Message from the Ambassador

Ambassador - David Usher

Welcome to the website of the Embassy of Canada to Argentina and Paraguay. Our Embassy is located in Buenos Aires, Argentina and we have an Honorary Consulate in Asunción, Paraguay. It is my great honour to represent Canada in these two important partners for Canada.

As a newly arrived Ambassador I am excited to have the opportunity to learn more about my two countries of accreditation, Argentina and Paraguay. Canada has strong and longstanding relations with these two countries built on significant people to people ties, growing commercial links and many shared perspectives in regional and multilateral organizations. Our countries have much in common with respect to diversity, inclusive growth, and prosperity. I look forward to further strengthening our relationships.

As Argentina and Paraguay are both members of Mercosur, together we are working to increase economic opportunities for the benefit of all member countries through negotiations toward a comprehensive Canada-Mercosur free trade agreement. Together we can build a strong and vibrant region that benefits all.

Whether you are Argentine, Paraguayan or Canadian, please use this website to learn more about the services of the Government of Canada and Canada’s relations with Argentina and Paraguay. You can also follow the Embassy’s Twitter and Facebook accounts for regular updates on our activities in both countries.

David Usher
Ambassador of Canada


Biography

David Usher (BA Hons [History], Carleton University, 1979; BEd, University of Ottawa, 1980; MEd, University of Toronto, 1986), prior to joining the public service in 1991, worked in the field of development in Nigeria, Malawi, Haiti and the Philippines. In 1991, he joined External Affairs and International Trade Canada as a Trade Commissioner. From 1994 to 1997, he served as Second Secretary at the Embassy in Turkey. In 2001, he became a Counsellor at the Permanent Mission of Canada to the World Trade Organization, in Geneva. From 2004 to 2008, he was Director of the Trade Controls Policy Division and then of the Softwood Lumber Controls Division. From 2008 to 2009, he was Senior Departmental Adviser in the Office of the Minister of International Trade. From 2009 to 2012, he served as Minister-Counsellor and Deputy Permanent Representative at the Permanent Delegation of Canada to the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, in Paris. From 2012 to 2015, he served as Ambassador to Ethiopia, Djibouti and Permanent Observer to the African Union. From September 2015 to October 2018, he was Director General of Trade Negotiations in Global Affairs Canada, dealing with a wide range of trade policy issues.

Message de l'ambassadeur

Ambassador - David Usher

Bienvenue sur le site web de l'ambassade du Canada en Argentine et au Paraguay. Notre ambassade est située à Buenos Aires, en Argentine, et nous avons un consulat honoraire à Asunción, au Paraguay. C'est pour moi un grand honneur de représenter le Canada auprès de ces deux partenaires importants pour le Canada.

En tant qu'ambassadeur récemment arrivé, je suis ravi d'avoir l'occasion d'en apprendre davantage sur mes deux pays d'accréditation, l'Argentine et le Paraguay. Le Canada entretient des relations solides et durables avec ces deux pays, nouant des relations interpersonnelles, des échanges commerciaux grandissants et de nombreuses perspectives partagées au sein d'organisations régionales et multilatérales. Nos pays ont beaucoup en commun en ce qui concerne la diversité, la croissance inclusive et la prospérité. Je souhaite de continuer à renforcer nos relations.

L'Argentine et le Paraguay étant tous deux membres du Mercosur, nous travaillons ensemble pour accroître les perspectives économiques dans l'intérêt de tous les pays membres, par le biais de négociations en vue de la conclusion d'un accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et le Mercosur. Ensemble, nous pouvons construire une région forte et dynamique qui profite à tous.

Si vous êtes Argentin, Paraguayen ou Canadien, veuillez utiliser ce site web pour en savoir plus sur les services du gouvernement du Canada et sur les relations du Canada avec l'Argentine et le Paraguay. Vous pouvez également suivre les comptes Twitter et Facebook de l'ambassade pour des mises à jour régulières sur nos activités dans les deux pays.

David Usher
Ambassadeur du Canada


Biographie

M. David Usher (B.A. avec spécialisation [histoire], Université Carleton, 1979; B.Ed., Université d’Ottawa, 1980; M.Ed., Université de Toronto, 1986), avant d’entrer à la fonction publique en 1991, a travaillé dans le domaine du développement au Nigéria, au Malawi, en Haïti et aux Philippines. En 1991, il s’est joint à l’équipe d’Affaires extérieures et Commerce extérieur Canada en tant que délégué commercial. De 1994 à 1997, il a occupé le poste de deuxième secrétaire à l’ambassade en Turquie. En 2001, il est devenu conseiller à la mission permanente du Canada auprès de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce, à Genève. De 2004 à 2008, il a été directeur de la Direction de la politique sur la réglementation commerciale, puis de la Direction des contrôles sur le bois d’œuvre. De 2008 à 2009, il a été conseiller ministériel principal au cabinet du ministre du Commerce international. De 2009 à 2012, il a occupé le poste de ministre-conseiller et représentant permanent adjoint à la Délégation permanente du Canada auprès de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques, à Paris. De 2012 à 2015, il a été nommé ambassadeur en Éthiopie et à Djibouti et observateur permanent auprès de l’Union africaine. Depuis septembre 2015 jusqu’au mois d’octobre 2018, il a été  directeur général des négociations commerciales au sein d’Affaires mondiales Canada, et il a été chargé d’un large éventail d’enjeux liés à la politique commerciale.