Midwinter Ceremony Held in Tasmania to Commemorate Canadian Twin Otter Crew


 Wreaths for the Canadian aircrew

On June 21 at the Australian Antarctic Division in Kingston, Tasmania,  a midwinter ceremony was held to commemorate the Canadian Twin Otter aircrew Bob Heath, Mike Denton and Perry Andersen, who died on a flight from the South Pole to Terra Nova Bay on 23 January 2013.

The ceremony was attended by friends and fellow expeditioners who spoke of the special bond of trust and good will that develops between people working in such an extreme environment. Bob, Mike and Perry were spoken of with deep fondness and respect for their professionalism, experience and fine company.

The men’s names were added to the commemorative rock at the Division on which plaques are affixed to honour those who have lost their lives in Antarctica. The ceremony was attended by the Acting High Commissioner David McKinnon and hosted by the Australian Antarctic Division Director Dr Tony Fleming.


 Acting Head of Mission for Canada, David McKinnon


Commemoriation rock with plaques at the Australian Antarctic Division

cérémonie de la mi-hiver a été organisée en Tasmanie en la mémoire des trois membres de l'équipage du Twin Otter canadien


Couronne pour les membres d’équipage canadien

Le 21 Juin dernier, à la Division antarctique australienne de Kingston, en Tasmanie, une cérémonie de la mi-hiver était organisée en la mémoire des trois membres d’équipage du Twin Otter canadien Bob Heath, Mike Denton et Perry Andersen ayant trouvé la mort  le 23 Janvier 2013 lors d’un vol reliant le Pôle Sud et la Baie Terra Nova.

Assistaient à cette cérémonie des amis et collègues d’autres expéditions qui ont exprimé le  lien de confiance et bonne volonté se développant entre les personnes travaillant dans un tel environnement extrême. C’est avec émotion et profond respect que furent évoqués le professionnalisme, l’expérience et  la jovialité de Bob, Mike et Perry.

Leurs noms ont été ajoutés sur les plaques du rocher commémoratif de la Division érigées en l’honneur de ceux ayant perdu leur vie en Antarctique. A cette cérémonie étaient présents le Haut -Commissaire par intérim, Mr David McKinnon, et son hôte le Directeur de la Division antarctique australienne, Dr Tony Fleming.  


Haut -Commissaire par intérim, David McKinnon


Plaques du rocher commemoratives de la Division antartctique australienne