Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

UnitedKingdom.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Academic Relations Officer

Salary: £42,257 per annum plus excellent benefits
Hours of Work: 37.5 hours per week worked Monday to Friday
Organization: High Commission of Canada
Location: Canada House, Trafalgar Square, SW1
Type of Employment:  8 month term maternity backfill (May 2016 – January 2017)
Number of positions to fill: 1
Closing Date:
Sunday, 6th March 2016

Job Summary

The Canadian High Commission (CHC) is looking for a dynamic and highly-organized professional with experience working in academic relations, higher education or another programming environment.

Under the direction of the Commercial (Counsellor) and Senior Trade Commissioner, the incumbent is responsible for implementing and administering the academic relations programme in the context of Canada’s broader international priorities and objectives and its specific goals and interests in the United Kingdom. More specifically, the incumbent is responsible for:  devising, delivering, implementing, evaluating and reporting on academic relations projects, programming, products and events; developing and maintaining detailed knowledge of the UK academic landscape, as it pertains to the study of Canada, including policy, programmes and priorities, and reporting on these to senior mission management, officials in Canada and at Canadian missions abroad; and cultivating and maintaining strong working relationships and partnerships with the academic community in the UK. The Academic Relations Officer also supports Canadian academic institutions seeking to hold alumni events at Canada House. The incumbent will work closely with the Education Marketing officer to promote education in Canada.

Area of Selection

This position is open to candidates who are currently resident in the UK, who hold current documentation allowing them to work in the UK, who meet all of the essential requirements stated below, and whose applications are received by the closing date. Those candidates holding documentation/visas not renewable in the UK such as the Youth Mobility Visa will only be eligible to apply for this position if the expiry date of the visa exceeds the term duration (i.e. past February 2017). 

Note: The High Commission of Canada does not reimburse any travel costs to and from interview nor does it reimburse any relocation costs. The High Commission of Canada does not sponsor work permit applications on behalf of candidates.

Essential Qualifications

Candidates will initially be screened on the essential qualifications below and must demonstrate in their cover letter how they meet these criteria.  Only those candidates who meet all the Essential Requirements will proceed to the next stage of the process.

Education:  A degree from a recognised university OR a suitable combination of education and extensive relevant experience.

Experience: Minimum 2* years recent experience in:

  • working in an academic relations, higher education or a program/project management capacity
  • organising, managing and implementing special events.

*2 years within the last 5 years

Linguistic Profile: Professional level of written and spoken English

Rated Requirements

Candidates must also meet the Rated Requirements shown below, which will be assessed through any of the following: written test, oral communication, interview and reference checks. 

Abilities and Skills:

  • Ability to plan, manage and deliver seamless projects and programming;
  • Ability to work as part of a team and independently;
  • Ability to carry out research and analysis in order to provide advice and recommendations and to prepare reports;
  • Ability to problem-solve;
  • Establish, maintain and leverage a contact network;
  • Ability to cope well with shifting priorities, unforeseen circumstances and changes in policies, procedures and/or direction 

Asset Qualifications

The High Commission has the right to further screen on Asset Qualifications and as such, preference may be given to candidates who have the following asset qualifications. Candidates should also clearly demonstrate in their cover letter if they meet these factors.

  • Knowledge of French
  • Experience working for a High Commission or Embassy   
  • Familiarity with Government of Canada’s priorities in the UK
  • An understanding of academic issues in the UK  

Operational Requirements

  • Ability to work overtime in the evenings and/or weekends as required

Conditions of employment

Hours of work will be 37.5 per week, worked Monday to Friday at time to be arranged by the supervisor. Any job offer is subject to receipt of satisfactory employment and character references and the ability to obtain and maintain an Enhanced Reliability security screening (including a criminal record check). Copies of educational qualifications will be required at the interview stage of the process. Successful candidate must have a valid passport and the required documentation allowing the right to work in the UK, documentation will be required.

