The 2017-2018 Canadian Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI) supported 11 projects in Chile

Protection of the Environment:

Plastic Oceans Chile organized a seminar (#RethinkPlastic) in January 2018 with the participation of the Plastic Oceans movie director, Craig Leeson, about “Challenges, visions and solutions to stop plastic pollution in Chile”. The event counted with the participation of civil society, private sector and government representatives in order to find solutions towards oceans protection. Over 30,000 people watched the seminar online, which is available on the Facebook page of Teletrece (available in Spanish only).

Ciencia Ciudadana Foundation developed a Toolkit to support the development of environmental citizen science projects. The guide will assist researchers to carry out participative research activities to protect the environment. Additionally, the guide connects communities and scientists in order to search for solutions in a collaborative way and create knowledge that can solve local problems. The toolkit can be found on the website of the Ciencia Ciudadana Foundation (available in Spanish only).

Promotion of LGBT Rights:

The Faculty of Psychology of University Diego Portales developed a protocol to provide nondiscriminatory psychological support to people from the LGBT community. The guide was designed to be used by mental health professionals and psychology students. 

The educational department of Iguales Foundation, EducaIguales, designed educational materials and gave talks at schools in order to foster “classrooms without discrimination”. More information on the Iguales Foundation website  (available in Spanish only).

Inclusion and Protecting the Rights of Immigrants:

Foundation Casa de la Paz, in collaboration with the Jesuit Migrant Service (SJM), organized a multistakeholder seminar on “Human Rights and Business: Addressing the challenges of immigrant’s inclusion in Antofagasta”. The seminar promoted dialogue among civil society, government and the private sector in order to improve the social and economic inclusion of immigrants. The study is available on the website of Foundation Casa de la Paz (available in Spanish only).

Foundation Fre  renovated their premises known as the “House for Migrants” in downtown Santiago to offer better services to immigrants. The Foundation welcomes dozens of immigrants daily and offers them legal assistance, courses and workshops to foster their socio-economic inclusion in Chilean society.

The Infomigra team, in collaboration with INCAMI (Chilean Catholic Migration Institute) and the Municipality of Recoleta, launched an App called INFOMIGRA, available on Google Play. The app is an innovative digital tool that supports the recently arrived immigrants with information related to visas, health, education, jobs, etc.

Participation of Indigenous Communities in Regional Economic Development:

Foundation Indigenous Institute organized a seminar on “Sharing experiences of consultations with Mapuche communities in the development of micro hydroelectric plants in light of ILO Convention 169”. The final document is available on the website of the Foundation Indigenous Institute  (available in Spanish only).

Transparency and the Prevention of Corruption:

Foundation Espacio Publico launched their virtual platform, the Electoral Magnifying Glass that analyzed the implementation of the new electoral law during the last general elections in Chile, adding a gender lens. The objective of the Web page was to promote transparency and accountability by monitoring political campaign financing during the 2017 presidential and parliamentary elections in Chile, and empowering citizens by providing them with relevant, valuable and transparent information in that regard.

Gender Equality:

The Department of Social Work of the Alberto Hurtado University developed a guide on budget management and debts for women. The Guide provides useful information including a list of resources and institutions to which they can turn if they are facing economic debts. More information on the Facebook page of the project ‘Deudas y Pagos’ (available in Spanish only).

Foundation Chile 21 organized a series of policy and social workshops for women community leaders. The workshops were an opportunity to promote their leadership skills and develop initiatives and ideas to increase inclusiveness in Chile.

Le Fonds canadien d'initiatives locales a soutenu 11 projets en 2017-2018

Protection de l'environnement:

Plastic Oceans Chili a organisé un séminaire (#RethinkPlastic) en janvier 2018 avec le réalisateur du film Plastic Oceans, Craig Leeson, sur "Les défis, les visions et les solutions multisectorielles pour réduire la pollution de plastique au Chili". Ce fut une rencontre constructive entre la société civile, les entreprises et le gouvernement pour trouver des solutions à la protection des océans. Le séminaire, vu par plus de 30 000 personnes en ligne, peut être visionné sur la page web de Teletrece (en espagnol seulement).

