Entry / Exit Requirements - Argentina

Canadians traveling on regular passports do not require a visa to enter Argentina for tourism or business if their stay does not exceed three months.

For information on student, immigrant or other visas, please contact one the following:

Dual Nationals

Canadian-Argentine dual nationals may enter and leave Argentina on their Canadian passport only if their stay does not exceed 180 days. Once this period has elapsed, Argentine citizens must leave on a valid Argentine passport.

Airlines may not allow Canadian-Argentine dual nationals travelling on an Argentine passport plus a Canadian citizenship card to board flights bound for Canada. Please note that a Canadian passport is the only reliable and universally acceptable document that proves your right to return to Canada.

In many cases, this means that dual nationals will need to show both their Argentine passport (where the Argentine exit stamp will be placed) and their Canadian passport (proof of their right to enter Canada) when exiting Argentina. Canadian visas are not meant to be issued to Canadian citizens on a foreign passport for entry into Canada.

Exit requirements for minors (under 18)

Argentine-Canadian minors and Canadian minors having resident status in Argentina are subject to local regulations when leaving Argentina.

Immigration to Argentina

As stated above, the Embassy does not provide information on immigration to Argentina. However, as a general rule, documents which are usually required are the following:

  • Canadian birth certificate (long form)
  • RCMP Certificate of no Police Record
  • Valid Canadian Passport

Please contact the Embassy for information on how to apply for the above documents. Please note that all documents issued in Canada must bear the legalization of the Argentine Consulates in Toronto or Montreal.

Other Visa Services

Exigences d'entrée / sortie pour l'Argentine

Les citoyens canadiens qui voyagent avec un passeport canadien ordinaire n'ont pas besoin de visa pour un voyage de tourisme ou d’affaires.

Pour des renseignements sur les visas de travail, d'étudiant, d'immigrant ou d'autres visas veuillez contacter : 

La double citoyenneté

Les citoyens canadiens-argentins peuvent entrer en Argentine avec leur passeport canadien seulement si leur séjour n'excède pas les 180 jours. Une fois que cette durée est dépassée, ils doivent sortir avec un passeport argentin valide.

Les lignes aériennes peuvent refuser les citoyens canadiens-argentins qui voyagent avec un passeport argentin et un certificat de citoyenneté canadienne sur un vol à destination du Canada. Veuillez noter que le passeport canadien est le seul document mondialement reconnu comme preuve de votre droit d'entrer au Canada.

Dans certains cas, les citoyens canadiens-argentins devront présenter à la sortie de l'Argentine leur passeport argentin (où on mettra le cachet de sortie de l'Argentine) et leur passeport canadien (comme preuve de leur droit d'entrée au Canada). La Section Visas ne donne pas de visas à des citoyens canadiens qui voyagent au Canada avec un passeport étranger.

Exigences de sortie pour les mineurs (moins de 18 ans)

Les mineurs canadiens-argentins et les mineurs canadiens, ayant un visa argentine temporaire ou permanent, sont sujets à la loi locale sur la sortie de mineurs de l'Argentine.

Immigration en Argentine

L'ambassade n'est pas en mesure de fournir des renseignements sur l'immigration en Argentine. Néanmoins, en général, les documents normalement requis sont les suivants:

  • Certificat de naissance au Canada (grand format)
  • Certificat d'absence de casier judiciaire émis par la GRC
  • Passeport canadien valide

Pour connaître les procédures à suivre afin d'obtenir les documents mentionnés ci-haut, veuillez contacter l'ambassade. Prière de noter que tous les documents émis au Canada doivent avoir la légalisation du consulat argentin à Toronto ou à Montréal.

Visas