Canada-Australia Defence Relations

Teamwork, collaboration and a history of shared success in peace and war, this statement exemplifies the defence relationship between Canada and Australia. For more than a Century, the two countries have cooperated closely in all aspects of defence relations. This partnership has included efforts to strengthen mutual alliances, enhance interoperability, responding to humanitarian disasters, assisting in capacity building efforts and conducting peacekeeping, stabilization and combat operations around the world.

The Canadian Defence Advisor (CDA) operates from the High Commission of Canada in Canberra and is responsible for furthering all Defence related issues between Canada and Australia. The CDA works to maximise the opportunities for the two countries to exchange information, train and operate together with a view to increasing operational interoperability and efficiency that is so essential to effective military operations. The extent of these interactions is virtually limitless and results in over 300 annual visits, training exchanges and meetings between the two Defence communities.

The CDA is also accredited to New Zealand under the same context and conditions as observed in Australia. Although not resident in New Zealand, the CDA manages files through the Wellington mission and deploys frequently to New Zealand to support the bi-lateral relationship. The CDA supports both the Australian and New Zealand missions with defence related matters regarding Papua New Guinea and all Pacific Islands associated to the missions.

The CDA also acts to assist, where possible, in defence-related trade matters in collaboration with the mission’s trade staff. Additionally, the CDA acts as the in-country point of contact for inquiries related to Veteran’s issues, recruiting, special defence related programs and commemorative events.

Although Ottawa-based staffs handle the main administration load for the Canadian Armed Forces personnel in Australia and New Zealand, the Canberra office provides immediate support and assistance to Canadian Armed Forces personnel (Regular and Primary Reserves) and DND civilians serving on exchange, liaison or secondment to the Australian Defence Force or New Zealand Defence Force.

Links to sites dedicated to Canadian Defence

Relations en matière de défense Canada-Australie

Le travail d'équipe, la collaboration et une histoire de succès partagé dans la paix et la guerre, cette déclaration illustre la relation de défense entre le Canada et l'Australie. Depuis plus d'un siècle, les deux pays ont coopéré étroitement dans tous les aspects des relations de défense. Ce partenariat a inclus les efforts visant à : renforcer les alliances mutuelles, améliorer l'interopérabilité, aider dans les efforts de renforcement des capacités, et la conduite des opérations de maintien de la paix, de stabilisation en réponse aux catastrophes humanitaires et de combat au tour du monde.

Le Conseiller Défense du Canada (CDA) opère à partir du Haut-commissariat du Canada à Canberra et est  responsable de promouvoir toutes les questions liées à la défense entre le Canada et l'Australie. Le CDA travaille à maximiser les opportunités pour les deux pays d'échanger des informations, de former et fonctionner ensemble en vue d'accroître l'interopérabilité et l'efficacité opérationnelle qui est si essentiel pour assurer que les opérations militaires soient  efficaces. L'ampleur de ces intéractions est pratiquement illimitée et engendre plus de 300 visites annuelles, échanges de formation et  rencontres entre les deux communautés de la Défense.

Le CDA est également accrédité en Nouvelle-Zélande sous le même contexte et conditions que celles observées en Australie. Bien que ne résidant pas en Nouvelle-Zélande, Le CDA gère les fichiers à travers la mission de  Wellington et déploie souvent en Nouvelle-Zélande pour soutenir la relation bilatérale. Le CDA prend en charge les missions Australienne et Nouvelle-Zélandaise à propos de questions liées à la défense concernant la Papouasie-Nouvelle Guinée et toutes les îles du Pacifique associées aux missions.

Le CDA agit également pour aider, si possible, dans les questions commerciales liées à la défense, en collaboration avec la section commercial de la mission. En outre, le CDA est le point de contact pour les demandes liées à des questions relatives aux anciens combattants, le recrutement, les programmes spéciaux liés à la défense et des événements commémoratifs.

Bien que l’état-major d'Ottawa gère l'administration du personnel des Forces armées canadiennes en Australie et en Nouvelle-Zélande, le bureau du CDA Canberra offre soutien et assistance immédiate pour le personnel des Forces armées canadiennes (régulières et primaire réserves) et des civils du MDN servant à l'échange, liaison ou en détachement des Forces de défense Australienne ou Nouvelle-Zélandaise.

Liens vers des sites canadiens consacrés à la défense