Canada-Central African Republic Relations

Diplomatic relations

Bilateral relations between Canada and the Central African Republic (CAR) are modest but cordial. Canada encourages the restoration of peace and security, mainly through its support to the United Nations Multidimensional Integrated Stabilization Mission in the CAR. Canada also supports the CAR through humanitarian assistance.

Canada in the Central African Republic

Canada has been represented in the CAR by the Canadian High Commission in Yaoundé, Cameroon since 1962. Canada also has an Honorary Consulate in Bangui, the capital of the CAR.

The Central African Republic in Canada

The Central African Republic has been represented in Canada by its Embassy in Washington, D.C., U.S.A., since 1974.

Common memberships

At multilateral level, Canada and the CAR maintain ties thought international organisations, such as the International Organisation of La Francophonie and the United Nations.

Trade and Investments

Trade relations

Commercial relations between the two countries remain very modest.

In 2017, bilateral trade amounted to $465,000.

The main exports from Canada to the CAR are machinery, mechanical and electronic products, specialised instruments, and food and textile products. Imports from the CAR are mainly wood, fats and oil products.

Development and Humanitarian assistance

Canada has been providing international assistance for many years to partner agencies working in this country. In 2016-2017, the Canadian international assistance, estimated at $23.64 M for the CAR, essentially targeted humanitarian assistance.

Canada also funds the Women’s Political Empowerment and Leadership Project of UN Women at $10 M, which operates in four African countries, including the CAR. The project aims to improve the participation of women in the political sphere.

Canada contributes $13 M to the African Trade Policy Centre of the UN Economic Commission for Africa, which supports countries like the CAR to increase trade with other African countries through technical advisory services.

For more information on the distribution of aid in the CAR, see the Statistical Reports on International Assistance. For more information on specific projects in the CAR, see GAC’s Project Browser.

Canadian Contribution to Peace and Security

Canada supports the United Nations peacekeeping force which took over the African Union mission on September 15, 2014. Canada also funds the United Nations Peacebuilding Fund at $15 M, which has projects in several countries including the CAR.

Other Relevant Information

March 2019

Relations Canada-République centrafricaine

Relations diplomatiques

Le Canada et la République centrafricaine (RCA) entretiennent des relations modestes, mais cordiales. Le Canada encourage le rétablissement de la sécurité et de la paix, notamment via son appui à la Mission multidimensionnelle intégrée des Nations Unies pour la stabilisation en RCA (MINUSCA). Le Canada soutient aussi la RCA via l’assistance humanitaire.

Le Canada en République centrafricaine

Le haut-commissariat du Canada à Yaoundé, au Cameroun, assure la représentation du Canada en RCA depuis 1962. Le Canada a également un consulat honoraire à Bangui, la capitale de la RCA.

La République centrafricaine au Canada

La RCA est représentée depuis 1974 au Canada par son ambassade à Washington, aux États-Unis.

Organisations communes

Au niveau multilatéral, le Canada et la RCA entretiennent des liens au sein d’organisations telles que l’Organisation internationale de la Francophonie et les Nations Unies.

Commerce et investissements

Échanges commerciaux

Les relations commerciales entre les deux pays demeurent très modestes.

En 2017, les échanges bilatéraux se chiffraient à 464 900 dollars.

Les principales exportations du Canada vers la RCA sont des produits de machinerie, mécaniques et électroniques, d’instruments spécialisés et de produits alimentaires et textiles. Les importations en provenance de la RCA sont principalement des produits liés au bois, aux huiles et aux graisses.

Développement et assistance humanitaire

Le Canada alloue depuis plusieurs années de l’aide internationale aux organismes partenaires qui œuvrent dans le pays. En 2016-2017, l’aide internationale du Canada en RCA totalisait 23,64 millions de dollars et consistait en grande partie d’assistance humanitaire.

Le Canada finance notamment le projet Autonomisation politique et leadership des femmes, d’ONU Femmes à hauteur de 10 millions de dollars répartis dans quatre pays africains, dont la RCA. Il vise à améliorer la participation des femmes à la sphère politique.

Le Canada verse 13 millions de dollars pour le Centre africain pour la politique commerciale de la Commission économique pour l’Afrique des Nations Unies, qui soutient les pays comme la RCA dans le but d’accroître les échanges avec les autres pays africains par le biais de services techniques consultatifs.

Pour plus d’information sur la répartition de l’aide en RCA, voir le rapport statistique sur l’aide internationale. Pour plus d’informations sur les projets spécifiques concernant la RCA financé par AMC, voir la banque de projets.

Paix et sécurité

Le Canada soutient la force de maintien de la paix des Nations Unies (MINUSCA) qui a pris le relais de la mission de l’Union africaine (MISCA), le 15 septembre 2014. Le Canada finance également le Fonds de consolidation de la Paix des Nations Unies, à hauteur de 15 M$, qui a des projets dans plusieurs pays dont la RCA.

Autres informations pertinentes

Mars 2019