Visit of Minister of Families, Children and Social Development of Canada, Jean-Yves Duclos

From May 15 to 16, Jean-Yves Duclos, Minister of Families, Children and Social Development of Canada, visited Argentina to co-chair a Symposium on Social Inclusion with the Minister of Social Development of Argentina, Carolina Stanley.

The Canada-Argentina Symposium on Social Inclusion, held at Palacio San Martín, was a joint initiative of Vice-President Gabriela Michetti and Minister Duclos and allowed numerous representatives and experts from Argentina and Canada to exchange practices and experiences that will help to consider the Social inclusion as a central axis of economic development and poverty reduction.

Several field visits took place in Buenos Aires as well as various meetings, namely with the Minister of Labor, Employment and Social Security, Jorge Triaca, with whom Minister Duclos confirmrf the conclusion of the negotiations of the Social Security Agreement between Argentina and Canada. The agreement should be signed in 2017.

Minister Duclos also participated in the signing of the Customs Mutual Assistance Agreement between Argentina and Canada, along with Vice-President Michetti and the Minister of the Interior, Public Works and Housing, Rogelio Frigerio. The agreement was signed by Ambassador Fry on behalf of the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) and by the president of the Federal Public Revenue Administration of Argentina (AFIP), Alberto Abad.

This agreement is a cooperation instrument that will make it easier to share information with a view to preventing, investigating and combating customs offenses, especially customs fraud.

Both the signing of the customs agreement and the visit of Minister Duclos are part of the priority issues established by President Mauricio Macri and Prime Minister Trudeau during his official visit to Argentina in November 2016.

For more information:
Embassy of Canada
Public affairs section Tel. (5411) 48081000
www.facebook.com/CanadaArgentina

Visite du ministre de la Famille, des Enfants et du Développement social du Canada, Jean-Yves Duclos

Les 15 et 16 mai derniers, le ministre de la Famille, des Enfants et du Développement social du Canada, Jean-Yves Duclos, s’est rendu en Argentine afin de de coprésider un Symposium sur l’inclusion sociale avec la ministre du Développement social de l’Argentine, Carolina Stanley.

Le Symposium sur l’inclusion sociale Canada-Argentine qui a eu lieu au Palacio San Martín découle d’une idée conjointe entre la vice-présidente Gabriela Michetti et le ministre Duclos et a permis  à de nombreux représentants et experts argentins et canadiens d’échanger sur leurs expériences et sur les pratiques qui permettront de faire de l’inclusion sociale un enjeu central du développement économique et de la réduction de la pauvreté.

Plusieurs visites de terrain ont également eu lieu à Buenos Aires, ainsi que différentes rencontres, notamment une avec le ministre argentin du Travail, de l’Emploi et de la Sécurité sociale, Jorge Triaca, avec lequel le ministre Duclos a pu confirmer la clôture des négociations pour l’Accord sur la sécurité sociale entre le Canada et l’Argentine. L’accord devrait être signé en 2017.

Le ministre Duclos a également pu assister à la signature de l’Accord d'assistance mutuelle en matière douanière en présence de la vice-présidente Gabriela Michetti et du ministre de l’Intérieur, des Travaux publics et du Logement, Rogelio Frigerio.

L’accord a été signé par l’ambassadeur Fry pour l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) et par le président de l’Administration fédérale des revenus publics de l’Argentine (AFIP), Alberto Abad. Il s’agit d’un instrument de coopération qui permettra de partager plus facilement l’information en vue de prévenir, d’enquêter et de lutter contre les délits douaniers, plus spécifiquement contre la fraude douanière.

La signature de cet accord ainsi que la visite du ministre Duclos s’inscrivent au cœur des sujets prioritaires décidés par le président Mauricio Macri et le premier ministre Trudeau lors de sa visite officielle en Argentine en novembre 2016.

Pour plus d’information:
Ambassade du Canada
Section d’affaires publiques Tel. (5411) 48081000
www.facebook.com/CanadaArgentine