Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Belgium.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Office
  4. >
  5. Contact Us

Ambassador Olivier Nicoloff

Message from the Ambassador

I’m very happy to welcome you to the website of the Embassy of Canada in Brussels. Our Embassy covers the full spectrum of our relations - political, economic, commercial, consular and cultural - between Canada on the one hand and Belgium and Luxembourg on the other. I hope that this website will allow you to appreciate the richness and scope of those relations.

Since arriving in Brussels, I have had the opportunity to visit many sites in Belgium and Luxembourg. Everywhere, I have been impressed by the warm welcome reserved to Canadians, by our shared history that is always present, by the solidity of our links and by the many events that continue to enrich those links.

Several examples of these types of events that I have been able to attend, come to mind: commemoration ceremonies to the memory of Canadian soldiers who were killed here during the First and Second World War; cultural events with Canadian artists; companies that announce new investments or new projects; our governments that often work together within multilateral organisations to find solutions to the many crises that affect our world.

Many Canadians live in Belgium or Luxembourg and I am also very pleased about the large number of Canadian visitors, students and professionals who come here and who enrich the links that unite us.

The visits to Canada by Luxembourg Prime Minister Xavier Bettel in April 2017 and by Belgian Prime Minister Charles Michel in June of the same year have strengthened our political dialogue at the highest level. The visit of the King and Queen of the Belgians in March 2018, leading an impressive delegation including business people and academics, has confirmed our mutual interest in seeing our already rich and beneficial bilateral relations continue to grow and prosper.

Canadians, Belgians, and Luxembourgers share the same fundamental values as our societies face the same difficult challenges: as we hear in many places calls for isolationism and protectionism, it is more important than ever to promote and fight for openness and dialogue, tolerance, respect, but also for solidarity and cohesion.

I hope that you find in these pages the information that you are interested in as well as the responses to the questions you may have. Do not hesitate to follow us via the Embassy Twitter account @CanEmbBeLux; send us your comments about the website by e-mail bru@international.gc.ca

I wish you a productive visit.

Olivier Nicoloff
Ambassador of Canada to the Kingdom of Belgium and to the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg

Biography - Ambassador Olivier Nicoloff

Ambassador Olivier NicoloffH.E. Mr. Olivier Nicoloff (BA [Political Science], McGill University, 1978; MA [International Relations], Laval University, 1982) joined the Department of External Affairs in 1987.

At Headquarters, he worked in the Human Resources Directorate (1991 to 1993) and held the position of coordinator of the Anti-personnel Mine Action Team (1999 to 2002). Overseas, he served in Abidjan (1988 to 1989), Dakar (1989 to 1991), Tunis (1993 to 1996), Moscow (1996 to 1999) and Prague (2002 to 2006).

Upon his return to Ottawa, he served as director of the Intergovernmental Relations Division (2006 to 2009), of the Democracy, Commonwealth and La Francophonie Division (2009 to 2012) and of the European Union and Europe Bilateral and Institutional Relations Division (2012 to 2016).

Mr. Nicoloff is married to Isabelle Guévin, and they have two adult children, Raphaël and Catherine.

Footer

Date Modified:
2019-12-06

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Belgique.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux

Ambassadeur Olivier Nicoloff

Message de l'ambassadeur

Je suis très heureux de vous souhaiter la bienvenue sur le site web de l’Ambassade du Canada à Bruxelles. Notre mission couvre l’ensemble de nos relations, qu’elles soient politiques, économiques, commerciales, consulaires, culturelles, entre le Canada et la Belgique et le Luxembourg, et j’espère que ce site vous permettra d’en mesurer la richesse et l’étendue.

Depuis mon arrivée à Bruxelles j’ai eu la chance d’effectuer plusieurs déplacements à l’intérieur de la Belgique et au Luxembourg. Partout j’ai été impressionné par l’accueil réservé aux Canadien(ne)s, par l’histoire toujours présente et vivante, par la solidité de nos liens, et par les multiples événements qui continuent de les enrichir.

Plusieurs exemples de ce type d’événements, certains auxquels j’ai déjà pu être associé, me viennent en tête : des cérémonies de commémoration à la mémoire des soldats canadiens tués ici-même pendant les deux grandes guerres; des spectacles d’artistes de chez nous; des compagnies qui annoncent de nouveaux investissements ou de nouveaux projets; nos gouvernements qui travaillent souvent ensemble au sein des organisations multilatérales pour trouver des solutions aux trop nombreuses crises qui affligent notre monde.

Par ailleurs de nombreux Canadien(ne)s habitent en Belgique ou au Luxembourg, et je me réjouis du grand nombre de visiteurs, d’étudiant(e)s, de professionnel(le)s qui tous les jours se retrouvent ici et viennent également enrichir les liens unissant nos pays.

Les visites au Canada du Premier ministre du Luxembourg Xavier Bettel en avril 2017 et du Premier ministre de la Belgique Charles Michel en juin de la même année ont permis de renforcer notre dialogue politique au plus haut niveau. La visite du Roi et de la Reine des Belges en mars 2018 à la tête d’une imposante délégation incluant des gens d’affaires et des universitaires est venu confirmer notre intérêt réciproque à voir nos relations déjà riches et bénéfiques continuer de croître et de prospérer.

Canadiens, Belges et Luxembourgeois partagent les mêmes valeurs fondamentales alors que nos sociétés font face aux mêmes défis difficiles : devant les sirènes du repli sur soi et du protectionnisme, c’est plus que jamais le moment de l’ouverture et du dialogue, de la tolérance, du respect, mais également de la solidarité et de la cohésion.

J’espère que vous trouverez dans ces pages les informations qui vous intéressent ainsi que les réponses à vos questions. N’hésitez pas à nous suivre sur le compte Twitter de l’Ambassade @AmbCanBeLux et à nous envoyer tout commentaire sur ce site à bru@international.gc.ca

Bonne visite !

Olivier Nicoloff
Ambassadeur du Canada auprès du Royaume de Belgique et auprès du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg

Biographie – Ambassadeur Olivier Nicoloff

Ambassadeur Olivier NicoloffS.E. M. Olivier Nicoloff (B.A. [sciences politiques], Université McGill, 1978; M.A. [relations internationales], Université Laval, 1982) est entré au ministère des Affaires extérieures en 1987.

À l’administration centrale, il a travaillé à la Direction des ressources humaines de 1991 à 1993 et a été coordonnateur de l’équipe d’action contre les mines antipersonnel de 1999 à 2002.

À l’étranger, il a été affecté à Abidjan en 1988-1989, à Dakar de 1989 à 1991, à Tunis de 1993 à 1996, à Moscou de 1996 à 1999, et à Prague de 2002 à 2006. De retour à Ottawa, il a été directeur des Relations intergouvernementales de 2006 à 2009, de la Démocratie, du Commonwealth et de la Francophonie de 2009 à 2012, et des Relations bilatérales et institutionnelles avec l’Europe et l’Union européenne de 2012 à 2016.

M. Nicoloff est marié à Isabelle Guévin, et le couple a deux enfants d’âge adulte, Raphaël et Catherine.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2019-12-06