The courses for the specialization do not necessarily have to be part of a degree program in the required specialization. The specialization may also be obtained through an acceptable combination of education, training and/or experience.

Experience:

  • Minimum 3 years’ recent experience leading or contributing to foreign and/or domestic public policy analysis.
  • Minimum 3 years’ recent experience in research and the preparation of briefing notes, research summaries, presentations or reports for management.
  • Experience in providing advice and communicating to management at the Counsellor (or equivalent) level and above, orally and in writing
  • Experience consulting or collaborating with diverse groups
  • Experience in establishing multidisciplinary professional networks.

Linguistic Profile: Fluency in English essential.

Must possess superior written and oral communication together with strong presentation skills, both orally and in writing.

Rated Requirements

Candidates must also meet the Rated Requirements shown below, which will be assessed through any of the following: written test, oral communication, interview and reference checks. 

Abilities and Skills/Personal suitability:

  • Must have strong oral communication skills and analytical skills
  • Ability to manage and mitigate risk
  • Organisational Awareness
  • Strong Strategic Sense (i.e. connect activities with overall mission priorities) 

Knowledge:

  • Knowledge of Canadian, UK and European foreign and domestic policy issues
  • Knowledge of current issues in one or more regions of the world.
  • Knowledge of international peace & security issues and/or global issues 

Competencies:

  • Client focus
  • Good judgement, tact and initiative
  • Be organised and a good networker
  • Strong Teamwork and Co-operation
  • Effective Communication – Oral and Written

Asset Qualifications

The High Commission has the right to further screen on Asset Qualifications and as such, preference may be given to candidates who have the following asset qualifications. Candidates should also clearly demonstrate in their cover letter if they meet these qualifications 

  • First-hand knowledge and/or experience within the public sector Canadian and/or UK Governments).
  • Professional and academic experience in the field of development or in developing countries.
  • High Proficiency in the French language
  • Experience in visits and events
  • A Master’s degree or higher with the requirement for a research-based thesis. 

Operational Requirements

Willing and able to work extended hours as required without advance notice.

Conditions of employment

Hours of work will be 37.5 per week, worked Monday to Friday at time to be arranged by the supervisor. Any job offer is subject to receipt of satisfactory employment and character references and the ability to obtain and maintain a SECRET security screening (including a criminal record check).

Copies of educational qualifications will be required at the interview stage of the process. Successful candidate must have a valid passport and the required documentation allowing the right to work in the UK. Documentation will be required.

Application process

Interested candidates should e-mail an up to date C.V. and covering letter which clearly demonstrating how they meet the Essential, Rated and Asset qualifications.  If this is not included in the Cover Letter, candidates could be screened out. All communication relating to this process, including email correspondence may be used in the assessment of qualifications. Candidates should also clearly state their confirmation of their right to work in the UK together with details and expiry dates of passport and/or visa type.

E-mail to: personnel.ldn@international.gc.ca  by the closing date

Please quote Ref:  LE7 Political Officer 2015

An automated acknowledgment of receipt of applications will be sent. Only those candidates shortlisted will be contacted by Human Resources within 4 weeks of the closing date of the competition. 

The High Commission of Canada is committed to building a diverse workforce.

The High Commission of Canada is committed to conducting inclusive, barrier-free selection processes.

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2015-10-20

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Royaume-Uni.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Agent politique, Politique étrangère

Salaire : 42 257 £ par année, avec un excellent régime d'avantages sociaux
Heures de travail : 37,5 heures par semaine, du lundi au vendredi
Organisation : Haut-commissariat du Canada
Lieu : Maison du Canada, Trafalgar Square, Londres
Type d’emploi : permanent
Nombre de postes à doter : 1

Date de clôture : le dimanche 8 novembre 2015

Résumé des fonctions

Le ou la titulaire sera responsable des transactions et des interactions quotidiennes avec le gouvernement du Royaume-Uni et d’autres institutions et interlocuteurs situés à Londres au sujet de certaines questions relatives à la politique étrangère; cela inclut l’appui à l’élaboration de politiques, la fourniture de comptes rendus et la défense des intérêts, de même que la préparation de réunions, des visites et l’appui à la gestion de l’information. Les responsabilités comprennent également le renforcement du réseau de relations en matière de politique étrangère à Londres. L’agent ou l’agente dirigera la surveillance et la communication de l’engagement du Royaume-Uni dans certaines régions ou par rapport à certains enjeux internationaux, tout en servant de personne-ressource désignée et de soutien pour les demandes de renseignements connexes. Cela requerra l’entretien de relations non seulement auprès de représentants du gouvernement du Royaume-Uni mais aussi auprès de diplomates, de professionnels du milieu académique, de groupes d’intellectuels et de la communauté de la société civile du Royaume-Uni.

Zone de sélection

Le poste est ouvert aux candidats qui résident actuellement au Royaume-Uni, qui disposent des documents les autorisant à travailler au Royaume-Uni, qui satisfont à toutes les qualifications essentielles mentionnées ci-après et dont la candidature est reçue avant la date limite. Les candidats qui détiennent des visas ou des documents non renouvelables au Royaume-Uni, comme le visa de mobilité jeunesse (Youth Mobility Visa), ne peuvent pas postuler cet emploi. Le haut-commissariat du Canada ne rembourse pas les frais de déplacement engagés pour passer l'entrevue, ni les frais de réinstallation. Le haut-commissariat du Canada ne peut parrainer les candidats en vue d’une demande de permis de travail.  

Niveau de la cote de sécurité

Le ou la titulaire doit pouvoir obtenir une attestation de sécurité canadienne de niveau « secret » dans un délai raisonnable et la conserver.

Pour être admissible à l’attestation de sécurité de niveau « secret », le candidat ou la candidate doit posséder la citoyenneté canadienne ou britannique. Les candidats détenant également la citoyenneté dans un pays tiers doivent le déclarer dans leur dossier de candidature.

Qualifications essentielles

Une sélection préliminaire des candidats sera faite sur la base des qualifications essentielles ci-dessous. Les candidats doivent démontrer dans leur lettre de présentation de quelle manière ils satisfont à ces critères. Seuls les candidats qui possèdent toutes les qualifications essentielles pourront passer à l’étape suivante du processus. 

Éducation : Grade d’une université reconnue dans l’un des domaines de spécialisation suivants : histoire, philosophie, littérature, études classiques, relations internationales, études régionales, science économique, science politique, politique publique, affaires publiques, administration publique, journalisme, administration des affaires, sociologie, anthropologie, langues ou toute autre discipline pertinente. 

REMARQUE : Les candidats doivent obligatoirement posséder un grade universitaire. Il n’est pas nécessaire que les cours de spécialisation aient été suivis dans le cadre d’un programme menant à l’obtention d’un grade dans la spécialisation exigée. Une combinaison acceptable d’études, de formation et d’expérience peut tenir lieu de spécialisation.

Expérience :

  • Au moins trois ans d’expérience récente en analyse de politiques publiques domestiques ou étrangères, à titre de chef ou de participant
  • Au moins trois ans d’expérience en recherche documentaire et en préparation de notes d’information, de résumés de recherche, de présentations ou de rapport à l’intention de la direction
  • Expérience en prestation de conseils et en communication orale et écrite auprès de la direction au niveau de conseiller (ou l’équivalent) ou à un niveau supérieur
  • Expérience de la consultation ou de la collaboration avec divers groupes
  • Expérience de l’établissement de réseaux professionnels multidisciplinaires  

Profil linguistique : Maîtrise de l’anglais

Les candidats doivent posséder une aptitude supérieure à la communication écrite et orale, combinée à une habileté solide à faire des présentations.

Exigences cotées

Les candidats doivent également satisfaire aux exigences cotées figurant ci-après, lesquelles seront évaluées par l’un ou l’autre des moyens suivants : test écrit, communication orale, entrevue et vérification des références. 

Capacités, compétences et qualités personnelles :

  • Entregent et esprit d’analyse
  • Capacité de gérer et d’atténuer les risques
  • Connaissance de l’organisation
  • Bon sens stratégique (c.‑à‑d. met en lien ses activités avec les priorités globales de la mission) 

Connaissances :

  • Connaissance des enjeux du Canada, du Royaume-Uni et de l’Europe en matière de politique domestique et étrangère
  • Connaissance des enjeux actuels dans une ou plusieurs régions du monde.
  • Connaissance des enjeux mondiaux ou relatifs à la paix et à la sécurité internationales

Compétences :

  • Souci du service à la clientèle
  • Bon jugement, tact et esprit d’initiative
  • Sens de l’organisation et habileté en réseautage
  • Esprit d’équipe et de coopération
  • Capacité de bien communiquer (verbalement et par écrit)

Qualifications constituant un atout

Le haut-commissariat a le droit de poursuivre la sélection en fonction des qualifications constituant un atout. Par conséquent, la préférence pourrait être accordée aux candidats possédant les qualifications constituant un atout ci-après. Les candidats doivent aussi démontrer clairement dans leur lettre de présentation en quoi ils satisfont à ces qualifications. 

  • Connaissance ou expérience de première main dans le secteur public (gouvernement du Canada ou du Royaume-Uni).
  • Expérience professionnelle et académique dans le domaine de l’aide au développement ou des pays en développement.
  • Maîtrise du français
  • Expérience en matière de visites et d’événements
  • Maîtrise ou doctorat exigeant la présentation d’une thèse de recherche. 

Exigences opérationnelles

  • Consentir et être apte à faire des heures supplémentaires au besoin sans préavis.

Conditions d’emploi

La semaine de travail est de 37,5 heures du lundi au vendredi, selon un horaire établi par le superviseur. Toute offre d'emploi est conditionnelle à l'obtention de références satisfaisantes et à la vérification des antécédents de même qu'à la capacité d'obtenir et de conserver la cote de sécurité « secret » (le processus comprend une vérification du casier judiciaire).

Des copies des diplômes requis devront être fournies à l’étape de l’entrevue. Le candidat retenu doit posséder un passeport valide et la documentation l’autorisant à travailler au Royaume-Uni. Ces documents devront être présentés.

Processus de postulation

Les candidats intéressés doivent envoyer par courriel un curriculum vitae à jour et une lettre de présentation démontrant clairement en quoi ils possèdent les qualifications essentielles, les exigences cotées et les qualifications constituant un atout. Si la lettre de présentation ne montre pas comment les candidats satisfont à ces critères, ceux-ci pourraient être éliminés du processus. Toutes les communications liées à ce processus, y compris les courriels, pourraient être utilisées pour évaluer les qualifications des candidats. Les candidats doivent clairement confirmer leur droit de travailler au Royaume-Uni ainsi que les détails et les dates d’expiration de leur passeport ou de leur visa.

Envoyer par courriel à personnel.ldn@international.gc.ca avant la date de clôture.

Prière d'indiquer le numéro de référence suivant : Agent politique LE7 2015

Un accusé de réception des candidatures sera automatiquement envoyé. Les ressources humaines communiqueront uniquement avec les candidats retenus lors de la sélection préliminaire dans les quatre semaines suivant la date de clôture du concours.

Le haut-commissariat du Canada est résolu à constituer un effectif diversifié. Il s'est engagé à mettre en place des processus de sélection ouverts à tous et exempts d'obstacles.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2015-10-20