Canada-Zimbabwe Relations

Diplomatic relations and official representation

Canada established diplomatic relations with Zimbabwe upon its independence in 1980. Canada has an embassy in Harare, and Zimbabwe has an embassy located in Ottawa.

Bilateral relations

Following elections on July 31, 2013, Robert Mugabe was declared the President of Zimbabwe and his Zimbabwe African National Union-Patriotic Front (ZANU-PF) party secured a two-thirds majority in the National Assembly. Canada congratulated the people of Zimbabwe for participating peacefully in elections, but expressed serious concerns about the reported irregularities and lack of transparency in the democratic process, which call into question whether the results can credibly represent the will of the people. In Zimbabwe, Canada continues to support the emergence of a government respectful of human rights, democracy, freedom, and the rule of law. Canada also works to maintain political and diplomatic pressure to promote positive reforms in Zimbabwe that will improve the lives of the Zimbabwean people.

Prior to the elections, Canada supported progress under Zimbabwe’s Global Political Agreement (GPA), signed in September 2008. Some progress was achieved under the GPA in the lead-up to elections, including the restoration of public services, a decrease in politically motivated violence, and the enactment of a new constitution.

In 2008, under the Special Economic Measures Act (Zimbabwe) Regulations, Canada imposed targeted economic measures which froze the assets designated persons (177 individuals, 4 entities). The Regulations also banned the export or transport of arms and related material to Zimbabwe, and prohibited the provision of technical or financial assistance relating to arms. However, these measures do not impeded trade and investment with the vast majority of Zimbabweans. Canada will review these targeted measures once there are genuine and lasting policy shifts towards democratic and accountable governance, as well as respect for human rights and the rule of law.

Trade and Investment

Two-way merchandise trade rose to $11.8 million in 2013, consisting of $4.2 million in exports to, and $7.6 million in imports from, Zimbabwe. Top Canadian merchandise exports to Zimbabwe include machinery, equipment, cereals, medical instruments, and electric machinery. Top Canadian merchandise imports comprise mainly of ores, nickel and related products, vermiculite and granite, as well as tobacco products. Canadian investment in Zimbabwe is predominantly in the mining sector. The number of Zimbabwean students studying in Canada has increased from 222 in 2007 to 416 in 2013, showing a continued growth of 87% over the last six years.

Development Assistance

As part of the Government of Canada's Economic Action Plan 2012, Canada is restructuring and streamlining its operations. As a result, the bilateral development assistance program for Zimbabwe ended in March 2014. Zimbabwe will continue to remain eligible for support through the Pan-Africa regional program, as well as through Multilateral and Global programs (including international humanitarian assistance when needed) and the Partnerships with Canadians Program. Furthermore, over the past years, the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives administered by the Embassy has been providing support to local organizations to promote democracy, human rights and the rule of law.

June 2014


* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page .

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

zimbabwe.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Découvrir le Canada

Relations Canada-Zimbabwe

Relations diplomatiques et représentation officielle

Le Canada a établi des relations diplomatiques avec le Zimbabwe lors de son indépendance en 1980. Le Canada a ouvert une ambassade à Harare, et l’ambassade du Zimbabwe au Canada se trouve à Ottawa.

Relations bilatérales

À la suite des élections du 31 juillet 2013, Robert Mugabe a été nommé président du Zimbabwe. Son parti, à savoir l’Union nationale africaine du Zimbabwe – Front patriotique (ZANU-PF), a obtenu la majorité des deux tiers de l’Assemblée nationale. Le Canada a félicité les habitants du Zimbabwe pour le déroulement pacifique des élections, mais a exprimé de graves préoccupations concernant les irrégularités signalées et le manque de transparence au cours du processus démocratique, mettant ainsi en doute le fait que les résultats représentent de manière crédible les volontés de la population. Le Canada appuie toujours au Zimbabwe l’émergence d’un gouvernement respectueux des droits de la personne, de la démocratie, de la liberté et de la primauté du droit. Le Canada continuera d’exercer des pressions politiques et diplomatiques afin de promouvoir des réformes positives au Zimbabwe qui auront pour effet d’améliorer la vie du peuple zimbabwéen.

Avant la tenue des élections, le Canada avait appuyé certains des progrès réalisés au Zimbabwe dans le cadre de l'Accord politique global (APG) signé en septembre 2008, notamment la reprise des services publics, la diminution d’actes de violence à caractère politique et la promulgation d’une nouvelle constitution.

En 2008, en vertu du Règlement sur les mesures économiques spéciales visant le Zimbabwe, le Canada a adopté des mesures économiques ciblées ayant pour effet de geler les actifs des personnes désignées (177 personnes et 4 entités). Ces mesures visent également l’interdiction des exportations et du transport d’armes et de matériel connexe au Zimbabwe, de même que toute forme d’aide technique ou financière reliée à l’armement. Toutefois, ces mesures n’entravent ni les investissements ni les échanges entre le Canada et la grande majorité des Zimbabwéens. Le Canada passera en revue ces sanctions ciblées lorsque le pays montrera des signes d’une véritable réorientation politique visant à assurer une gouvernance démocratique et responsable, et le respect des droits de la personne et de la primauté du droit.

Commerce et investissement

Les échanges bilatéraux de marchandises ont augmenté pour atteindre 11,8 millions de dollars en 2013, soit 4,2 millions de dollars en exportations vers le Zimbabwe et 7,6 millions de dollars en importations provenant de ce pays. Les principales marchandises canadiennes exportées vers le Zimbabwe comprennent les machines, l’équipement, les céréales, les instruments médicaux et les machines électriques. Les principales marchandises importées au Canada comprennent les minerais, le nickel et les produits connexes, la vermiculite et le granite ainsi que les produits du tabac. Les investissements du Canada au Zimbabwe se concentrent principalement dans le secteur minier du pays. Le nombre d’étudiants zimbabwéens au Canada est passé de 222 en 2007 à 416 en 2013, ce qui représente une croissance continue de 87 p. 100 au cours des six dernières années.

Aide au développement

Dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique 2012 du gouvernement du Canada, le Canada restructure et rationalise ses opérations. Par conséquent, le programme de développement bilatéral visant le Zimbabwe a pris fin en mars 2014. Le Zimbabwe demeurera admissible à un soutien par l'entremise du Programme régional panafricain, des programmes multilatéraux et mondiaux (y compris l'assistance humanitaire internationale, au besoin) et des Programmes des partenariats avec les Canadiens. En outre, au cours des dernières années, le Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales administré par l’ambassade du Canada a fourni un soutien à des organisations locales afin de promouvoir la démocratie, les droits de la personne et la primauté du droit.

Juin 2014


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2014-06-20