Supporting a “Canada School” in rural Uruguay

The Embassy’s book donation of Uruguayan literary classics.
 
 

The students of “Canada” School playing with their red and white balloons and Canada hats.
 
 

Ambassador Poulin and “Canada” School.
 
 

Though the right to education is enshrined in the 1948 Universal Declaration of Human Rights and guaranteed by the 1989 Convention on the Rights of the Child, many children around the world still struggle to access basic education. Canada supports education through education programs in developing countries, including in rural Uruguay.

In 2000, rural school n º26 in Uruguay was renamed “Canada School” in recognition of the Embassy of Canada to Uruguay’s longstanding support for the school.  It is one of three other schools in Uruguay named after Canada due to the Embassy’s collaboration with those schools.

Supporting rural education

One of the common barriers to obtaining basic education is outdated or low quality teaching and learning materials.

Canada’s commitment to global education was recently acknowledged through a book donation to rural school n º26 which included various classics of Uruguayan literature authors such as Juana de Ibarbourou, Roy Berocay and Horacio Quiroga. The books were hand delivered by the Canadian Ambassador to Uruguay, Claire Poulin and the embassy staff who also took the chance to promote education in rural areas.

The donated books will serve as a long lasting source of knowledge for the rural students who would otherwise not have access.

The children greeted the Ambassador and Embassy staff with great enthusiasm as they received red and white balloons and Canadian flags. Students shared poems and performed Uruguayan traditional dances. The visit concluded with a friendly trivia contest about Canada and prizes of Canadian hats for the students.

Ambassador Poulin concluded the day with a message of hope and wisdom to the students, encouraging them to follow theirs studies as long as possible from primary school until university.

Canada hopes that children of all circumstances will have complete access to quality and free education so that they may pursue their desires.

Appui d’une « école canadienne » dans les régions rurales de l’Uruguay

L’ambassade fait don de livres qui sont des classiques de la littérature uruguayenne.
 
 

Les élèves de l’école « canadienne » jouent avec leurs ballons rouges et blancs et leurs chapeaux canadiens.
 
 

L’ambassadrice, madame Poulin, et l’école « canadienne ».
 
 

Malgré la protection du droit à l’éducation par la Déclaration universelle des droits de l’Homme de 1948 et sa garantie par la Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant de 1989, beaucoup d’enfants dans le monde peinent encore à obtenir de l’éducation de base. Le Canada appuie l’éducation au moyen de programmes d’éducation dans les pays en voie de développement, notamment les régions rurales de l’Uruguay.

En 2000, l’école rurale No 26 de l’Uruguay a été renommée l’« école canadienne » en reconnaissance du soutien apporté depuis longtemps à l’école par l’ambassade du Canada en Uruguay. L’Uruguay compte maintenant trois écoles nommées en l’honneur du Canada pour souligner la collaboration de l’ambassade avec ces écoles.

Appuyer l’éducation en milieu rural

L’un des obstacles couramment rencontrés lorsqu’il est question d’offrir de l’éducation de base est le matériel d’enseignement et d’apprentissage désuet ou de mauvaise qualité.

L’engagement du Canada envers l’éducation à l’échelle mondiale s’est récemment traduit par un don de livres à l’école rurale No 26, avec notamment des classiques de la littérature uruguayenne comme les œuvres de Juana de Ibarbourou, Roy Berocay et Horacio Quiroga. L’ambassadrice canadienne en Uruguay, Claire Poulin, et son personnel ont remis les livres en mains propres, et ont profité de l’occasion pour promouvoir l’éducation dans les régions rurales.

Ces livres serviront de source durable de connaissances pour les élèves habitant dans des régions rurales qui autrement n’auraient pas pu s’enrichir de ce savoir.

Les enfants ont accueilli l’ambassadrice et son personnel avec beaucoup d’enthousiasme. Pour les remercier de leur accueil, ils leur ont offert des ballons rouges et blancs et des drapeaux du Canada. Les élèves ont récité des poèmes et réalisé des danses traditionnelles uruguayennes. La visite s’est terminée avec un jeu-questionnaire amical sur le Canada, avec comme prix des chapeaux canadiens remis aux élèves.

À la fin de la rencontre, madame Poulin a transmis un message d’espoir et de sagesse aux élèves pour les encourager à pousser leurs études le plus loin possible, de l’école primaire à l’université.

Le Canada souhaite que les enfants de tous les milieux aient un accès complet à une éducation gratuite de qualité afin qu’ils puissent réaliser leurs aspirations.