Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada


  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Bilateral Relations
  4. >
  5. Canada - Belgium

43 Ambassadors in Brussels support the International Day Against Homophobia, Transphobia & Biphobia on May 17 and diplomats from 24 countries will proudly join the Belgian Pride Parade in Brussels on May 18, 2019

Brussels - May 16, 2019

We, Heads of Diplomatic Missions in Brussels, join together to express our support for the International Day Against Homophobia, Transphobia & Biphobia as a celebration of diversity around the world.

Across our borders, we remain committed to improving institutional protection against discrimination; removing or amending discriminatory laws, policies and practices; reducing hate speech, violence or harassment based on discrimination; and increasing the participation of LGBTI persons in our societies.

Because LGBTI rights are human rights. Because inclusive and tolerant societies are more peaceful and more prosperous.

Criminalisation of and intolerance towards LGBTI persons denies them their political and civil rights just as much as their economic, social, and cultural rights. It weakens society by letting violence and bullying go unchecked, with severe consequences for the health and well-being of victims and their families.

On May 18, for the first time in Brussels, staff from our Embassies will proudly walk together in the Belgian Pride parade in Brussels behind a single #DiplomatsforEquality banner, to demonstrate unity and solidarity among the Brussels diplomatic community for the rights of LGBTI persons everywhere.

Check out the rainbow flags flying on our missions.  Follow us through the weekend on our social networks accounts. Come join us at the Brussels Pride!

Albania : H.E. Suela Janina (Amb. to Belgium)
Argentina : H.E. Pablo Grinspun (Amb. to Belgium)
Australia : H.E. Justin Brown (Amb. to Belgium, EU & NATO)
Austria : H.E. Elisabeth Kornfeind (Amb. to Belgium & NATO)
Canada : H.E. Olivier Nicoloff (Amb. to Belgium); H.E. Daniel Costello (Amb. to EU); H.E. David Angell (Amb. to NATO)
Costa Rica : H.E. Sergio Alfaro Salas (Amb. to Belgium & EU)
Czech Republic : H.E. Jakub Dürr (Amb. to EU); H.E. Jaroslav Zajíček (Amb. to EU - COREPER I); H.E. Tomáš Szunyog (Amb. to EU - PSC)
Denmark : H.E. Kim Jørgensen (Amb. to EU); H.E. Liselotte Plesner (Amb. to NATO)
Greece : H.E. Eleftheria Galathianaki (Amb. to Belgium)
Iceland : H.E. Anna Jóhannsdóttir (Amb. to NATO)
Luxembourg : H.E. Arlette Conzemius (Amb. to Belgium & NATO); H.E. Georges Friden (Amb. to EU)
Malta : H.E. Ray Azzopardi (Amb. to Belgium & NATO); H.E. Daniel Azzopardi (Amb. to EU)
Mexico : H.E. Mauricio Escanero (Amb. to Belgium & EU)
Netherlands : H.E. Maryem van den Heuvel (Amb. to Belgium); H.E. Robert de Groot (Amb. to EU);  H.E. Marisa Gerards (Amb. to NATO)
New Zealand : H.E. Gregory Andrews (Amb. to Belgium); H.E. David Taylor (Amb. to EU & NATO)
Norway : H.E. Ingrid Schulerud (Amb. to Belgium); H.E. Rolf Einar Fife (Amb. to EU); H.E. Øystein Bø (Amb. to NATO)
Slovenia : H.E. Rado Genorio (Amb. to Belgium); H.E. Janez Lenarčič (Amb. to EU); H.E. Jelko Kacin (Amb. to NATO)
Spain : H.E. Beatriz Larrotcha Palma (Amb. to Belgium); H.E. Miguel Fernández-Palacios (Amb. to NATO)
Sweden : H.E. Mikael Lindvall (Amb. to EU - PSC); H.E. Lars Danielsson (Amb. to EU - Coreper II); H.E. Annika Hahn-Englund (Amb. to Belgium)
: H.E. Urs Bucher (Amb. to EU); Claude Crottaz (Chargé d'Affaires, Emb to Belgium)
United Kingdom : H.E. Alison Rose (Amb. to Belgium); H.E. Sarah MacIntosh (Amb. to NATO); H.E. Tim Barrow (Amb. to EU)
United States : H.E. Ronald J. Gidwitz (Amb. to Belgium); H.E. Gordon D. Sondland (Amb. to EU)


Date Modified: