Defence Relations

The Canadian Defence Attaché Office in Santiago promotes and strengthens an ever-growing relationship between Canadian and Chilean Defence Institutions. The defence ministries and all three major services (navy, army, and air force) conduct regular bi-lateral talks to coordinate a fulsome list of tangible activities that have facilitated amplified cooperation, trust, and interaction. Typifying the robust relationship is Canada’s support and staffing to Chile’s first ever major command role in the Rim of the Pacific Exercise (RIMPAC) in Hawaiian waters in July of 2018.

Specific areas of Canada/ Chile defence cooperation:

  • A bilateral Defence Cooperation Agreement was signed in 2012 and provides strategic direction to enable and facilitate the growing defence relationship. A Defence Materiel Cooperation Addendum to the Agreement is under negotiation.
  • Defence Policy Talks - Canada hosted the last round of defence policy talks in Ottawa on November 1, 2017. Among the new initiatives discussed was the cooperative effort to provide a navigation instructor to the Caribbean Maritime Training Centre in Jamaica.
  • Military Training and Cooperation Program (MTCP) – Canada’s MTCP provides courses in language, professional development, and peace support operations to approximately 1,200 military personnel from more than 62 member states annually. Chile has been a member of the program since 1998 and has filled 33 positions between 2014 and 2018.
  • Naval Cooperation – The Royal Canadian Navy (RCN) and the Chilean Navy maintain a robust connection through high-level talks, combined training exercises, and unique exchanges. RCN officers regularly embark in Chilean ships to enhance their training as part of the RCN’s REGULUS Programme while Canada benefited from the services of a Chilean supply vessel in support of replenishment training in Canadian waters. The two navies have a long history of cooperation during the biannual RIMPAC exercise (largest naval exercise in the world), while the 2018 version saw Chile assume a large command role with Canadian staff in support. Having selected a Canadian command and control system as the lead component in the modernization of Chilean Type 23 frigates, the two navies will be drawn together like never before as they will train and operate on a common software platform.
  • Army Cooperation – March of 2017 marked the occasion of the first Army to Army bilateral Staff Talks. Codifying existing exchanges and interactions, the Talks also explored future areas of cooperation specifically regarding team and individual skills training. 
  • Air Force Cooperation -- the Royal Canadian Air Force and Chilean Air Force conduct biannual Staff Talks to organize bilateral interactions including search and rescue training, Twin Otter crew exchanges, exercise participation and information exchanges.
  • Chile’s Joint Centre for Peacekeeping Operations (CECOPAC) makes use of Canadian peacekeeping experiences as educational examples and occasionally incorporates a Canadian Armed Forces member as an instructor. In 2017 Canada conducted a multinational peacekeeping course at CECOPAC as part of its MTCP activity.
  • Canada’s Defence Industry is increasingly involved in the Chilean Defence sector particularly in the areas of ship design, modernization of frigates and aircraft, engine overhaul, and high-tech gear.

July 2018

Relations de Défense

Le Bureau de l'attaché de défense du Canada à Santiago encourage et renforce une relation de plus en plus étroite entre les institutions de défense canadiennes et chiliennes. Les ministères de la défense et les trois principaux services (marine, armée et armée de l'air) tiennent régulièrement des discussions bilatérales pour coordonner une liste exhaustive d'activités concrètes qui ont facilité la coopération, la confiance et l'interaction. Le soutien du Canada et la dotation en personnel du tout premier rôle de commandement du Chili dans l'exercice Rim of the Pacific (RIMPAC) dans les eaux hawaïennes en juillet 2018 caractérisent cette solide relation.

Domaines spécifiques de la coopération de défense entre le Canada et le Chili :

  • Un accord bilatéral de coopération en matière de défense a été signé en 2012 et fournit une orientation stratégique pour permettre et faciliter les relations de défense croissantes. Un addendum sur la coopération en matière de matériel de défense est en cours de négociation.
  • Discussions sur la politique de défense - Le Canada a accueilli la dernière ronde de négociations sur la politique de défense à Ottawa le 1er novembre 2017. Parmi les nouvelles initiatives discutées figurait l'effort de coopération pour fournir un instructeur de navigation au Caribbean Maritime Training Centre en Jamaïque.
  • Programme de formation et de coopération militaires (PICM) - Le PICM du Canada offre des cours de langue, de perfectionnement professionnel et de soutien de la paix à environ 1 200 militaires de plus de 62 États membres chaque année. Le Chili est membre du programme depuis 1998 et a occupé 33 postes entre 2014 et 2018.
  • Coopération Navale - La Marine royale du Canada (MRC) et la Marine chilienne entretiennent une relation solide grâce à des discussions de haut niveau, à des exercices d'entraînement combinés et à des échanges uniques. Les officiers du RCR embarquent régulièrement sur des navires chiliens pour améliorer leur entraînement dans le cadre du programme REGULUS de la MRC tandis que le Canada a bénéficié des services d'un navire de ravitaillement chilien pour appuyer l'entraînement de réapprovisionnement dans les eaux canadiennes. Les deux marines coopèrent depuis longtemps dans le cadre de l'exercice semestriel RIMPAC (le plus grand exercice naval au monde), tandis que la version de 2018 a vu le Chili assumer un important rôle de commandement avec le soutien du personnel canadien. Après avoir choisi un système de commandement et de contrôle canadien comme composante principale de la modernisation des frégates chiliennes de type 23, les deux marines seront regroupées comme jamais auparavant, car elles formeront et exploiteront une plate-forme logicielle commune.
  • Coopération de l'Armée - Mars 2017 a marqué l'occasion des premiers entretiens bilatéraux entre l'Armée et l'Armée. Codifiant les échanges et les interactions existants, les discussions ont également exploré les futurs domaines de coopération, en particulier en ce qui concerne la formation des équipes et des compétences individuelles.
  • Coopération de la Force aérienne - L'Aviation royale du Canada et la Force aérienne du Chili organisent des entretiens biannuels avec le personnel pour organiser des interactions bilatérales, y compris formation en recherche et sauvetage, échanges d'équipages Twin Otter, participation à des exercices et échanges d'information.

Juillet 2018