La Fondation pour la science grand public (‘Ciencia Ciudadania’) a développé une boîte à outils pour mener à bien des projets environnementaux basés sur la science citoyenne. Grâce à ce guide, la participation active des citoyens aux activités de recherche pour la protection de l'environnement sera facilitée. C'est un guide pour que les communautés et les scientifiques se connectent dans la recherche de solutions collaboratives pour générer des connaissances et résoudre des problèmes locaux. Le document est disponible sur le site web de la Fondation Ciencia Ciudadana  (en espagnol seulement).

Promotion des droits des personnes LGBT:

L'École de psychologie de l'Université Diego Portales a élaboré un protocole non discriminatoire pour les soins de santé mentale et psychologique avec des personnes de la communauté LGBT. Le guide a été conçu pour être utilisé par les professionnels de la santé mentale et les étudiants en psychologie.

La Fondation Iguales, dans son espace éducatif EducaIguales, a conçu du matériel éducatif et a donné des conférences dans les écoles pour qu’elles puissent devenir des «salles de classe sans discrimination». Plus d'informations sur le site web de la Fondation Iguales  (en espagnol seulement).

Inclusion et protection des droits des immigrants:

La Fondation « Casa de la Paz » en collaboration avec le Service jésuite pour les migrants a organisé un séminaire multipartite sur le thème « Droits de la personne et de l’entreprise: Les défis de l'inclusion des immigrants à Antofagasta ». Le séminaire a encouragé le dialogue entre la société civile, le gouvernement et les entreprises sur la manière d'améliorer l'inclusion sociale et économique des immigrants. L’étude est disponible sur le site web de la Fondation Casa de la Paz  (en espagnol seulement).

La Fondation Frè a rénové les locaux de la Fondation, c'est-à-dire sa «maison du migrant» à Santiago, afin d'offrir de meilleurs services d'accueil aux immigrants. La Fondation reçoit chaque jour des centaines d'immigrants pour leur offrir de l'aide et différents cours et ateliers.

L'équipe Infomigra, en collaboration avec l'Institut chilien des migrations catholiques (INCAMI) et la municipalité de Recoleta, a lancé l'application INFOMIGRA qui peut être téléchargée sur Google Play. Cette application est un outil numérique innovateur pour aider les nouveaux arrivants avec des informations de toutes sortes: visas, santé, éducation, travail, etc.

Participation des communautés autochtones au développement économique régional:

La Fondation Instituto Indígena a organisé un séminaire sur le thème «Expériences de consultations entre  communautés mapuches et petites entreprises hydroélectriques à la lumière de la Convention 169 de l'OIT». Le document final peut être consulté sur la page web de la Fondation Instituto Indigena  (en espagnol seulement).

Transparence et prévention de la corruption:

La Fondation Espacio Público a lancé sa plate-forme virtuelle, la Lupa Electorale qui a analysé les nouvelles règles de financement électoral, en y ajoutant également une perspective de genre. Le site web visait à promouvoir la transparence à travers le suivi des fonds électoraux pour les élections présidentielles et parlementaires de 2017.

Égalité des genres:

Le Département de Travail Social de l'Université Alberto Hurtado a développé un guide sur la gestion de l'argent et des dettes pour les femmes, en fournissant des informations pratiques sur le sujet et des données sur les institutions auxquelles s'adresser en cas de problèmes d'endettement. Plus d’information sont disponibles sur la page Facebook du projet « Deudas y Pagos » (en espagnol seulement).

La Fondation Chile 21 a organisé des ateliers sur la formation politique et sociale de femmes leaders communautaires. Grâce à ces ateliers, ces leaders ont pu développer leurs compétences et promouvoir des idées et des opportunités pour affirmer leur leadership en promouvant et en développant des initiatives et des idées pour un Chili plus inclusif.