Canada - Cameroon Relations

Cameroon flag

Diplomatic Relations

Canada and Cameroon enjoy long standing and friendly bilateral relations. Economic prosperity, the promotion of democratic values, respect for human rights, good governance, official bilingualism and regional security are the pillars of the bilateral relations between the two countries. Canada encourages the concrete efforts that have been made by Cameroon in those areas.

Canada in Cameroon

Since 1962, Canada is represented in Cameroon by the High Commission of Canada in Yaounde. Canada also has an Honorary Consulat in Douala.

Cameroon in Canada

Cameroun is represented in Canada, since 1962, by a High Commission in Ottawa.

Common Memberships

The two countries collaborate in multilateral fora such as the Organisation internationale de la Francophonie, the Commonwealth and the United Nations.

Trade and Investments

Trade Relations

After over half a century of bilateral relations between the two countries, Cameroon and Canada have evolved from a donor-beneficiary relationship to one of trade partners.

In 2017, Cameroon was Canada’s top export destination in the Central African Region.

In 2017, two-way merchandise trade totaled nearly $52.4 million. Canadian merchandise exports to Cameroon amounted to nearly $43.3 million and were mainly comprised of cereals, electrical and electronic machinery and equipment, and transport material. Canadian merchandise imports from Cameroon amounted to nearly $9.1 million and included wood, rubber, and electrical and electronic machinery and equipment.

Trade Agreements

Both countries signed a Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement in March 2014. The Agreement entered into force on December 16, 2016.

In December 2017, Canada concluded an air transport agreement with Cameroon. The Agreement will facilitate the operation of code-sharing between Canada and Cameroon. Code-sharing occurs when an air carrier sells seats on a flight operated by another air carrier, allowing it to expand its network and product offerings. Canada will work to complete its domestic procedures to ratify the Agreement. In the meantime, the Agreement is being applied on an administrative basis.

A convention for the avoidance of double taxation and the prevention of fiscal evasion with respect to taxes on income entered into force between Canada and Cameroon in 1988.

Cameroonian Students in Canada

In 2017, Cameroon was the fifth country of origin of foreign students from Africa –after Nigeria, Morocco, Egypt and Tunisia– with 1870 students in Canada.

Development and Humanitarian Assistance

In 2015-2016, the Canadian development assistance, $21.54 million for Cameroon, essentially targeted the sectors of governance, humanitarian assistance, health and education. The main multilateral partner was the United Nations Refugees Agency.

For more information on development projects with Cameroon, see the Project Browser.

Canada also funds local projects through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives, managed by the High Commission of Canada in Yaounde.

Furthermore, Canada awards scholarships through the Canadian Francophonie Scholarships Program.

In 2006, Cameroon reached the completion point of the Heavily Indebted Poor Countries Initiative of the International Monetary Fund and the World Bank. In accordance with this achievement, Canada cancelled Cameroon's $227 million bilateral debt.

Other Relevant Information

April 2018

Relations Canada - Cameroun

Cameroun

Relations diplomatiques

Le Canada et le Cameroun entretiennent des relations bilatérales bien établies et amicales. La prospérité économique, la promotion des valeurs démocratiques, le respect des droits de la personne, la bonne gouvernance, le bilinguisme officiel et la sécurité régionale en sont les piliers. Le Canada encourage les efforts concrets déployés par le Cameroun dans ces domaines.

Le Canada au Cameroun

Au Cameroun, le Canada est représenté depuis 1962 par le haut-commissariat du Canada à Yaoundé. Le Canada a également un consulat honoraire à Douala.

Le Cameroun au Canada

Le Cameroun est représenté au Canada depuis 1962 par un haut-commissariat à Ottawa.

Organisations communes

Les deux pays collaborent au sein des organisations multilatérales telles que l’Organisation internationale de la Francophonie, le Commonwealth et les Nations Unies.

Commerce et investissements

Échanges commerciaux

Après plus de 50 ans de relations bilatérales entre les deux pays, le Cameroun et le Canada sont passés d’une relation de donateur-bénéficiaire à celle de partenaires commerciaux.

En 2017, le Cameroun constituait le premier marché d’exportation du Canada en Afrique centrale.

Le commerce de marchandises entre les deux pays totalisait près de 52,4 millions de dollars en 2017. Les exportations de marchandises canadiennes vers le Cameroun s’élevaient à près de 43,3 millions de dollars et comprenaient principalement les céréales; les machines et l’équipement électriques et électroniques; et le matériel de transport. Les principales importations canadiennes en provenance du Cameroun, qui se chiffraient à près de 9,1 millions de dollars, comprenaient le bois; le caoutchouc; et les machines et équipement électriques et électroniques.

Accords commerciaux

En mars 2014, les deux pays ont signé un Accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers. L’Accord est entré en vigueur le 16 décembre 2016.

En décembre 2017, le Canada a conclu un accord sur le transport aérien avec le Cameroun. L’Accord facilitera les opérations de partage de codes entre le Canada et le Cameroun. Le partage de codes survient lorsqu’un transporteur aérien vend des sièges sur un vol opéré par un autre transporteur, ce qui lui permet d’étendre son réseau et son offre de produits. Le Canada travaillera désormais à compléter sa procédure nationale pour la ratification de l’Accord.

D’ici là, l’Accord s’applique sur une base administrative.

Une convention dans le but d’éviter la double imposition et à prévenir l'évasion fiscale en matière d'impôts sur le revenu est entrée en vigueur en 1988.

Étudiants du Cameroun au Canada

En 2017, le Cameroun était le cinquième pays d’origine pour les étudiants internationaux en provenance de l’Afrique (après le Nigéria, le Maroc, l’Égypte et la Tunisie), avec 1 870 étudiants camerounais au Canada.

Développement et assistance humanitaire

En 2015-2016, l’aide canadienne au développement s’élevait à 21,54 millions de dollars pour le Cameroun.

Pour plus d’informations sur les projets de développement concernant le Cameroun, voir la banque de projets.

Le Canada finance aussi des projets locaux par l’intermédiaire du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales géré par le haut-commissariat du Canada à Yaoundé.

De plus, le Canada octroie des bourses d'études par l’entremise du programme canadien de bourses de la Francophonie.

En 2006, le Cameroun a atteint le point d'achèvement de l'Initiative en faveur des pays pauvres très endettés du Fonds monétaire international (FMI) et de la Banque mondiale. En conformité avec cette initiative, le Canada a annulé la dette bilatérale du Cameroun de 227 millions de dollars.

Autres informations pertinentes

Avril 2018