Application process

Interested candidates should e-mail an up to date C.V. and covering letter which clearly demonstrating how they meet the Essential, Rated and Asset qualifications.  If this is not included they could be screened out. All communication relating to this process, including email correspondence may be used in the assessment of qualifications. Candidates should also clearly state their confirmation of their right to work in the UK together with details and expiry dates of passport and/or visa type.

E-mail to:  personnel.ldn@international.gc.ca  by:

Please quote Ref: LE7 Academic Relations Officer TERM 2016

An automated acknowledgment of receipt of applications will be sent. Only those candidates shortlisted will be contacted by Human Resources within 4 weeks of the closing date.

The High Commission of Canada is committed to building a diverse workforce. The High Commission of Canada is committed to conducting inclusive, barrier-free selection processes.

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-02-23

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Royaume-Uni.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Agent des relations universitaires

Salaire : 42 257 £, avec un excellent régime d’avantages sociaux
Heures de travail : 37,5 heures par semaine, du lundi au vendredi
Organisation : Haut-commissariat du Canada
Lieu : Maison du Canada, Trafalgar Square, Londres SW1
Type d’emploi : Remplacement d’un congé de maternité – durée de huit mois (de mai 2016 à janvier 2017)
Nombre de postes à pourvoir : 1
Date de clôture : Dimanche, 6 Mars 2016

Résumé des fonctions

Le haut-commissariat du Canada (HCC) est à la recherche d’un professionnel dynamique et très organisé qui possède une expérience de travail dans le domaine des relations universitaires, des études supérieures ou d’un autre contexte de programmation.

Relevant du conseiller commercial et délégué commercial principal, le titulaire du poste est responsable de la mise en œuvre et de l’administration du programme de relations universitaires dans le contexte des priorités et objectifs internationaux du Canada et de ses buts et intérêts particuliers au Royaume-Uni. Plus précisément, le titulaire du poste assume les responsabilités suivantes : concevoir, réaliser, mettre en œuvre et évaluer des projets, des programmes, des produits et des activités ayant trait aux relations universitaires, et produire des rapports à cet égard; recueillir et tenir à jour des connaissances approfondies sur le milieu universitaire du Royaume-Uni en ce qui concerne l’étude du Canada, y compris ses politiques, ses programmes et ses priorités, et présenter des rapports à la haute direction de la mission, aux fonctionnaires du Canada et des missions canadiennes à l’étranger; cultiver et maintenir des relations de travail et des partenariats solides avec les milieux universitaires du Royaume-Uni. L’agent des relations universitaires apporte également son soutien aux établissements universitaires canadiens qui souhaitent organiser des activités à l’intention des anciens étudiants à la Maison du Canada. Le titulaire du poste travaillera en étroite collaboration avec l’agent de promotion de l’éducation dans le but de promouvoir les études au Canada.

Zone de sélection

Le poste est ouvert aux candidats qui résident actuellement au Royaume-Uni, qui disposent des documents les autorisant à travailler au Royaume-Uni, qui satisfont à toutes les qualifications essentielles mentionnées ci-après et dont la candidature est reçue avant la date limite. Les candidats qui détiennent des visas ou des documents non renouvelables au Royaume-Uni, comme le visa de mobilité jeunesse (Youth Mobility Visa), peuvent postuler pour cet emploi seulement si la date d’expiration du visa vient après la date à laquelle le poste prend fin (c.-à-d. après février 2017).

Remarque : Le haut-commissariat du Canada ne rembourse pas les frais de déplacement engagés pour passer l’entrevue ni les frais de déménagement. Le haut-commissariat du Canada ne peut parrainer les candidats qui doivent demander un permis de travail.

Qualifications essentielles

Une sélection préliminaire des candidats sera faite sur la base des qualifications essentielles ci-dessous. Les candidats doivent démontrer dans leur lettre de présentation de quelle manière ils satisfont à ces critères. Seuls les candidats qui possèdent toutes les qualifications essentielles pourront passer à l’étape suivante du processus. 

