Message from the Ambassador

Welcome to the website of the Embassy of Canada in Chile, a fascinating country where I have the honour to represent Canada since 2017.

I have the privilege of serving in Chile at a time when our relationship is stronger than ever. In these past few years, I have witnessed the vibrant relationship between Canada and Chile: we aim to create more inclusive, safe, and prosperous societies that improve the quality of life of our citizens.

Both countries have a lot to be proud of:  the historic Free Trade Agreement between Canada and Chile (CCFTA) came into force more than 20 years ago, in 1997. This is Canada's oldest free trade agreement in the region and the first for Chile with a foreign nation. This agreement has allowed our bilateral trade to quadruple, reaching nearly $3 billion Canadian. In 2018, the agreement was updated to include, among other things, a new chapter on trade and gender equality, the first of its kind for Canada, paving the way for more sectors of our societies to take advantage of benefits of international trade, especially for women and small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs).

Climate change and environmental protection are another cornerstone of our collaboration. Through the Canada-Chile Agreement on Environmental Cooperation, established in 1997, we are working with Chile to advance the commitments of the Paris Agreement, and reduce plastic pollution and its impact on the oceans, among other issues. Likewise, it has been very important to promote the use of clean and responsible technologies to reflect the interdependence between environmental sustainability and economic prosperity.  Canada will actively participate in the next Conference of Parties on Climate Change (COP25) to be held in Chile in December 2019.

The defense of democracy and its institutions is essential for Canada. In the region, we have joined efforts with our Lima Group partners, including Chile, to promote a peaceful democratic transition in Venezuela. We are also working to strengthen the role of multilateral agencies such as the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Forum and the United Nations.

In the field of education, Chile has become a strategic partner for Canada. Every year, academic and student exchanges between the two countries intensify. Since 2016, the number of visas and study permits granted to Chilean students has increased by more than 25%, reflecting the excellence of Canada's academic and research institutions. I am pleased to see that the Canada-Chile Alumni Network has already more than 400 members among professionals, academics and researchers who have studied in Canada.

In the cultural field, exchanges between Canada and Chile are growing every year: Canadian world-class productions and artists, in various disciplines such as music, circus, theater, dance, cinema, and street art, among others, bring to Chile new world-class Canadian productions.

New online services are simplifying procedures and travel between citizens of both countries. Canadian tourism in Chile has continued to grow. More and more Canadians are traveling to Chile to discover its beautiful landscapes, to work or to study, and more Chileans are visiting Canada.

Our Embassy team works with passion to bring our countries closer together. I invite you to browse the website to find out more about our activities, as well as other aspects of Canada's bilateral relations with Chile, and the various services and information offered by the Embassy. This includes the provision of consular assistance to Canadian citizens in Chile, assistance for Canadian companies interested in the Chilean market, and information about opportunities to study in Canada.

Stay connected with us via our Twitter, Facebook , Instagram and LinkedIn accounts to make sure you do not miss our upcoming events, to send us your comments and to stay in touch!

Patricia Peña 
Ambassador

Message de l’Ambassadrice

Soyez les bienvenu(e)s sur le site web de l'Ambassade du Canada au Chili, un pays fascinant où j'ai l'honneur de représenter le Canada depuis 2017.

J'ai le privilège de servir au Chili à un moment où notre relation est plus forte que jamais. Lors de ces dernières années j’ai pu constater le dynamisme du lien entre le Canada et le Chili : nous visons à former des sociétés plus inclusives, sures, et prospères qui améliorent la qualité de vie de nos citoyens et citoyennes. 

Les deux pays ont de quoi être fiers: l'accord historique de libre-échange entre le Canada et le Chili (ALECC) est entré en vigueur il y a plus de 20 ans, en 1997. Il s'agit de l’accord de libre-échange le plus ancien du Canada dans la région et le premier du Chili avec une nation étrangère. Cet accord a permis à notre commerce bilatéral de quadrupler depuis, atteignant près de 3 milliards de dollars canadiens. En 2018, l’accord a été mis à jour pour intégrer, entre autres, un nouveau chapitre sur le commerce et l’égalité des genres, le premier du type pour le Canada, ouvrant la voie à d’autres secteurs de nos sociétés pour tirer parti des avantages du commerce international, en particulier les femmes et les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME).

Le changement climatique et la protection de l'environnement constituent un autre pilier fondamental de notre collaboration. Dans le cadre de Accord de coopération environnementale Canada-Chili de 1997, nous travaillons avec le Chili pour faire progresser les engagements de l'Accord de Paris, et réduire la pollution par les plastiques et son impact sur les océans, entre autres thèmes. De même, la promotion de l'utilisation de technologies propres et responsables a été très importante afin de refléter l'interdépendance entre la durabilité environnementale et la prospérité économique. Le Canada participera activement à la prochaine Conférence des parties sur le changement climatique (COP25) qui se tiendra au Chili en décembre 2019.

Le Canada est fermement engagé avec la promotion et la protection de la démocratie et des droits de la personne. Dans la région, nous avons uni nos efforts avec nos partenaires du Groupe de Lima, y ​​compris le Chili, pour promouvoir une transition pacifique et démocratique au Venezuela. Nous travaillons également au renforcement du rôle d'organismes multilatéraux tels que le Forum de coopération économique Asie-Pacifique (APEC) et les Nations Unies.

Dans le domaine de l’éducation, le Chili est devenu un partenaire stratégique pour le Canada. Chaque année, les échanges académiques et d’étudiants entre les deux pays s’intensifient. Depuis 2016, le nombre de visas et de permis d'études accordés aux étudiants chiliens a augmenté de plus de 25%, ce qui témoigne de l'excellence des établissements canadiens d'enseignement et de recherche. Je suis heureuse de voir que le Réseau Alumni Canada-Chili compte déjà plus de 400 membres parmi des professionnels, des universitaires et des chercheurs ayant étudié au Canada. Dans le domaine culturel, les échanges entre le Canada et le Chili se renforcent chaque année: des productions et des artistes canadiens de taille mondiale, dans diverses disciplines telles que la musique, le cirque, le théâtre, la danse, le cinéma et l’art urbain ou le «street art», entre autres, apportent au Chili de nouvelles productions canadiennes d’excellence.

Les nouveaux services en ligne simplifient les procédures et les déplacements entre les citoyens des deux pays. Le tourisme canadien au Chili a continué de croître et de plus en plus de Canadiens se rendent au Chili pour découvrir ses magnifiques paysages, y travailler ou y étudier, et davantage de Chiliens visitent le Canada.

L’équipe à l'Ambassade travaille avec passion afin de rapprocher nos deux pays. Je vous invite à parcourir le site web pour en savoir plus sur toutes nos activités, ainsi que sur d'autres aspects des relations bilatérales du Canada avec le Chili et des différents services et informations offerts par l'Ambassade. Cela comprend l’assistance consulaire aux citoyens canadiens au Chili, l'aide aux entreprises canadiennes intéressées par le marché chilien et des informations sur les opportunités d'études au Canada.

Restez connectés avec nous via nos comptes Twitter, FacebookInstagram, et LinkedIn pour vous assurer de ne pas rater nos prochains événements, nous faire parvenir vos commentaires et pour qu’on reste en contact !

Patricia Peña
Ambassadeure