Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

uruguay.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

Canada supports “namesake” schools in Uruguay


Escuela Canadá Nº 26 (Canada School Number 26)
welcomes the Canadian delegation.
 

Students from Escuela Canadá Nº 174 (Canada School Number 174) get ready to perform.
   

Students marching and playing to the beat of a new drum
   

To celebrate the end of 2011, the Embassy of Canada to Uruguay has provided new opportunities for underprivileged children by supporting three Uruguayan schools with a special tie to Canada. The Government of Uruguay chooses names for its schools, naming some after countries and others after influential Uruguayans. These three schools have “Canada” in their name.

At the rural Escuela Canadá Nº 26 [Canada School No. 26], located in Tala, Canelones, funds were directed towards refitting a room for physical and artistic activities (including the purchase of new equipment and material), as well as renovating the kitchen and dining room. This school is fairly isolated, has only one teacher, and many of the children travel four kilometres daily on foot, horseback or bicycle to get to school. The school also serves a community function as a meeting place for neighbours to celebrate birthdays and hold meetings.

In the Department of Florida, Escuela Canadá Nº 37 [Canada School No. 37] received recreational and sports equipment to promote health and develop students’ communication skills.

Escuela Canadá Nº 174 [Canada School No. 174], located in Montevideo, is the largest of the three schools. The new funds went towards equipment to upgrade its physical-education room and audiovisual facilities. The school also received a variety of material to help with English language classes. These new resources will give the students better opportunities to develop their potential throughout their secondary education.

In appreciation, the students organized a ceremony where they presented their drawings, songs and traditional Uruguayan dances to a charmed audience, including Canada’s Minister of State for Foreign Affairs Diane Ablonczy, Canadian Ambassador Francis Trudel and the Director of the International Development Research Centre, Federico Burone.

Funding for the three schools was provided through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives.

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-06-12

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

uruguay.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

Le Canada appuie ses écoles « homonymes » en Uruguay


L'Escuela Canadá Nº 26 (École Canada no 26) accueille la délégation canadienne..
 

Des élèves de l’Escuela Canadá Nº 174 (École Canada no 174) se préparent pour le spectacle.
   

Élèves marchant et jouant au rythme d’un nouveau tambour.
   

Afin de célébrer la fin de l’année 2011, l’ambassade du Canada en Uruguay a élargi les possibilités d’enfants défavorisés en soutenant trois écoles uruguayennes ayant un lien particulier avec le Canada. Pour désigner ses écoles, le gouvernement de l’Uruguay donne le nom d’autres pays et de personnes influentes en Uruguay. Les trois écoles que soutient le Canada ont le mot « Canada » dans leur nom.

À l’Escuela Canadá Nº 26 [École Canada no 26], une école rurale située à Tala, dans le département de Canelones, les fonds ont servi à réaménager une salle réservée aux activités physiques et artistiques (incluant l’achat de nouvel équipement et de matériel), et à rénover la cuisine et la salle à manger. Cette école est plutôt isolée. Un seul instituteur y enseigne, et plusieurs enfants qui la fréquentent doivent parcourir, pour s’y rendre, plus de quatre kilomètres à pied, à cheval ou à bicyclette. L’école fait également office de salle communautaire pour les habitants des environs. On y célèbre des anniversaires et on y tient des réunions.

Dans le département de Florida, l’Escuela Canadá Nº 37 [École Canada no 37] a reçu de l’équipement récréatif et sportif afin de promouvoir la santé et de développer les aptitudes à la communication des élèves.

Située à Montevideo, l’Escuela Canadá Nº 174 [École Canada no 174] est la plus grande des trois écoles. Les nouveaux fonds ont servi à l’achat d’équipement dans le but de moderniser la salle d’éducation physique et les installations audiovisuelles. De plus, l’école a reçu une grande variété de matériel pour les cours d’anglais. Ces ressources permettront aux étudiants de développer leur potentiel au cours de leurs études secondaires.

En gage de reconnaissance, les élèves ont organisé une cérémonie au cours de laquelle ils ont présenté leurs dessins ainsi que des chansons et des numéros de danse traditionnelle de l’Uruguay à un public charmé, composé notamment de la ministre des Affaires étrangères du Canada, Diane Ablonczy, de l’ambassadeur du Canada, Francis Trudel, et du directeur du Centre de recherches pour le développement international, Federico Burone.

Le financement accordé aux trois écoles provenait du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-06-12