Études : Diplôme d’une université reconnue OU combinaison adéquate d’études et d’expérience pertinente valable.

Expérience :  Posséder au moins deux (2) années d’expérience récente* dans les domaines suivants :

  • travail dans le domaine des relations universitaires, des études supérieures ou à titre de gestionnaire de programme ou de projet;
  • organisation, gestion et mise en œuvre d’événements spéciaux.

*deux (2) années au cours des cinq (5) dernières années

Profil linguistique : Maîtrise de l’anglais parlé et écrit – niveau professionnel

Exigences cotées

Les candidats doivent également satisfaire aux exigences cotées figurant ci-après, lesquelles seront évaluées par l’un ou l’autre des moyens suivants : test écrit, communication orale, entrevue et vérification des références.

Capacités et compétences 

  • Capacité de planifier, de gérer et de réaliser des projets et des programmes de manière cohérente;
  • Capacité de travailler en équipe et de manière autonome;
  • Capacité de mener des recherches et des analyses en vue de fournir des conseils et des recommandations et de rédiger des rapports;
  • Capacité de résoudre des problèmes;
  • Capacité d’établir, de maintenir et d’utiliser un réseau de contacts;
  • Capacité de composer avec les priorités changeantes, les imprévus et les changements apportés aux politiques, aux procédures et/ou à l’orientation

Qualifications constituant un atout

Le haut-commissariat a le droit de poursuivre la sélection en fonction des qualifications constituant un atout. Par conséquent, la préférence pourrait être accordée aux candidats possédant les qualifications constituant un atout ci-après. Les candidats doivent aussi démontrer clairement dans leur lettre de présentation en quoi ils répondent à ces critères.

  • Connaissance du français
  • Expérience de travail dans un haut-commissariat ou une ambassade
  • Bonne connaissance des priorités du gouvernement du Canada au Royaume-Uni
  • Compréhension des questions universitaires au Royaume-Uni
  • Capacité à faire des heures supplémentaires le soir et le weekend, au besoin

Exigences opérationnelles

Conditions d’emploi

La semaine de travail est de 37,5 heures du lundi au vendredi, selon un horaire établi par le superviseur. Toute offre d’emploi est conditionnelle à l’obtention de références satisfaisantes et à la vérification des antécédents de même qu’à la capacité d’obtenir et de conserver la cote de sécurité « fiabilité approfondie » (le processus comprend une vérification du casier judiciaire). Des copies des diplômes requis devront être fournies à l’étape de l’entrevue. Le candidat retenu doit posséder un passeport valide et la documentation nécessaire donnant le droit de travailler au Royaume-Uni.

Présentation des candidatures

Les candidats intéressés doivent envoyer par courriel un curriculum vitae à jour et une lettre de présentation démontrant clairement en quoi ils possèdent les qualifications essentielles, les exigences cotées et les qualifications constituant un atout. Si ces renseignements ne sont pas fournis, les candidats pourraient être éliminés du processus. Toutes les communications liées à ce processus, y compris les courriels, pourraient servir à évaluer les qualifications. Les candidats doivent clairement confirmer leur droit de travailler au Royaume-Uni ainsi que les détails et les dates d’expiration du passeport et/ou du type de visa.

Envoyer par courriel à l’adresse : personnel.ldn@international.gc.ca d’ici le :

Inscrire la mention suivante : LE7 – Agent des relations universitaires DURÉE DÉTERMINÉE 2016

Un accusé de réception des candidatures sera automatiquement envoyé. Les ressources humaines communiqueront uniquement avec les candidats retenus lors de la sélection préliminaire dans les quatre semaines suivant la date de clôture.

Le haut-commissariat du Canada est résolu à constituer un effectif diversifié. Il s’est engagé à mettre en place des processus de sélection ouverts à tous et exempts d’obstacles.

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-02-23