Canada - Burkina Faso Relations

Diplomatic relations

Canada and Burkina Faso established diplomatic relations in 1962, after Burkina Faso gained its independence in 1960. Bilateral relations between Canada and Burkina Faso are well established and harmonious. The two countries frequently collaborate within the United Nations and La Francophonie—of which they are both members—and through trade relations. Canada is represented in Burkina Faso by an embassy in Ouagadougou. Burkina Faso is represented in Canada by an embassy in Ottawa and honorary consuls in Montreal; Toronto; Caraquet, New Brunswick; and Vancouver.

Trade and investments

Canada and Burkina Faso have an established trade relationship that holds significant growth potential. Burkina Faso is an emerging market that offers opportunities for Canadian companies in different sectors, including mining, energy (especially renewable energy), agriculture, infrastructure, clean technologies and education. Canada is the largest mining investor in the country with mining assets of over 3 billion dollars. Canadian investments in the mining sector have become an important economic lever for supporting our trade relations and contributing to the economic development of Burkina Faso.  Canadian investments in Burkina Faso were $1 817 million in 2018, with an increasing focus on clean energy, a sector in rapid expansion In 2017, bilateral merchandise trade reached $62 million, of which Canadian exports to Burkina Faso totalled $46.8 million and imports from Burkina Faso totalled $15.5 million. The main import products were mineral products, fruits and preserved food while export products were mainly machinery, vehicles, tools, electrical and electronic equipment, cereals and printed products. A foreign investment promotion and protection agreement between Canada and Burkina Faso came into effect in October 2017. This agreement should further promote and secure investment between the two countries.

Development and humanitarian assistance

Since 2000, the Government of Canada has provided over $765 million in development and international assistance to Burkina Faso. This includes $63.41 million in 2017-2018, of which $52.46 million came from Global Affairs Canada. This support resulted in significant results, particularly in basic education for girls. Canadian priorities in Burkina Faso are guided by Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy and are built on gender equality and the fostering of girl’s and women’s empowerment. Canada is currently the leading technical and financial partner for gender equality issues in Burkina Faso. See Project Browser for additional information on programming in Burkina Faso.

Other relevant information

Travel Advisory

July 2019

Relations Canada - Burkina Faso

Relations diplomatiques

Le Canada et le Burkina Faso ont établi des relations diplomatiques en 1962, peu de temps après que le Burkina Faso eut acquis son indépendance du pays, en 1960. Ils entretiennent depuis des relations bien établies et harmonieuses. Les deux pays collaborent fréquemment au sein des Nations Unies et de l’Organisation internationale de la Francophonie, dont ils sont membres, et dans le cadre de relations commerciales. Au Burkina Faso, le Canada est représenté par une ambassade à Ouagadougou. Le Burkina Faso est représenté au Canada par une ambassade à Ottawa et par des consuls honoraires à Montréal, à Toronto, à Caraquet au Nouveau-Brunswick, et à Vancouver.

Commerce et investissements

Le Canada et le Burkina Faso entretiennent des relations commerciales bien établies, qui comportent un important potentiel de croissance. Le Burkina Faso est un marché émergent qui présente des débouchés pour les entreprises canadiennes de divers secteurs, notamment l’exploitation minière, l’énergie (surtout l’énergie renouvelable), l’agriculture, les infrastructures, les technologies propres et l’éducation. Le Canada est le premier investisseur minier dans le pays avec des actifs de plus de 3 milliards de dollars. L’investissement du Canada dans le secteur minier est devenu un important levier économique, qui appuie les relations commerciales entre les deux pays et contribue au développement économique du Burkina Faso. .  Les investissements canadiens au Burkina Faso étaient de $1 817 million en 2018. En 2018, le commerce de marchandises entre les deux pays a atteint 62 millions de dollars, dont 46,8 millions de dollars en exportations et 15,5 millions de dollars  en importations. Les principaux produits d’importation étaient les produits minéraux, les fruits et les aliments en conserve, et les principaux produits d’exportation étaient les machines, les véhicules, les outils, l’équipement électrique et électronique, les céréales et les produits imprimés. Un Accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers entre le Canada et le Burkina Faso est entré en vigueur en octobre 2017. Cet Accord devrait favoriser et sécuriser davantage les investissements entre les deux pays.

Développement et aide humanitaire

Depuis 2000, le gouvernement du Canada a fourni au Burkina Faso plus de 765 millions de dollars en aide au développement et en aide humanitaire. De ce montant, 63,41 millions de dollars ont été versés en 2017-2018, dont 52,46 millions de dollars provenaient d’Affaires mondiales Canada. Ce soutien a permis d’obtenir d’importants résultats, surtout en ce qui a trait à l’éducation de base pour les filles. La Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada dicte les priorités canadiennes au Burkina Faso, qui sont fondées sur l’égalité des genres et la promotion du renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles. Le Canada préside actuellement le cadre de concertation des partenaires techniques et financiers pour les questions touchant l’égalité des genres au Burkina Faso. Veuillez consulter la Banque de projets pour obtenir plus d’information sur les programmes concernant le Burkina Faso.

Autres renseignements pertinents

Conseils aux voyageurs

Juillet 2019