From Canada’s Great North to Chile: An Inspiring Visit by the winner of the Global Teacher Prize 2017

While 8800 km away from Canada, the Canadian Embassy in Chile had the great privilege of celebrating Canada's National Aboriginal Day on June 22nd, with Maggie MacDonnell - winner of the Global Teacher Prize, akin to the Nobel Prize for Education - Luisa Papigatuk and Cynthia Gaudreau, two young representatives from the Inuit people.

Maggie, Luisa and Cynthia offered a deeply touching testimonial on the challenges faced by the Inuits but also demonstrated how deeply committed educators can have a positive impact in the development of their community in Northern Québec.

Invited by Elige Educar, a Chilean foundation that promotes teaching excellence, Maggie, Louisa and Cynthia had a full week program that included amongst other elements, a meeting with a Mapuche community in the south of Chile, as well as an hour long meeting with President Michelle Bachelet.

The Canadian Embassy in Chile staff and the three Canadian guests

Maggie MacDonnell and Chile’s president Michelle Bachelet

Ambassador Marcel Lebleu and Elige Educar representatives attended the presidential palace’s meeting

Du Grand Nord canadien au Chili : visite inspirante de la professeure gagnante du prix Global Teacher Prize 2017

Bien qu’à 8800km du Canada, le personnel de l’ambassade du Canada au Chili a eu le grand privilège de célébrer la Journée nationale des Autochtones le 22 juin dernier en compagnie de la professeure canadienne Maggie MacDonnell - lauréate du « Global Teacher Prize 2017 » souvent qualifié de prix Nobel de l’éducation - Luisa Papigatuk et Cynthia Gaudreau, deux jeunes représentantes du peuple inuit.

Maggie, Luisa et Cynthia ont livré au personnel de l’Ambassade un témoignage très touchant sur les défis auxquels font face les Inuits tout en démontrant comment le travail d’éducateurs engagés peut avoir une influence positive dans le développement de leur communauté du Nord-du-Québec.

Invitées par Elige Educar, une fondation chilienne vouée à la promotion de l’excellence en éducation, Maggie, Luisa et Cynthia ont notamment rencontré des représentants de la communauté Mapuche dans le sud du Chile et ont été reçues par la Présidente Michelle Bachelet, dans le cadre d’un programme de visite au Chili d’une semaine des plus chargés.

Le personnel de l’Ambassade du Canada au Chili et les trois invitées canadiennes

Maggie MacDonnell et la presidente du Chili, Michelle Bachelet

Ambassadeur Marcel Lebleu et des représentants de Elige Educar présents à la rencontre au palais présidentiel