Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

uruguay.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

Underprivileged youth discover Canadian and Uruguayan art

Ambassador of Canada Alain Latulippe

Ambassador of Canada Alain Latulippe during his speech on occasion of the celebration of the "Modernism in Canadian and Uruguayan Painting" project, at the Canada school

In Uruguay it is customary that public schools are named after countries. Embassies collaborate with the school that carries their name. Consequently, the Embassy of Canada to Uruguay has a long-standing relationship with two public schools that have the name "Canada".

In an underprivileged area of the city of Montevideo, a Canada school (School nº 174 Canada) launched a socio-artistic project called «Modernism in Canadian and Uruguayan Painting».  The main objective was to support educational development and provide an early opportunity for youth to engage in artistic expression.  

The project allowed students to feel, explore and communicate through artistic expression, while improving their environment through art workshops. Uruguayan artist Daniel Tomassini, who initiated the youth to the marvels of Canadian and Uruguayan painters, volunteers his time to direct the workshops. Mr. Tomassini is a Uruguayan artist who studied the art of Riopelle in Canada and has a long standing relationship with the Embassy of Canada. 

The project materialized through art workshops with the students who are studying and representing Canadian and Uruguayan painters' artwork. As a result, the students decorated the school walls with paintings inspired by the work of the Canadian and Uruguayan artists.

A modest contribution from the Canada Fund for Local initiatives, managed by the Canadian Embassy in Montevideo, allowed for the purchase of the materials necessary for the development of the project's activities.

The School Headmaster, Mr. Julio Grau, the artist Mr. Daniel Tomassini, and the Canadian Ambassador, Mr. Alain Latulippe,  as well representatives from the Primary Education National Council, joined children and their parents for a moving ceremony at which music and dancing were performed. 

 

>> Read and share more stories about Canada’s activities around the world - follow Eyes Abroad

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2011-04-27

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

uruguay.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

Des jeunes défavorisés découvrent l’art canadien et uruguayen

L’ambassadeur du Canada, Alain Latulippe

L’ambassadeur du Canada, Alain Latulippe, lors de son allocution à l’occasion de la célébration du projet « Le modernisme dans la peinture canadienne et uruguayenne » à l’école Canada.

En Uruguay, il est de coutume pour les écoles publiques de porter le nom d’un pays. Les ambassades collaborent donc étroitement avec l’école qui porte leur nom. Pour cette raison, l’ambassade du Canada en Uruguay entretient des relations de longue date avec deux écoles publiques dont le nom comporte le mot « Canada ».

Des jeunes défavorisés découvrent l’art canadien et uruguayen

Dans un quartier défavorisé de la ville de Montevideo, l’école Canada (école no174 Canada) a lancé un projet socioartistique intitulé « Le modernisme dans la peinture canadienne et uruguayenne ». Son principal objectif est d’appuyer le développement de l’éducation et de fournir aux jeunes une première occasion de s’exprimer à travers l’art.

Le projet a permis aux jeunes de ressentir, d’explorer et de communiquer grâce à l’expression artistique, et ses ateliers d’art leur ont donné l’occasion d’embellir leur environnement. L’artiste uruguayen Daniel Tomassini, qui a présenté aux jeunes les talents exceptionnels de peintres canadiens et uruguayens, a fait don de son temps afin de diriger les ateliers. M. Tomassini a étudié l’art de Riopelle au Canada et entretient depuis longtemps des relations avec l’ambassade du Canada.

Le projet a pris la forme d’ateliers d’art destinés à des élèves qui étudient et représentent les œuvres d’art d’artistes peintres canadiens et uruguayens. Les élèves ont ainsi décoré les murs de leur école avec des tableaux inspirés du travail d’artistes canadiens et uruguayens.

Une somme modeste provenant du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales, géré par l’ambassade du Canada à Montevideo, a permis d’acheter le matériel nécessaire à la réalisation des activités du projet.

Le directeur de l’école, Julio Grau, Daniel Tomassini, l’ambassadeur du Canada, Alain Latulippe, ainsi que des représentants du Conseil national de l’enseignement primaire se sont joints aux enfants et à leurs parents à l’occasion d’une cérémonie émouvante où un spectacle de danse et de musique a été présenté.

 

>> Pour en savoir plus sur les activités du Canada à l’étranger ou raconter les vôtres, Coup d’œil sur le monde vous attend!

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2011-04-27