Lost / Stolen Passports

If your passport was lost or stolen, please contact the Embassy within office hours or the Operations Centre outside office hours (you may call the Embassy's general number to be transferred automatically to this office in Ottawa). Please advise where you are going next (back to Canada or to another country) and what is your expected travel date. 

Requirements to apply for a replacement passport (additional requirements may apply):

  1. Forms: you may download, print and complete the forms appearing on the checklist below.
  2. Photos (information in Spanish only): Obtain passport photos.  Instructions in English are attached to the application form.  It is your responsibility to check that the photos comply with the specifications
  3. Proof of citizenship: Ensure you have your original Canadian birth certificate or citizenship card. If you do not have your proof of citizenship with you in Argentina but somebody has access to it in Canada, you can request your family /friends to submit the original at a Passport Office in Canada. If no proof of citizenship is available, please note that the validity of your passport will be limited and that the passport will be non-extendable.  You will also have to submit form PPTC116 (which the Embassy can send you by email) and proof of immediate travel. 
  4. Valid identification issued by an official Government authority in Canada or abroad. If no valid identification is available, please note that the validity of your passport will be limited and that the passport will be non-extendable.
  5. References: In the application forms, you will need to provide the names of references (who are not relatives) in Argentina or Canada which the Embassy will have to contact. Please make sure you have their names, addresses and phone numbers handy. 
  6. Guarantor: If you do not have a guarantor in Argentina (eg. because you have been in Argentina for less than 2 years and are not travelling with any eligible Canadian passport holder), you will have to submit a Statutory Declaration in lieu of Guarantor/ PPT132. This form must be signed before a notary public or before a Consular Officer at the Embassy (appointment required, fee: CAD 50 or equivalent in pesos). Please note that the references on this form should be different from the ones indicated on the application form (4 references in total are required) 
  7. Travel itinerary: If you are travelling shortly, ensure you have a printout of your travel itinerary. 
  8. Police report: obtain a police report from the local police station.  The Police Report is not an Embassy requirement but may be required by local authorities and by insurance companies.  

In Buenos Aires you may contact:

Comisaría del Turista
Corrientes 436
Phone: (54-11) 4323-8900 ext 236170 or (54-11) 5050-9260

In Mendoza, you may contact:

Comisaría del Turista
Av. San Martín 1143
Mendoza
Tél: (54-261) 413 2135
email: policiaturistica@mendoza.gov.ar

Entry stamp: If your lost / stolen passport is replaced by the Embassy, the new passport will not bear the entry stamp into Argentina. Therefore, you will have to obtain an exit permit (habilitación de salida) at the Immigration office (Migraciones) or at certain airports (Ezeiza, Aeroparque)

Passports lost and found: Please note that as soon as you report the loss or theft of your Canadian passport to the Canadian government, it is automatically cancelled. If you find it, you will not be able to use it but will need to apply for a replacement document.

Checklist (lost/stolen passports):

  • PPTC040 (adults) or PPTC042 (children under 16)
  • PPTC203 (PDF * 34 KB)
  • PPTC132 (only if you have no guarantor - appointment required)
  • Proof of citizenship or PPTC116
  • Photos (information in Spanish only)
  • Fee
  • Travel itinerary
  • Police report

Si votre passeport canadien a été perdu ou volé, contactez l'ambassade pendant les heures de bureau ou le Centre d'opérations en dehors des heures d'ouverture (vous pouvez appeler l'ambassade pour être transféré automatiquement à ce bureau au Canada). Veuillez informer quelle sera votre destination (retour au Canada ou voyage à un autre pays) ainsi que la date de départ prévue. 

Exigences pour obtenir un passeport de remplacement (des exigences additionnelles peuvent appliquer) :

  1. Formulaires : Veuillez télécharger, imprimer et compléter les formulaires qui figurent sur la liste de rappel ci-dessous. 
  2. Photos (information en espagnol seulement): Obtenez des photos de passeport. Les instructions pour les photographies sont attachées au formulaire. Assurez-vous que les photos respectent les spécifications indiquées. 
  3. Preuve de citoyenneté : Vous devez présenter votre certificat de naissance canadien ou votre certificat de citoyenneté canadienne original. Si vous n'avez pas de preuve de citoyenneté avec vous en Argentine vous pouvez demander à un de vos proches au Canada de présenter l'original à un Bureau de Passeports au Canada. Si votre preuve de citoyenneté n'est pas disponible, la validité de votre passeport sera limitée et le passeport ne sera pas prorogeable. Dans ce cas, vous devrez remplir le formulaire PPTC116 (que l'ambassade pourra vous envoyer par courriel) et présenter votre itinéraire de voyage.
  4. Une pièce d’identité valide émise par une autorité gouvernementale au Canada ou à l’étranger. Si aucune pièce d’identité n’est disponible, la validité de votre passeport sera limitée et le passeport ne sera pas prorogeable.
  5. Références : Vous devez nous fournir les noms des références (qui n'ont aucun lien de parenté avec vous) en Argentine ou au Canada.  Assurez-vous que vous avez leurs noms, adresses et numéros de téléphone à portée de main. L'ambassade devra les contacter. 
  6. Répondant : Si vous n'avez pas de répondant en Argentine (parce que votre séjour dans le pays a été de moins de 2 ans et que vous ne voyagez pas avec un titulaire d’un passeport canadien qui pourrait agir comme répondant), vous devrez présenter une déclaration statutaire faute de répondant / PPTC1132. Ce formulaire devra être signé devant un notaire ou devant un agent consulaire à l'ambassade (rendez-vous requis, frais: CAD 50 en montant exact ou l'équivalent en pesos). Veuillez noter que les références sur ce formulaire doivent être différentes de celles indiquées sur la demande de passeport (4 références au total).
  7. Itinéraire de voyage : Si vous prévoyez voyager prochainement, assurez-vous d'avoir preuve de votre itinéraire de voyage. 
  8. Rapport de police : Obtenez un rapport de police (pas nécessaire au moment de présenter la demande de passeport mais il pourrait être requis par les autorités locales ainsi que par les assurances)

À Buenos Aires, contactez:

Commissariat de Police pour les touristes
Corrientes 436
Tél : (54-11) 4323-8900 ext 236170 or (54-11) 5050-9260

À Mendoza contactez:

Commissariat de Police pour les touristes
Av. San Martín 1143
Mendoza
Tél : (54-261) 413 2135
Courriel: policiaturistica@mendoza.gov.ar

Cachet d'entrée: Si votre passeport perdu/volé a été remplacé par l'ambassade, votre nouveau passeport n'aura pas le cachet d'entrée en Argentine. Vous devrez obtenir un permis de sortie (habilitación de salida) au bureau d'immigration de l'Argentine (Migraciones) ou dans certaines aéroports (Ezeiza, Aeroparque).

Passeports perdus et trouvés: Veuillez noter que dès que vous rapporterez la perte ou le vol de votre passeport canadien au gouvernement canadien, il est automatiquement annulé et même si vous le trouvez après, vous ne pourrez pas l'utiliser mais vous devrez demander un autre document de voyage.

Liste de rappel (passeports perdus ou volés)

  • PPTC041  (adultes) ou PPTC043 (moins de 16 ans)
  • PPTC203 (PDF * 34 ko)
  • PPTC132 (si vous n'avez pas de répondant - rendez-vous requis)
  • Preuve de citoyenneté ou PPTC116
  • Photos (information en espagnol seulement)
  • Frais
  • Itinéraire de voyage
  • Rapport de police