Canada-Brunei Darussalam Relations

Canada-Brunei Relations

In Brunei, the Canadian High Commission in Bandar Seri Begawan represents Canada. A High Commission in Ottawa represents Brunei in Canada.

Political and Economic Overview

Brunei is a sovereign state and absolute monarchy situated on the northern coast of the island of Borneo. Brunei has approximately 442,400 residents, 66% of the population is Malay; 11% Chinese, and 3% Indigenous. The remaining 20% is comprised primarily of foreign workers from Indonesia, Malaysia, Bangladesh and the Philippines. The national religion of Brunei is Islam, with 67% of the population identifying as Muslim, 13% as Buddhist, and 10% as Christian.

Oil and natural gas have made Brunei the fourth-richest country in the world measured by GDP per capita. Brunei has also the second highest Human Development Index ranking in Southeast Asia, after Singapore.

Bilateral Relations

Canada established diplomatic relations with Brunei Darussalam in 1984, following Brunei's independence, and opened a High Commission in the capital Bandar Seri Begawan in 1995. Canada and Brunei share mutual interests in economic and education matters, as well as on multilateral cooperation such as the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation, the World Trade Organization, the Commonwealth and the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Regional Forum.  

The most recent high-level visit took place in April 2017, when Princess Hajah Masna, the Sultan's eldest sister and Ambassador-at-Large at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, visited Canada. Also in April 2017, Canadian Parliamentary Secretary Pamela Goldsmith-Jones visited Bandar Seri Begawan, where she met with government and business leaders, women entrepreneurs, and visited the CAE Brunei Multi-Purpose Training Centre.

Trade and Investment

Canada's trade relationship with Brunei includes commerce across a number of sectors. For example, Canadian firms are working in aerospace and simulation training, information and communication technologies and in the growing halal pharma industry. Brunei also continues to be a potential market for Canadian companies in the following sectors: oil and gas, clean technologies, agriculture and agri-food, defence and security and education. Canada’s merchandise exports to Brunei in 2018 amounted to $6.5 million, consisting mostly of machinery and mechanical appliances and vegetable products. In 2018, merchandise imports from Brunei to Canada totaled $7.5million, consisting mostly of essential oils, perfumery and cosmetics.

Multilateral partnerships

Trade and investment agreements

Relations Canada - Brunéi Darussalam

Relations Canada-Brunéi

Le haut-commissariat du Canada à Bandar Seri Begawan représente le Canada au Brunéi. Le Brunéi a pour sa part un haut-commissariat à Ottawa.

Aperçu politique et économique

Brunéi est un État souverain et une monarchie absolue située sur la côte nord de l'île de Bornéo. Le pays compte quelque 442 400 habitants, dont 66 % de Malais, 11 % de Chinois et 3 % d'Autochtones. La portion des 20 % restants est composée principalement de travailleurs étrangers originaires d'Indonésie, de Malaisie, du Bangladesh et des Philippines. La religion nationale du Brunéi est l'Islam : 67 % de la population est musulmane, 13 % bouddhiste et 10 % chrétienne.

Le pétrole et le gaz naturel ont fait du Brunéi le quatrième pays le plus riche au monde quant au PIB par habitant. Il se classe également au deuxième rang des pays d'Asie du Sud-Est pour ce qui est de l'indice de développement humain, après Singapour.

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada a établi des relations diplomatiques avec le Brunéi Darussalam après son indépendance, en 1984, et a ouvert un haut-commissariat dans la capitale Bandar Seri Begawan en 1995. Les deux pays ont des intérêts communs en matière d'économie et d'éducation, ainsi qu'en matière de coopération multilatérale comme en témoigne leurs adhésions au Forum de Coopération économique Asie-Pacifique, à l'Organisation mondiale du commerce, au Commonwealth et au Forum régional de l'Association des nations de l'Asie du Sud-Est (ANASE).

La plus récente visite de haut niveau du Brunéi remonte à avril 2017, lorsque la princesse Hajah Masna, sœur aînée du sultan et ambassadrice itinérante au ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce, est venue au Canada. Également en avril 2017, la secrétaire parlementaire canadienne Pamela Goldsmith-Jones s’est rendue à Bandar Seri Begawan, où elle a rencontré des dirigeants du gouvernement et du monde des affaires, ainsi que des entrepreneures, et a visité le Centre de formation polyvalent CAE Brunei.

Commerce et investissement

Les relations commerciales du Canada avec le Brunéi englobent divers secteurs commerciaux. Par exemple, des entreprises canadiennes y travaillent dans les domaines de la formation en aérospatiale et en simulation, des technologies de l'information et des communications, ainsi que de l'industrie pharmaceutique halal en pleine croissance. Le Brunéi demeure également un marché potentiel pour les entreprises canadiennes dans les secteurs du pétrole et du gaz, des technologies propres, de l’agriculture et de l’agroalimentaire, de la défense, de la sécurité et de l’éducation. En 2018, les exportations de marchandises du Canada vers le Brunéi se sont élevées à 6,5 millions de dollars, principalement des machines et des appareils mécaniques, de même que des produits végétaux. En 2018, les importations de marchandises en provenance du Brunéi se sont élevées à 7,5 millions de dollars, principalement des huiles essentielles, de la parfumerie et des cosmétiques.

Partenariats multilatéraux

Accords commerciaux et d’investissements