Canada-Gabon Relations

Diplomatic Relations

Bilateral relations between Canada and Gabon are modest but show potential for growth.

Canada in Gabon

Canada established diplomatic relations with Gabon in 1963. In Gabon, Canada is represented by the Canadian High Commission in Yaoundé, Cameroon since 2005. Canada also has an Honorary Consulate in Libreville, the capital of Gabon.

Gabon in Canada

Gabon has been represented in Canada by an Embassy in Ottawa since 1971 and also has an Honorary Consul in Montréal.

Common Memberships

At multilateral level, Canada and Gabon maintain ties thought international organizations, such as the International Organization of La Francophonie and the United Nations.

Trade and Investments

Trade Relations

Bilateral trade relations between Gabon and Canada are modest.

In 2018, two-way merchandise trade stood at $15.4 million consisting of nearly $14.7 million in exports and more than $700 000 in imports from Gabon.

Trade Agreements

Canada and Gabon signed an Avoidance of Double Taxation Convention on November 14, 2002, which came into effect on January 1, 2009.

Development and Humanitarian Assistance

In 2017-2018, Canada provided $600,000 to Gabon.

Canada supports Gabon through the Canadian Francophonie scholarship program. Since 1987, this support has facilitated access to university education for 72 Gabonese in areas such as public and school administration.

Canada continues to support regional and pan-African organizations with activities in Gabon, and through regional programming in Africa in sectors such as intra-African trade, natural resource governance, climate change, and through Gabon’s membership in the African Union. For instance, Canada funds the African Trade Policy Centre of the UN Economic Commission for Africa, which supports countries like Gabon to increase trade with other African countries through technical advisory services.

For more information on the distribution of aid in Gabon, see the Statistical Reports on International Assistance[VL-1] . For more information on specific projects in Gabon, see GAC’s Project Browser.

Other Relevant Information

Relations Canada-Gabon

Relations diplomatiques

Les relations bilatérales entre le Canada et le Gabon sont modestes, mais possèdent un potentiel de croissance.

Le Canada au Gabon

Le Canada a établi des relations diplomatiques avec le Gabon en 1963. Le haut-commissariat du Canada à Yaoundé, au Cameroun, assure la représentation du pays au Gabon depuis 2005. Le Canada a également un consul honoraire à Libreville, capitale du Gabon.

Le Gabon au Canada

Le Gabon est représenté au Canada par son ambassade à Ottawa depuis 1971. Le Gabon a également un consul honoraire à Montréal.

Organisations communes

Au niveau multilatéral, les deux pays entretiennent des liens au sein d’organisations internationales telles que l’Organisation internationale de la Francophonie et les Nations Unies

Commerce et investissements

Échanges commerciaux

Les échanges commerciaux bilatéraux entre le Canada et le Gabon sont modestes.

En 2018, les échanges commerciaux entre les deux pays s’élevaient à 15,4 millions de dollars, comprenant les exportations du Canada de près de 14,7 millions de dollars et les importations provenant du Gabon à plus de 700 000 dollars.

Accords commerciaux

Le Canada et le Gabon ont signé une Convention fiscale d’évitement de double imposition entre les deux pays le 14 novembre 2002, laquelle est entrée en vigueur le 1er janvier 2009.

Développement et assistance humanitaire

En 2017-2018, l’aide internationale du Canada totalisait 600 000 dollars au Gabon.

Le Canada appuie le Gabon à travers le Programme canadien de bourses de la Francophonie. Depuis 1987, cet appui a facilité l’accès à une formation de niveau universitaire pour 72 Gabonaises et Gabonais dans des domaines tels que l’administration publique et scolaire.

Le Canada continue de soutenir les organisations régionales et panafricaines par des activités au Gabon et par des programmes régionaux en Afrique dans des secteurs tels que le commerce intra-africain, la gouvernance des ressources naturelles, les changements climatiques et par l'adhésion du Gabon à l'Union africaine. Par exemple, le Canada finance le Centre africain de politique commerciale de la Commission économique des Nations unies pour l'Afrique, qui aide les pays comme le Gabon à accroître leurs échanges commerciaux avec d'autres pays africains par le biais de services consultatifs techniques.

Pour plus d’information sur la répartition de l’aide au Gabon, voir le rapport statistique sur l’aide internationale. Pour plus d’informations sur les projets spécifiques concernant le Gabon financé par AMC, voir la banque de projets.

Autres informations pertinentes