Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Belgium.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Office
  4. >
  5. Contact Us

Appointment of an Honorary Consul of Canada in Wallonia

Brussels, 27 November 2019

The Embassy of Canada to Belgium and Luxembourg is pleased to announce the appointment of Mr. Luc Arnould as the first Honorary Consul of Canada in Wallonia.

The Embassy is pleased that the creation of this position will contribute to the visibility and presence of Canada in Wallonia, increase exposure to Canada and its diversity, its environment rich in experiences for young Walloons, its feminist foreign policy and its effort to enhance trade for shared and inclusive prosperity.

Currently, Canada is the G7 member state with the highest economic growth (source : IMF), the easiest country to start a business in the G20 (source : World bank), and its population is among the most educated in the world. With 14 free trade agreements covering 1.5 billion consumers and access to a combined GDP of 50 billion dollars, Canada is one of the most open and connected economies in the world. Innovation remains a priority with strategic investments in education, sciences and industry to make Canada a global centre for innovation.

A resident of the Walloon capital, Mr. Luc Arnould brings great value  to the table in his capacity as the first-ever Honorary Consul of Canada in Wallonia. Mr. Arnould is a civil engineer graduated from the Université de Liège, and he has taught there as well as at two higher education colleges in Namur. He worked in research programmes focusing on energy in Brussels  and medical research in Charleroi.

His vast experience in international relations includes a mandate as Délégué de la Wallonie et de la Communauté française de Belgique in Quebec and working as scientific counsellor at the Belgian Embassy in the United States where he covered Canada. Mr. Arnould also served as the director of NEW (Namur-Europe-Wallonie); a role in which he worked for many years promoting Namur's international standing and represented Namur several times at the Association Internationale des Maires Francophones.

Ambassador Nicoloff quote: "I am very pleased with the appointment of an Honorary Consul of Canada in Wallonia; it's a long-term project for the Embassy that materializes today. With our Honorary Consul in place, the Embassy is  well equipped to increase exchanges and mutual understanding between Belgium and Canada, taking into account Wallonia's specific traits."

Official contact:
Mr. Luc Arnould
Honorary Consul of Canada in Wallonia
E-mail: wallonia@international.gc.ca

Consular services (passports, citizenship and consular assistance) will continue to be delivered by the Consular Section of the Embassy of Canada in Brussels, Phone +32 (0)2 7410611

Footer

Date Modified:
2019-11-27

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Belgique.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux
  4. >
  5. Contactez-nous

Nomination d'un Consul honoraire du Canada en Wallonie

Bruxelles, le 27 novembre 2019

L'ambassade du Canada en Belgique et au Luxembourg est heureuse d'annoncer la nomination de M. Luc Arnould comme premier Consul honoraire du Canada en Wallonie.

L'ambassade se réjouit de cette nouvelle position appelée à contribuer à augmenter la visibilité et la présence du Canada en Wallonie, à mieux y faire connaitre le Canada et sa diversité, son environnement riche d'expériences pour les jeunes wallons, sa politique étrangère féministe et sa volonté de dynamiser les échanges commerciaux pour une prospérité partagée et inclusive.

Le Canada est actuellement le pays du G7 dont l'économie connaît la croissance la plus rapide (FMI), le pays du G20 où il est le plus facile de démarrer une entreprise (Banque mondiale), et sa population active est l'une des plus instruites au monde. Avec 14 accords de libre-échange couvrant 1,5 milliard de consommateurs et un accès à un produit intérieur brut combiné de près de 50 milliards de dollars, le Canada est l'une des économies les plus ouvertes et les plus branchées du monde. L'innovation y demeure une priorité continue avec des investissements stratégiques dans l'éducation, les sciences et l'industrie pour faire du Canada un centre mondial de l'innovation.

Résidant de la capitale wallonne, M. Luc Arnould apporte une solide valeur ajoutée comme premier consul honoraire du Canada en Wallonie. Ingénieur civil physicien diplômé de l'Université de Liège, il y a également enseigné de même que dans deux hautes écoles namuroises. Il a travaillé dans un programme de recherche en énergie à Bruxelles et dans le domaine de la recherche médicale à Charleroi.

Sa vaste expérience des relations internationales comprend un mandat de Délégué de la Wallonie et de la Communauté française de Belgique au Québec, et il fut Conseiller scientifique à l'ambassade de Belgique aux États-Unis couvrant aussi le Canada. En tant que directeur de NEW (Namur-Europe-Wallonie), il a longtemps travaillé au rayonnement international de Namur, représentant notamment Namur à plusieurs reprises au sein de l'Association internationale des maires francophones.

Citation Ambassadeur Nicoloff : « Je suis très heureux de la nomination d'un Consul honoraire du Canada en Wallonie. C'est un projet de longue date de l'ambassade qui se concrétise aujourd'hui. Avec notre consul honoraire en place, l'ambassade est bien outillée pour accroitre les échanges et la compréhension mutuelle entre la Belgique et le Canada tout en tenant compte des spécificités régionales wallonnes. »

Contact officiel :
M. Luc Arnould
Consul honoraire du Canada en Wallonie
Courriel : wallonie@international.gc.ca

Les services consulaires (passeports, citoyenneté, assistance consulaire) continueront d'être livrés par la section consulaire de l'ambassade du Canada à Bruxelles, Tél +32 (0)2 7410611

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2019-11-27